We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True "Get Away".”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cabo Pulmo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabo Pulmo Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cabo Pulmo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2014

If you are looking for a remote place to relax on a deserted beach, watch whales, dive or snorkel, you will love it here. If you want to be hassled by vendors, spend tons of money or stay out partying all night, you will not love it. It is a get away spot. Nice place for long walks, swmming, and dirt bike/4 wheeling. Clean, safe, low key. Very remote.

Room Tip: Beach front is nice but it's nice to have a rooftop or deck up op to see the whales.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carole293_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 230 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

Visited Cabo Pulmo in Mid January, mainly to do some snorkeling. It's not much of a resort as a great place to rent a bungalow. the bungalows are charming, have the essentials, and are good for chilling out. The water was cold in January! The snorkel/dive shop attached were helpful, and they rented wet suits. Really chill.
Nearby is a restaurant called "Caballero" something (sorry). it is excellent! Also, Caballero has a mini grocery store that is to the point, and also sells meats and cold items better than the so-called grocery stores nearby. We stopped in Ribera prior to hitting Cabo Pulmo for groceries, but they had limited stuff.
The downside is the dirt road leading up cabo Pulmo, and that it's quite a drive to get there from the airport. we had to do the drive a night, and it was a bit harrowing on the one lane each direction/no shoulder roads. Maybe should have rented a 4x4...
Oh, bring bug spray!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Huda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My only complaint is that there is no one to contact in he evening if there is a problem. We checked in during the late afternoon and went for a walk on the beach. When we got back we realized there were no matches to light the stove/oven to cook the food we'd brought. If Ihadn't been familiar with the stove, I might not have even known it needed matches since there was no explanation in the room and no place to ask for help. I spent an hour asking around for matches. I eventually got some, so it worked out ok, but if it had been a more serious problem, I don't think it could have been fixed until morning. I would recommend doing a walk through the place as soon as you check in and going to the office immediately something is wrong or missing.

Other than that, the place was nice - quiet, comfortable, a minute from the beach with a well stocked kitchen (except for matches and somewhat grimey cookware). There is electricity in the room, although (thankfully) no cell or internet service. We especially liked the hammock and patio on the top floor of our ecobungalow and the dark sky. The oodles of stars were a real treat and make yu realize how much you are missing in the US with its overdevelopment and light pollution.

If you go on one of the beach club's snorkelling or diving trips, they delay your checkout which is nice for keeping your belongings and food out of the hot car or for taking a shower and changing.

We were there for one night in early January. I wondered what the weather would be like. It was pleasant for walking the beach in shorts, but too cold to swim much. The club provides full lengwetsuits for their snorkel trip. Even with wetsuits, I got cold after about 20 minutes in the water and I don't get cold easily. (It was a great trip, however, well worth being a little cold and there is ample time to warm up being snorkelling seesions.) Even the teenagers wore sweatshirts and sweatpants to sit out at night.

I want to do the trip again and would chose the Beach Club and its snorkelling trip again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whistler'smom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

You can't rate Cabo Pulmo Resort by comparing it to any other resorts between Cabo San Lucas and San Jose del Cabo. Cabo Pulmo is a place of magical simple beauty where you get away from it all. There will be no Cell signal there and if you want to you can buy a $5 daily web connection at the dial up speed we used to have 10 years ago.
But no, you shouldn't go to Cabo Pulmo and stay at this resort if you need to be connected and you want red carpets and marble floors. The staff is very nice by email and when you check in, we did not need their service anymore for the 4 days we spent there. Our unit 18 A&B was perfect for us it had a kitchen that was well equipped , there was spices and other very useful , a short walk to the beach and common areas outside that were very nice! There was a hammock upstairs under a palapa where you can take one of the best naps ever.
No AC or a heater, but I doubt you'll ever need them. Also, the shower is in an outside area, but is very private and nice.
There is very limited everything at the village, so if you want to cook a good meal bring some food over from town, there is a little town about 30 minutes away. I am rating this place a 5 because of the simpleness of everything and how beautiful and peaceful the little village of Cabo Pulmo is.
This may very well not be the place for the vest majority of people but it is for some of us.
Will come back for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DesertHillsBnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

A very low key community. The Casa are owned by people and then rented out. The dishes are basic and well used, but very functional kitchens. We stayed in Casa #9 which fit our family very well. The bed for the kids was a fold down futon, but bedding was a quilted blanket and a sleeping bag. The houses are a true palapa and the window all open with screens. There is a deck up high outside that overlooks the ocean with two hammocks. The view is semi-obstructed by palm trees and foliage. A great place to watch the sun rise and sunset with views of the mountains, as well. We saw hummingbirds, doves, and pelicans. The beach to the south is sandy and more rocky to the north. It was windy when we were there beginning of Dec, so we could not go on a snorkel trip, but were directed to Los Frailles beach which was more protected from the wind and a great beach as far as sand and swimming. We took our 8 year old and 3 year old snorkeling there and had a blast. Lots of fish to be seen on the North side of the beach by the rock. Rental of gear was $15 US for goggles, fins, and life vest.
Good places to eat. Cheaper than Cabo or Los Barrilles. Everyone speaks some English, so you can communicate your needs. Nancy's will make you homemade cinnamon rolls for breakfast, but you need to let her know the day prior and then you can pick them up fresh in the am. Great hikes to take in the desert behind the village. It was a pleasant activity to do on a windy day. They also rent bikes to take riding and the trails are ridable in the desert. There are tennis courts closer to the mountains that a newly growing "tennis club" cares for, but it is just developing, so no racquets to rent. You must bring your own, but they are brand new!
Roosters and neighing horses to wake you in the am. Very pleasant place to relax in the hammock and the breeze and chill. Frig worked great and they had ice waiting in the freezer for drinks. We brought bug spray as we heard reports of bad bugs. There was bug spray there and the bugs were not bad most likely due to the breeze. Toaster, microwave, blender. Hot showers in the outdoors well covered for privacy. I would definitely go back for longer than the 3 nights we stayed. We did rent a simple 2WD car and had no troubles taking the gravel road to Cabo Pulmo. Just watch for pot holes and other road hazards like you would usually.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

The C-P Beach Resort is a fantastic opportunity to slow down and enjoy the Sea of Cortez. I stayed in a villa and a friend stayed in an eco-bungalo. Both were excellent facilities, scaled for different numbers of guests. Even the eco-bungalo had a fully equipped kitchen. Be aware that food for preparation must be purchased prior to arrival in Cabo Pulmo as there are no significant markets at the locale. The resort is right on the shore and has wonderful sea breezes and sunrises. The resort's streets and walkways are not lighted so take flashlights if you intend to go out after dark. The resort and its associated restaurant and dive center are the only organizations to take credit cards. The two other nearby restaruants do not take credit cards nor does the van service between the airport and the resort ( a 90 minute drive ). Either peos or dollars are accepted. The resort staff are friendly and the restaurant food ( lunch and dinner ) good. Bottled water is available for purchase at the restaurant. The dive center is covered under a separate review. Be aware that there are multiple dive centers at the Cabo Pulmo location not to be confused with the C-P Resort and Dive Center.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

I got a room here for one night only and it was a walk-in checkin. So I think I got a good deal. I stayed at a place with two beds, kitchen and bed, very close to the beach. The pluses for this resort are friendly staff, location and the quietness of the whole place. You go to sleep listening to crushing waves. But keep in mind that you are also in a remote place in the middle of the nature. I saw two giant cockroaches in my room and a few spiders. Otherwise, room is clean and nice.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank eerdem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo Pulmo
3.1 mi away
Cabo Pulmo Eco Palapa
Cabo Pulmo Eco Palapa
#1 of 3 in Cabo Pulmo
57 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cabo Pulmo Sports Center Bungalows
23.8 mi away
Hotel Palmas de Cortez
Hotel Palmas de Cortez
#1 of 1 in Los Barriles
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Hacienda de Palmas
Hacienda de Palmas
#1 of 1 in La Ribera
16 reviews
13.3 mi away
Villa del Faro
Villa del Faro
#1 of 1 in Los Frailes
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabo Pulmo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabo Pulmo Beach Resort

Address: Dive Center, Cabo Pulmo 23400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo Pulmo
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cabo Pulmo
Price Range: $49 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabo Pulmo Beach Resort is a small rustic romantic getaway village of Palm-thatched bungalows that are located right in front of the National Marine Park of Cabo Pulmo just 60 miles up the Sea of Cortez on the gulf side. Most of the bungalows host a simple open floor plan modern in style but rustic in nature. Most casitas and bungalows offer a nice functional kitchen for cooking and some offer BBQ's and are Solar powered. We have Air Conditioning in 3 of our Deluxe Casitas for the warmer times of the year....Mainly for the summer. Many guests choose to dine for lunch and dinner at the Coral Reef Restaurant just above the Dive Center with spectacular views of the Sea of Cortez! Eat, Sleep & Dive Packages available. Cabo Pulmo Beach Resort Dive Center is the Only PADI 5 Star Resort and Dive Center in the National Park with a full range of PADI courses, Diving and Snorkeling tours availables ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabo Pulmo Beach Hotel Cabo Pulmo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing