We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing, beautifull environment in Pico”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Madalena, Pico, Azores

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
lagid
Hasselt, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing, beautifull environment in Pico”
Reviewed May 16, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Hi,
I spent two nights in this gorgeous place and will go back for 2 more.
The room is not a room but to me more a big private house (equipped kitchen, huge bathroom with a big bath and bedroom). I travelled on my own but there is plenty of space for couples or friends. It is beautifully renovated and you will see the fun use of materials (for instance boat chairs).
I was pleasently surprised. The view is stunning (the sunset/sunrise but overal view as well. People who pass park to have a look), the nature noises are relaxing, the dog & cat who also live there are great and sweet company. Roger immediately gave info about the island, the restaurants, the highlights and his vision. You basically feel as if you were visiting family (the ones you like).

In pico you can easily hike or visit the island by car. It is absolutely amazing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imeon77
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfection on Pico... ”
Reviewed May 24, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

It's one thing to have stunning sea views but this place is the next level!... Hear the sea lapping up, just outside your front door...It's magical :)

One might argue this is how life should be... Simple, hassle free and close to nature - which sums up the accommodation and place in general. There's only a very short distance to supermarkets, restaurants, swimming spots and great walks.

The owner is a friendly and helpful fishermen who is full of local knowledge.

We'll definitely be coming back :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcatalina...
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The usual excellent stay”
Reviewed March 6, 2017 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

It's been a number of years we book the same accommodation, this is for a reason, :excellent..
We're going back this September.
Our ten days of relaxation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megafred
Visby, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Unique and great!”
Reviewed September 4, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We got a house big enough for a family. Spacious bedroom with several beds, big living room with a good kitchen, shower room (although I prefered mostly to wash at the public tap outside in the harbour, because there was better pressure) and good sized toilet. Clean and nice interior, a small patio outside. Rustic and basic standard.

Very nice setting with the pier in a small harbour just outside. Perfect for swimming and fishing! You have the oceanview and see Faial across the water - very beatiful, we really enjoyed watching the sunsets here!

Roger is probably the most personal and genuinely nice owner we have ever met. He is very helpful and will do whatever he can if you are in need of something. The warmth and hospitality generated here is truly unique (this also goes for the villagers and neighbors around). The attitude and mindset he has for running business and environmental issues is exceptional!

You need to have a car to get around here, location is very good, 5-10 min drive to Madalena with some great restaurants, groceries, etc. One setback is that there are some cocharachas running about in the night as we lived in a converted old boathouse and it's not sealed tight - yet. There are plans to raise the standard maybe next year. There is also an apartment for rent in the compund which might be better.

All in all, one of our most memorable stays with a unique personal hospitality and inspiringly original environment!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Med partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcatalina...
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best and most personalised holiday”
Reviewed July 2, 2016 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Been there last year, we're going again this year and many years to come. This is a place so unique it takes character and gives character. Where do I start, from Roger welcoming us and answering all the questions, facilitating our sejur, to the extent of getting back to the times when people make do and did not have everything handed to them.
The house is lovely, the mornings awesome, the evenings remarkable, in between was quiet leisure and peace.
Cannot recommend it high enough.
The place to remember and cherish.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The entire place and the pets
Liked least: Little lizards
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiccardoG...
Turin, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We found our place”
Reviewed July 1, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Hallo Roger, we have been lucky to be your guest and to have such a peaceful and lovely stay at your house.
You have been very kind, all the time smiling, reserved and warm at the same time.
We really hope to see you again and if you want to visit us let us known ... Just for 2/3 days in Torino ;-)
All the best and and a big hug to Liber.
Riccardo.

Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inditrave...
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice remote place at the harbour”
Reviewed January 9, 2015 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The appartment is spacious inside and has ocean view from the dining table. You can also sit on the courtyard in front of it where you are protected from wind and peoples views. Because it's right at the waterfront, you can hear the cagarros (special type of seabird) at night. Jeremy is a friendly and restrained host.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing