We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great snorkeling and whale watching”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Eco Adventures

Eco Adventures
Ranked #2 of 11 things to do in Cabo Pulmo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We run daily snorkel and desert tours in and around Cabo Pulmo. Our shop is located right at the beach. Come and discover the unique reefs, hotspring and waterfalls aof this region.
Level Contributor
94 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great snorkeling and whale watching”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

I have used Eco Adventures (Cabo Pulmo) at least a half dozen times and now am finally getting around to reviewing them on TripAdvisor. I last used them February 2014 and we had another great day out on the crystal clear water of Cabo Pulmo. We could see whales frolicking quite a ways out there, so to start the trip, we traveled out to where the whales were playing. They gave us a great show (pictures included) and it was quite a treat to see them come all the way out of the water for us. Also lots of tail slapping. Then we went to three snorkeling sites and we enjoyed snapping pictures of a wide variety of fish. One of the special moments (on several different trips) was getting to snorkel above a whole school of fish that were circling each other. Eco Adventures has always done a good job for us and I would highly recommend them. The hardest part has been getting a hold of them because they are out in a remote area that doesn't have internet and cell phone seems to be a little dicey too. Email they answer about once a week when they are in range of internet service which worked for me to connect with them - as we were able to set up a time and date for our trip. They are updating their webpage so that might make it easier to connect with them in the future. Despite the connection problems, the trip is so worth taking. Good, really good, family run organization. Good English speaking owners. Excellent equipment that comes with the price of the half day excursion. I will be a return customer!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank dm49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Superior, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great snorkel tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Went to Cabo Pulmo as a day trip intending to snorkel off the beach. On a whim, we joined a snorkeling tour with Eco Adventures. It was a 2.5 hour snorkeling tour where we visited a coral reef, a sea lion colony, a remote beach, and saw a mother and baby humpback whale. The number of fish we saw in the coral reef snorkel was amazing - I've never seen schools of fish that large while snorkeling. And the mama and baby humpback whale was quite simply one of the coolest things I've ever gotten to experience. I've done whale watching tours before that didn't even come close to this! Highly recommend! One word of caution - they don't take credit cards, so bring cash.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoradoPeltier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Snorkel Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

My husband and I spent two nights in Cabo Pulmo during a short tour of BCS and took a snorkel tour with Eco Adventures on our full day in Cabo Pulmo. The staff was very friendly and easy to negotiate with. They respected our desire to not commit to a trip until we could guarantee more people would come along (lowering the price!) and didn't pressure us at all. Our guide for the ~3 hour tour was named Jose. He was very kind and knowledgable and communicated pretty well in English. I was 6 months pregnant at the time of our trip and he took special care to take care of me, helping me climb in and out of the boat to avoid falls or getting banged around. This was also my first experience with snorkeling and he was patient and helpful in making me feel comfortable in the water. The best part of the trip (in my opinion) was getting to see 5 humpback whales at a very close proximity. We got to observe a mom and her baby for about 25 minutes and they got within ~15 feet of our boat which was incredible! The reefs were also beautiful. Highly recommended company and experience~

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful time with Eco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We had a delightful snorkel trip with Eco Adventures, located on the beach in Cabo Pulmo, next to the La Palapa restaurant.

This small family run business is a must stop in Cabo Pulmo. The brothers who run the business are very friendly, comfortable with non Spanish speakers and grew up in this delightful village.

We had the privilege of being in Cabo Pulmo for several days, and booked a trip on a day that turned out to be quite windy. While other operators were going out into less than ideal conditions, Juan convinced us to wait a few days till conditions settled down, placing our comfort and enjoyment ahead of that days profit!

You will pass other snorkeling shops, some of which specialize in diving as well, and I am sure that they provide a great trip, but Eco Adventures should be your choice.

Whales, snorkeling with Sea Lions, and lots of fish on the various parts of the reef are your reward.

BTW, Cabo Pulmo is a laid back kind of place, where you are pretty much left alone by folks trying to solicit your business. The one exception to this was an employee of a competing business who followed us down the street, telling us to cancel with Eco, so he could take us out for "less" . It was a jarring interjection of the aggressive sales techniques you run into in Cabo San Lucas and other tourist areas. It was totally out of place in Cabo Pulmo and guaranteed that that shop would not receive our business regardless of price. Our negative impression of this individual was further reinforced since it was on the windy day mentioned above that he wanted to take us.


Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank gje5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijuana, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Protected National Park where Marine Life Increases By 463%”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stopped in Eco Adventures Palapa which Juanito is owned, a very kind and honest gentleman whom provide a lot of knowledge about the place, since his family where the founders of this beautiful place, they achieve the preservation of the Coral Reef which increased the Marine Life by 463% reason why Cabo Pulmo is now a protected National Park.

You better stay at least one night to enjoy the sounds of the nature, most of the Bungalows host a simple open floor plan modern in style but rustic in nature and are Solar Powered.

Cabo Pulmo is a quiet village that has no salesmen or trinket sales on the beaches to bother you, no paragliders or noisy jetskis either; it's against Park Rules.

You can also have a long walk thru the woodland which is a great experience as well.

An of course the best experience is the Marine snorkel or diving, where you can see the coral reefs and the different marine species.

It was a such a wonderful experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Celeste D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eco Adventures also viewed

 
Cabo Pulmo, Los Cabos
 

Been to Eco Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing