We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“strongly overpriced” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cabo Pulmo Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cabo Pulmo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabo Pulmo Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cabo Pulmo
Certificate of Excellence
Aalst
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“strongly overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at Village Casita number 11 in the Cabo Pulmo Beach resort over Xmas 2012 for 8 nights. Photos on their website show sundeck/patio with hammocks, but ours did not have one and the management declined our request to put one up. Even though the casitas are nice and spacious, we feel 146USD per night (=129USD+12%tax) is poor value for money. Probably a good deal to share with 4 people, if only they would put futons in their casitas.
Service was poor: during our 8 day stay our casita was not cleaned and no clean towels were provided.
We spend an additional 6 nights elsewhere in Cabo Pulmo for much better value for money. In fact, after looking around a little in Cabo Pulmo we quickly learned that other accommodations are much better options than the beach resort. Furthermore, the restaurant at the resort is strongly overpriced. You can get better food for less money everywhere in town. Overall, the casita at the beach resort is poor value for money, with 5 star prices but not the service.

Room Tip: Casitas are poor value for money, go for the ECONO bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grietneukermans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    60
    16
    16
    12
See reviews for
52
85
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missoula
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Great half-day snorkeling three different sites at Cabo Pulmo! Unfortunately, offshore winds stirred things up a little at one of the sites. Certainly beyond the control of the friendly folks at Cabo Pulmo, but it did impact the visit a little. Great staff, great facilities, and safe, enjoyable snorkeling in the park. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pentoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, Mississippi
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I loved Cabo Pulmo Beach Resort - it's very secluded and peaceful. Solar powered places are the best! The staff were great, the food was great and the prices are very affordable. The diving was phenomenal - we had two different dive masters while we were there and they were both excellent. Not being a very experienced diver didn't matter here - I felt very comfortable with the amount of attention I received and felt very safe. If you want to have a GREAT dive at an affordable place and don't care about the nightlife, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: The Beach House was phenomenal and had a very good cross breeze - so if you have a tendency to be wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saipansand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

My husband and I visited October 2012 for a week after having made a day trip here October 2011. We really enjoyed our stay in Eco Bungalow #6, and we like the solar power, eco concept. We came to dive and hike and had a great time diving with the sea lions, and had several great hikes. I personally like the quiet, the remoteness, and the irregularities that come with staying in a town of this size. Please see my blog entry "You Might Just Love It, Cabo Pulmo, Mexico at http://micadadia.com/?p=825 for more details on getting there, food and dining out, diving and hiking. Photos too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank HikerChica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, CA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

My wife and I recently visited Los Cabos. We were interested in doing some snorkeling and had been told Cabo Pulmo was THE place. We made the 1.5 hour drive north from San Jose del Cabo. Drive was easy, nothing to worry about. All of the turn offs are well signed and easy to see. The last 10Km or 6 miles into Cabo Pulmo are on a dirt road. We did the drive the day after heavy rains and had no problems. The guides at CPBR had called our hotel to cancel our trip due to rough seas and poor visibility but we never got the message. Upon arrival my wife choose not to go out on the boat due to rough seas. I jumped in and we were surprised to find the visibility to be great away from the shore. We Snorkeled El Bajo where we saw large schools of Jacks and then moved to Playa La Serinita where we saw an incredible variety and large number of fish. The water was very warm. I was told that Sept/Oct is the best time to visit the area for warm water and the best visibility, unfortunatley it is also Hurricane season so you run the risk of weather shutting down your trip. The staff at CPBR were great and I look forward to coming back and diving with this group. Heads up that you are required to wear a life jacket in the Marine Park while snorkeling, CPBR has these as well as the wrist bands that show you paid your park entrance fee. Keep in mind Cabo Pulmo is RURAL Mexico. Not for everyone. Those that venture out will find a great group of people and an incredible place to dive/snorkel!!

Room Tip: We did not stay in their bungalos but did check them out. I spoke with a couple that was staying th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank walde74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

Spent one night here in a bungalow. There was no air flow and it was sweltering hot in it. This was aggravated by having to use the bug net over the bed because there were lots of mosquitoes and a roach in the room. The only fan was unbalanced and too loud to use. There was a/c, but it couldn't be turned on without a remote, which we were not given.

We found the management unfriendly and unhelpful and decided not to stay longer or to dive with them as we had planned. We had the opposite reaction from Baja Bungalows and Cabo Pulmo watersports. When you are on a rare vacation you want to deal with people who are happy with what they are doing and sincerely interested in helping you.

The food at the restaurant was also pretty disappointing. There are not a lot of other choices, but every other one we tried was better than here.

Went to the pool to cool off the morning we left and were a little grossed out by all the dead roaches in it. Maybe they crawl in at night, but by 11 in the morning someone should have gotten out the net.

Room Tip: Can't recommend bungalow 15. We did visit a couple staying in a bungalow they have that is ri...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ferd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

We rented an eco-bungalow onsite for 2 nights. It had a double bed, full bathroom, small kitchenette and outdoor table with a barbeque. It also had a second bedroom with 2 twin beds,which we didn't need so didn't get to use this extra space. The bungalow was located in a gorgeous courtyard, with lots of palms and cacti...we could watch hummingbirds and other birds from the dining table in the mornings. A quick walk to the beach, and either a walk or a drive down the dirt road to a few different beaches, both with some great snorkeling. If you have a car, you can access these snorkel sights on your own (ask at the reception for recommended beaches) rather than going on a guided trip.
My only complaint was that there was an odor in our room..we mostly noted it at night, to me it smelled like a dead rotting animal. We occasionally got whiffs of dog poo in the garden as well. Otherwise, it was clean, cute and lovely for a few days. If we were staying longer, I might have wished we'd upgraded to one of the bungalows with the roof-top decks and hammocks...they looked lovely!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulienneI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo Pulmo
0.2 mi away
Cabo Pulmo Sports Center Bungalows
23.8 mi away
Hotel Palmas de Cortez
Hotel Palmas de Cortez
#1 of 1 in Los Barriles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
13.3 mi away
Villa del Faro
Villa del Faro
#1 of 1 in Los Frailes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Vidasoul Hotel
Vidasoul Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boca de la Vinorama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
23.5 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort
19.0 mi away
Rancho Leonero Resort
Rancho Leonero Resort
#78 of 115 in Los Cabos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabo Pulmo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabo Pulmo Beach Resort

Property: Cabo Pulmo Beach Resort
Address: Dive Center, Cabo Pulmo 23400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo Pulmo
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cabo Pulmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabo Pulmo Beach Resort is a small rustic romantic getaway village of Palm-thatched bungalows that are located right in front of the National Marine Park of Cabo Pulmo just 60 miles up the Sea of Cortez on the gulf side. Most of the bungalows host a simple open floor plan modern in style but rustic in nature. Most casitas and bungalows offer a nice functional kitchen for cooking and some offer BBQ's and are Solar powered. We have Air Conditioning in 3 of our Deluxe Casitas for the warmer times of the year....Mainly for the summer. Many guests choose to dine for lunch and dinner at the Coral Reef Restaurant just above the Dive Center with spectacular views of the Sea of Cortez! Eat, Sleep & Dive Packages available. Cabo Pulmo Beach Resort Dive Center is the Only PADI 5 Star Resort and Dive Center in the National Park with a full range of PADI courses, Diving and Snorkeling tours availables ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabo Pulmo Beach Hotel Cabo Pulmo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing