We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Pico Island Azores-Portugal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Caravelas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Caravelas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madalena
Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pico Island Azores-Portugal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Conveniently situated by the Marina & Boat Ferry & short walk to restaurants & swim spots. Walk to Wine Co-op & SuperMarket. A comfortable swimming pool & great Breakfast included. Affordable Comfort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank airjorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    66
    67
    7
    1
See reviews for
19
71
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

At the time of my visit, new construction work is going on right outside the hotel, to improve the harbour, but, apart from the awkwardness of driving a car into the hotel parking, we hardly noticed the building work at all - a yappy dog in a nearby house was far more penetrating. Very convenient location for the ferry to Faial; not so convenient if you're arriving from Sao Jorge at Sao Roque (book a taxi ahead, is our advice!).

The hotel is bright and well-appointed, including a hairdresser in the foyer, and a Health and Wellness Centre - although we never saw anyone in there. Decent sized outdoor swimming pool.

Rooms are fine, and clean, with air conditioning; they even offer a turn-down service in the early evening. No WiFi, but free cable internet, with cable available free of charge from reception, and this is so much quicker than WiFi.

Good sized breakfast room, with extensive choice of hot and cold food. Pity there is no integral restaurant, as that would make a difference on a rainy evening. But there are many eateries within a few minutes' walking distance - check out the Parisiana; it's farther away from the centre, but worth the walk.

Room Tip: Ask for a 2nd- or 3rd-floor room with a view across to Faial; not all of them have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry_Marsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed here with a little trepidation having reading some reviews, but most were unfounded. The room was very new, spotless, and the views over the harbour were lovely. The breakfast buffet was great, plenty of variety, hot and cold dishes, meats, breads, jams, cereals. the staff were also very helpful. Only downside, which wasn't the hotels fault, is that building work is going on at the harbour to build a new terminal, but we didn't hear any noise. Lovely stay at a great hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a balcony room overlooking the pool, nice to sit out in the evening which a nice long drink...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unique10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Amands Belgie
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed here 4 nights., and arrived early in the morning. As check in time was normally 16:00 hours, we where very surprised in a positiv way that we already could have our room at 10 O'clock. It was a nice room, clean bathroom, overlooking a part of the harbour. Free Wi-fi in lounge,reception and bar. Breakfast with good choose of braed, cake, cornflakes, yoghurt,juice, coffee, tea, warm milk, fruit, eggs, bacon, beans, jam, cheese, ham enso on.In one word more than you uselly take at home.
We did not use the bar facillity as there is a nice bar/snackhouse just a few steps away.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Liliane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
135 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

With current road work outside, it's a bit difficult to find the way to the reception/parking with car.
Room is rather OK: big and clean.
Sometimes there was some noise from the disco bar/pub nearby in the middle of night, but the sound isolation of the room is quite good because we only heard very very little, but our friend who stayed in another hotel in the same area said she couldn't sleep with the loud noise even with ear plugs.
For scuba divers this hotel is good, because the dive shops are just outside the hotel, as well as the habor.
Parking and Internet are free (at least for us when we stayed)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eratolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed for 7 nights. Group of 6 people. Found room to be very clean and modern with large bathroom. Staff were very helpful. Lots of people appear to only stay for one or two nights and do not really give this hotel a chance! We had a room overlooking the beautiful pool and the front of the hotel overlooks Faial island. We had many restaurants within a short walk and being so close to the harbour, and ferry crossing, was very handy as we had many bags of scuba gear to transport. Local taxi fares are very cheap so worth using if you can. Beautiful island. Very comfortable hotel. Would stay again!

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungary
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We have stayed here with my 13 year old for four nights while swimming with dolphins and watching whales. The staff was helful but not able to cope with peak times, most likely due to shortage of personnel. I would strongly recomend to management to train and employ more people especially in high season. The location is great not only to the ferry port, but also to whale watcing trips and excursions on the island.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonardo_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madalena
15.7 mi away
Hotel Aldeia da Fonte
Hotel Aldeia da Fonte
#1 of 2 in Lajes do Pico
4.0 of 5 stars 207 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Horta
Hotel Horta
#4 of 5 in Horta
3.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel do Canal
Hotel do Canal
#1 of 5 in Horta
4.0 of 5 stars 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Hotel S. Jorge Garden
5.4 mi away
Faial Resort Hotel
Faial Resort Hotel
#3 of 5 in Horta
3.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pocinho Bay
Pocinho Bay
#4 of 5 in Pico
4.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caravelas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caravelas

Property: Hotel Caravelas
Address: Rua Conselheiro Terra Pinheiro 3, Madalena, Pico 9950-329, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Pico > Madalena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madalena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Caravelas 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Caravelas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caravelas Pico/Madalena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing