We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait for our next visit!”

Ben's Cornish Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Marazion
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $47
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London E17
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait for our next visit!”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We remembered Ben from when he was one of the chefs at another restaurant in the Penzance area and were so disappointed when he left as we always enjoyed his cooking. We were therefore delighted when we read about Ben's Cornish Kitchen and realised he now had his own resturant. We booked dinner for our first evening of our holiday in June months before we actually came down and it was well worth the wait.

Ben has created a lovely, comfortable restaurant with excellent waiting staff and most important of all his food was still as good as we remembered. We made sure of having lunch there too and would have gone even more often if we'd actually been staying in Marazion.

Unfortunately I didn't make a note of what my husband and I had to eat on our two visits but I wanted to add to the other excellent reviews. We go down to Mousehole every June and we will make sure we visit Ben'sa again though2012 seems a long time to wait.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MazzieE17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    779
    80
    26
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A warm welcome. Thoughtful and unusual menu. Loved every minute.”
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Deliciously fresh courgette fritters served with a perfectly spiced yogurt sauce.

Succulent pink lamb with unusually flavoured Cous cous.

Impeccable service, the attentive yet unobtrusive kind. Very calm and warm atmosphere.

Loved every minute.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank matthewfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome gem of a restaurant”
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Staff were really friendly and menu had tips on what wines to have. Gnocchi was melt in the mouth and they make the best almond and raspberry tart ever, pastry just melted, locally sourced produce, an excellent restaurant, food and service, thank you for a perfect evening

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AliSS999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth Hampshire UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Wow - fine dining at a great price”
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Wow what can I say - Fabulous.

My husband and I were getting a little concerned as we were struggling to find anywhere to eat that was not just 'pub food' and stumbled on Ben's Kitchen.

What a fabulous find: The food was amazing the chef is so talented and not afraid to combine unusual flavours. The service was spot on - attentive but not around all of the time. The price was amazing my husband and I have three courses and a bottle of mid range wine and it came to less than £70.00 and whilst that may sound a lot wait until you taste the food.
The sea bass with the indian twist was probably the best meal I have ever eaten, my husband was very impressed with his steak.

A definite must a friendly relaxed atmosphere with fantastic food and service.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hayleysn202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“lucky us”
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Lovely staff, great food, excellent atmosphere and 5 minutes from home - lucky us. Our first vist with a friend from Yorkshire, it will not be our last. Nice for a special occasion.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank residentemmett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben's Cornish Kitchen also viewed

 
St Ives, Cornwall
 

Been to Ben's Cornish Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing