We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel and place to stay”
Review of Marazion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marazion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Marazion
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good hotel and place to stay”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed a week. Very friendly and helpful staff. Our room had a good view of St Michaels Mount with its ever-changing lighting and magical causeway ( sometimes there and sometimes not!)

There was enough variation in the evening meal menu for us to eat in each night (even though we don't eat meat!). The hotel had a Caribbean event on the Friday night and we were re-located most comfortably in the cafe - with the normal menu but allowed Jamaican bananas in caramel/rum sauce with ice cream as dessert.

Marazion is a good centre with easy access to St Ives and the Lizard peninsula. Go to the National Trust at Godolphin - amazing primroses when we visited.

We would go back to this hotel again

Room Tip: Local traffic is quite noisy if you have the front room window open - however it didn't seem to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robbar47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    107
    22
    9
    7
See reviews for
71
195
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Easy parking in a quiet little off-street location, the spacious Interior of the dining area of this Hotel has an Oldie worldy feel with its various sized copper jugs lining the Great granite fireplace and slate hearth. After braving the bitter Easter wind we ducked in here for a hearty soup lunch and were not disappointed. The place was quiet, mostly frequented by local Cornish people, judging by the dialect we overheard. The fire was good and warming and so was the excellent chunky minestrone soup and garlic bread.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I almost don't want to review this beautiful hotel in Cornwall, as it is my hidden gem. The view from our room which we have each year is unbeatable. Open the curtains and look down the causeway to St Michaels Mount. Comfortable rooms, friendly staff , great food and a lovely coffee shop selling home made cakes just make it a trip that has to repeated.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tiggi68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in early November and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The room I was given (2) was very modern and well appointed with central heating system second to none. Bath and shower both worked well with an adequate supply of hot water together with good quality toiletries. The tea tray features a wide range of products and a kettle that boils quickly not "dreckly" like so many hotel kettles.
A good selection of fresh fruits and cereals are on offer at breakfast together with a Full English Breakfast which was well cooked and presented by the very happy waitress (who I think is the cook as well).
One word of warning, the hotel is on the main road and even though there is not a great deal of traffic it can be a little noisy in the early morning. If you are a light sleeper, probably best to forsake the lovely view and ask for an off road room.
Overall a very pleasant experience which I look forward to repeating.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whydoineedtodothis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Clean, great views, pleasant staff, decent breakfast.....all you need for a Cornish hotel.....thoroughly enjoyed my 2 night stay with my partner (living in sin1) Better located than the bible bashing Chrymorvah B&B down the road.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank saabflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

was so looking forward to this as it was our honeymoon. we arrived and payed our bill straight away. then found we had to carry our bags up 3 flights of stairs. i cant moan about the view. was very beautiful .

what my moan is the hostess was very ignorant she kept accusing us of smoking in the room.. also she ran up the stairs one day and accused us of taking the smoke alarm off

the breakfast was at a set time and was the same every day

the restaurant was okish but all the time we were there had the same menu.. so got fed up with it in the end

kept losing the signal on the tv
one night we came back after 11 and the door was locked we had to ring the bell to get in

wouldn't advise anyone to stay

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank juliecox123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieStevens, Owner at Marazion Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2015
Dear Julie

Thank you for your review. Unfortunately the smoke alarm must have developed a fault during your stay as the control panel indicated that the sensor was no longer connected to the system. We had an engineer look at the issue and did notice that the sensor was loose and it is now twisted it back fully into position.

I apologise for the inconvenience you experienced when arriving late at the hotel. Guests are now given a key that opens their room and the front door.

We are changing the specials menu regularly but I must apologise as in November we can be very quiet and many staff take holidays at this time, including our chefs. I have addressed this by closing the hotel in November which gives use time for staff holidays, maintenance and redecoration. I would though recommend that our guests also try some of the other excellent restaurants in the town including the King's Arms (20 yards away), Ben's Kitchen (120 yards away and has won many awards), Godolphin Arms (100 yards away).

We have been working hard to improve on the areas that you have identified and wanted to thank you for your feedback it is much appreciated.

Kind regards
Stephanie Stevens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We have just returned from a four night stay at the Marazion Hotel, this being our second visit to this Hotel. The first time we stayed we had room 3, which was nice but the sea view was rather restricted, this time we stayed in room 10 which has a wonderful view of St Michael's Mount.
The room was spacious with a 6 ft bed & two comfy arm chairs, adjoining is a small second bedroom with bunk beds. The bathroom has a bath with over head shower, this was ideal as I like a bath & my Husband a shower!
The breakfast had plenty of variety, I had fresh fruit salad with strawberries, and there is any combination of cooked breakfast. We had an evening meal in the Hotel and also at the Fire Engine pub half way up the hill on the right hand side,
The bus stops out side the Hotel, and one day we got day ticket, & went to Penzance, St Ives & Mousehole (cheaper than car parking).
I would recommend this Hotel, it is clean, friendly & unpretentious, looking forward to our next visit

Room Tip: Rooms 9 or 10 if you want a spectacular view of the Mount, but bear in mind they are at the top so t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marazion
2.6 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
804 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
469 reviews
3.1 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
5.9 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
51 reviews
5.6 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marazion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marazion Hotel

Property: Marazion Hotel
Address: The Square, Marazion TR17 0AP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Marazion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Marazion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marazion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a stay at our relaxing hotel located in the heart of the beautiful town of Marazion in Cornwall. We have rooms with views over St Michael's Mount and we are only one hundred metres from one of the safest and most fabulous beaches in Cornwall. We offer our guests an informal and relaxed atmosphere with a reputation for high-quality service, combined with excellent value for money. The Marazion Hotel has 11 en-suite rooms, restaurant, bar, coffee lounge, free guest parking and free Wi-Fi internet access. The 'Cutty Sark' is our fully licensed public bar serving local beers and wines. Our restaurant, specialising in local produce, serves lunch and dinner seven days a week. Our Coffee Lounge overlooks Marazion's Square and provides a great place to relax and watch the world go by whilst enjoying freshly prepared coffee and home made cakes or cream teas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Marazion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marazion Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing