We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Honeymoon!”
Review of Adegas do Pico

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Adegas do Pico
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed in Adegas do Pico in September for our honeymoon and we loved our stay. We had the villa that was the furthest from the reception - but really lovely! Even if the villa was quite far from the reception, almost everything worked fine. Some little things should be checked (bathroom door handle inside the toilet and the toilet seat) but they did not really bother us. There was no cleaning during our 9 days stay - not sure if there was supposed to be.. Lovely helpful staff at the reception! Beautyful apartment! Rental car here is a must.
We miss Pico island already! <3

Room Tip: The villa we got (the one that is located most far from the reception) had a nice view! Some bird wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose M, Manager at Adegas do Pico, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words.

We will keep trying to exceed our guest's expectations!

Best regards,

José

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 90 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

José Maria was very welcoming and helpful with recommandations. The reception area was close and great with à lot of info and full internet access. The house was spacious and will maintained. We highly recommand you stay at Adegas do Pico, they own 12 houses.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacinthe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose M, General Manager at Adegas do Pico, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Ms. Jacinthe,

Thank you so much for your supportive comments.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we will always be looking for your return.

Best regards,

Jose

PS: By the way congratulations for the great climb!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Lovely setting, magnificent views, lots of character inside and outside the little black house.
The people in the office running the organisation could not have been more helpful, and really cared.
We stayed for 4 nights on Pico, and it was not enough!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warwick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose M, Manager at Adegas do Pico, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comments.

We will keep on working to create great stays and memories for guests.

Best regards,

José M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Had a three-night stay here on an island-hopping holiday. The cottage is tiny, two rooms and a shower, plain but all quite civilised. The couple who run the cottages were as friendly and helpful to us as everyone else says they are. The cottage is on a virtually traffic-free road and perched on top of the rocks on the shore. Nothing to look at except the sea in front (and the island of Sao Jorge when the mist clears), the steep hills behind, a few birds and the little lizards that scuttle in and out of the lava walls. Nothing to hear except the waves on the rocks and the giggle-inducing Angry Birds noises of the sheerwaters at night. There are a couple of little shops selling basic stuff, a cafe and a surprisingly good restaurant in the town, all ten minutes walk away up a fairly steep climb. Nightlife consists, as far as we could tell, of going for a swim off the nearby jetty. If you sit on the church wall for long enough you might see a car, but you have to be patient. There is good bread to be had, but you need to order it from one of the shops for the next day - or maybe catch the van on its morning round. Another van comes round selling fish. Loved it.

Room Tip: Don't sleep in the kitchen, there may be lizards in the sink.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patsy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose M, General Manager at Adegas do Pico, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the feedback.

We are thrilled you have had a good time with us.

Best regards,

Jose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Earlier this month, we stayed for five nights at Casa do Farol, one of the properties of Adegas do Pico. Casa do Farol is located in the town of Prainha on the island of Pico. It is about 20 metres from the ocean, with a small road in between.

The cabin includes 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a well-stocked kitchen, a washing machine, a living room and a covered patio overlooking the ocean. Upon arrival, the cabin was very clean, although there was a slight musty smell typical of a cabin so close to the ocean. We were there during the aftermath of Tropical Storm Nadine and, despite the heavy rain and very strong winds, the cabin was completely solid. There was no creaking or shifting due to weather. We enjoyed sitting on the covered patio and watching a boat come in from the ocean, as well as the locals who just sat on the nearby pier to fish. For 70 Euro/night, Casa do Farol was much more than we expected for a rustic cabin and gave us the experience of living in local village and was not "touristy".

The cabin does not have wifi, but the Adegas do Pico reception is only one kilometer away and has wifi and a laptop computer available for guests. The manager/host of Adegas do Pico, Jose, really made our experience. A few hours after we arrived Jose stopped by and explained to us the village of Prainha as well as many of the attractions on Pico island. The reason we chose Pico island was to hike Pico mountain. We asked Jose about a guide to climb the mountain and he put us in touch with a guide and even provided us with a cellphone so that the guide could contact us to make arrangements for our hike. We also enjoyed talking to Jose about the local people, economy, infrastructure, etc. - he provided a lot of insight that our paid tour guide did not.

There is a mini market in town, however the closest supermarket is 12 km away in Sao Roque, so a rental car is necessary. There is a hiking trail that runs by the cabin which we would also recommend as an excursion.

We would highly recommend a visit to Adegas do Pico.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We visited Pico Island last June and we rented the house named "Casa da Montanha" at Prainha do Norte (it’s some Km East of São Roque).
The owner (José) was very welcoming and attentive, he gave us a lot of advices for our trips.
The house was a restored rural house (just outside the village, on the interior), very clean, gracefully furnished, and roomy. The position was also very quiet with a beautiful view on São Jorge island.
In my opinion a very good place to start your discovery of Pico Island!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tajarinon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose M, Manager at Adegas do Pico, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words and that is what pushes us forward.

However, I have a small request. Would you be so kind to correct the information about me, José, being the owner? All the refurbishment work is credit of the owner Maria Serpa. She is indeed who started and owns the Adegas do Pico.

Grateful for your visit and review,

Best regards,


José

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Adegas do Pico have lovingly renovated traditional volcanic rock houses where you can stay on a self catering basis. The houses are tastefully decorated in local style, with natural materials only. No plastic. We stayed 3 nights and were sorry to leave. From our house there was a footpath to the local natural swimming pool where they had good snorkeling and swimming. You will need a car though as there is only one local shop in the village. One slight moan on price. There was an extra charge for the second child. If you book a cottage you would expect that the price is for the entire family

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babe66London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sao Roque do Pico
5.7 mi away
Aldeia da Fonte Nature Resort
Aldeia da Fonte Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Lajes do Pico
267 reviews
0.0 mi away
PocinhoBay
PocinhoBay
#1 of 1 in Monte
60 reviews
18.3 mi away
Hotel Caravelas
Hotel Caravelas
#1 of 1 in Madalena
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Aldeia das Adegas
Aldeia das Adegas
#2 of 7 in Sao Roque do Pico
8 reviews
17.2 mi away
Alma do Pico
Alma do Pico
#1 of 7 in Madalena
132 reviews
7.4 mi away
Pousada de Juventude
Pousada de Juventude
#4 of 7 in Sao Roque do Pico
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adegas do Pico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adegas do Pico

Address: Rua Do Ramal - Prainha | Prainha, Sao Roque do Pico, Pico 9940-062, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Pico > Sao Roque do Pico
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Sao Roque do Pico
Price Range: $62 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Adegas do Pico 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adegas do Pico is a set of twelve stone built houses located in Prainha, Pico island, where the guests enjoy the hospitality of Maria and the feeling of the traditional Azorean village. The stone facades, cozy sandy beach and natural swimming pool; the awarded local gastronomy from Canto do Paco restaurant and the small grocery shops with its local products and the always present seaview that Adegas do Pico and Prainha village have to offer embeds its guests in a genuine Pico island lifestyle experience. All the houses feature seaview and are equipped with outdoor barbecue, cooking facilities, kitchen utensils and equipment and TV. Internet, baby cots and housekeeping services are available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Adegas do Pico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adegas Do Pico Sao Roque Do Pico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing