We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Snorkel near Cabo”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cabo Pulmo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabo Pulmo Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cabo Pulmo
Certificate of Excellence
Rocklin, CA
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Best Snorkel near Cabo”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My wife and I recently visited Los Cabos. We were interested in doing some snorkeling and had been told Cabo Pulmo was THE place. We made the 1.5 hour drive north from San Jose del Cabo. Drive was easy, nothing to worry about. All of the turn offs are well signed and easy to see. The last 10Km or 6 miles into Cabo Pulmo are on a dirt road. We did the drive the day after heavy rains and had no problems. The guides at CPBR had called our hotel to cancel our trip due to rough seas and poor visibility but we never got the message. Upon arrival my wife choose not to go out on the boat due to rough seas. I jumped in and we were surprised to find the visibility to be great away from the shore. We Snorkeled El Bajo where we saw large schools of Jacks and then moved to Playa La Serinita where we saw an incredible variety and large number of fish. The water was very warm. I was told that Sept/Oct is the best time to visit the area for warm water and the best visibility, unfortunatley it is also Hurricane season so you run the risk of weather shutting down your trip. The staff at CPBR were great and I look forward to coming back and diving with this group. Heads up that you are required to wear a life jacket in the Marine Park while snorkeling, CPBR has these as well as the wrist bands that show you paid your park entrance fee. Keep in mind Cabo Pulmo is RURAL Mexico. Not for everyone. Those that venture out will find a great group of people and an incredible place to dive/snorkel!!

Room Tip: We did not stay in their bungalos but did check them out. I spoke with a couple that was staying th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank walde74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    61
    16
    17
    12
See reviews for
55
89
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Spent one night here in a bungalow. There was no air flow and it was sweltering hot in it. This was aggravated by having to use the bug net over the bed because there were lots of mosquitoes and a roach in the room. The only fan was unbalanced and too loud to use. There was a/c, but it couldn't be turned on without a remote, which we were not given.

We found the management unfriendly and unhelpful and decided not to stay longer or to dive with them as we had planned. We had the opposite reaction from Baja Bungalows and Cabo Pulmo watersports. When you are on a rare vacation you want to deal with people who are happy with what they are doing and sincerely interested in helping you.

The food at the restaurant was also pretty disappointing. There are not a lot of other choices, but every other one we tried was better than here.

Went to the pool to cool off the morning we left and were a little grossed out by all the dead roaches in it. Maybe they crawl in at night, but by 11 in the morning someone should have gotten out the net.

Room Tip: Can't recommend bungalow 15. We did visit a couple staying in a bungalow they have that is ri...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ferd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We rented an eco-bungalow onsite for 2 nights. It had a double bed, full bathroom, small kitchenette and outdoor table with a barbeque. It also had a second bedroom with 2 twin beds,which we didn't need so didn't get to use this extra space. The bungalow was located in a gorgeous courtyard, with lots of palms and cacti...we could watch hummingbirds and other birds from the dining table in the mornings. A quick walk to the beach, and either a walk or a drive down the dirt road to a few different beaches, both with some great snorkeling. If you have a car, you can access these snorkel sights on your own (ask at the reception for recommended beaches) rather than going on a guided trip.
My only complaint was that there was an odor in our room..we mostly noted it at night, to me it smelled like a dead rotting animal. We occasionally got whiffs of dog poo in the garden as well. Otherwise, it was clean, cute and lovely for a few days. If we were staying longer, I might have wished we'd upgraded to one of the bungalows with the roof-top decks and hammocks...they looked lovely!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulienneI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Just stayed at the 'out of the way' Cabo Pulmo Beach Resort to complete a PADI open water diver certification. Stayed at one of their Casitas, 2 rows back from the beach. The casita was great, with a very nice deck (ocean view and a couple of hammocks).

This resort is really remote. Very safe. No cell phone coverage and intermittent wireless internet access. Perfect for getting away from it all.

The dive operation is top notch. Very well run, with a really accommodating crew of dive instructors and boat operators. Cabo Pulmo is a perfect place to go diving. Actually there's very little else to do.

If you go, although they take US dollars everywhere, i think you get a slightly better deal paying with pesos. No credit cards other than at the dive shop and paying for your casita.

4 or 5 places to eat. All very low key and local. All had great food. Lots of fresh fish. Suggest stopping at the local store in La Rivera to get milk, juice, cereal, snacks, beer etc for the fridge, as there is no real local store in Cabo Pulmo.

Highly recommended for diving and PADI courses. Or just really getting away from it all.

Room Tip: Talk with Getse (front office) to discuss the size of group. Some of their casitas are close or conn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pasamike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

This was our second trip in two years. We originally came to snorkle at Cabo Pulmo and now know that this protected marine sanctuary and a National Park. The Beach Resort is the dive shop which is the center of activity and the bungalows which are between the dive shop and the beach. We thought the prices were very affordable for the lodging, diving, bar and restaurant. Plus this is an Eco-friendly resort and runs largely off of solar power and has an artisian well. This part of Baja has not yet established infrastructure so there are no utilities, phone service, atm's and paved roads in the area. It is a big accomplishment to provide so much in the middle of a desert beach oasis. The best part of both our visits was the friendly staff. Isaac is an expert divemaster and great guy. Viva was charming and a great bartender. Malloy was very professional with our accomodations. All of the staff were great. We really enjoyed our visit and will return again to dive with the fishies. Thanks

Room Tip: The bungalows are well maintained and interesting. It is Baja and one should not expect a Ritz-Carl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We had not visited Cabo Pulmo in 15 tears. The roads were still dirt getting there for about five miles before the place. We stayed in Cabin 19. Few of the cabins or bungalows have beach views. It was a one room/bath, fairly comfortable unit. Hammocks were outside. No bugs , good size, functioning shower. They say they do not use keys. The locals are freindly. We locked the door and there was not a key to get back in so the window was used. There is no air conditioning and the screens were in good condition. It is a fairly quiet location except one night the local dogs barked non stop. There is no wifi unless you want to pay 10 dollars a day and use it in the office.
The best place for snokeling is about four miles south off the dirt road, just before Los Frailes in the park.

Room Tip: If you want an ocean view be sure to ask for it and find out if it is a direct ocean view or an elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goleta
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2011

this was my 7th trip in 9 years to cabo pulmo to dive and i must say this crew is the best yet. rick harbeck, the manager of the dive center, and his crew were simply marvelous. i had to take a couple of advanced training courses in my two weeks there and the staff was always there when i needed them. they seem to be everywhere taking care of all the customers that come through the doors. i spent the first week with friends and the last week by myself. no matter. everyone at the center made me feel like family. even after diving hours. thanks to all the instructors, isaac, tamsyn, gocia, loren and the captains, my old friend memo, gato, and pancho. and thanks rick for making me feel at home.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo Pulmo
3.1 mi away
Cabo Pulmo Eco Palapa
Cabo Pulmo Eco Palapa
#1 of 3 in Cabo Pulmo
54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cabo Pulmo Sports Center Bungalows
23.8 mi away
Hotel Palmas de Cortez
Hotel Palmas de Cortez
#1 of 1 in Los Barriles
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Vidasoul Hotel
Vidasoul Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boca de la Vinorama
84 reviews
23.5 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort
13.3 mi away
Villa del Faro
Villa del Faro
#1 of 1 in Los Frailes
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabo Pulmo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabo Pulmo Beach Resort

Property: Cabo Pulmo Beach Resort
Address: Dive Center, Cabo Pulmo 23400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo Pulmo
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cabo Pulmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabo Pulmo Beach Resort is a small rustic romantic getaway village of Palm-thatched bungalows that are located right in front of the National Marine Park of Cabo Pulmo just 60 miles up the Sea of Cortez on the gulf side. Most of the bungalows host a simple open floor plan modern in style but rustic in nature. Most casitas and bungalows offer a nice functional kitchen for cooking and some offer BBQ's and are Solar powered. We have Air Conditioning in 3 of our Deluxe Casitas for the warmer times of the year....Mainly for the summer. Many guests choose to dine for lunch and dinner at the Coral Reef Restaurant just above the Dive Center with spectacular views of the Sea of Cortez! Eat, Sleep & Dive Packages available. Cabo Pulmo Beach Resort Dive Center is the Only PADI 5 Star Resort and Dive Center in the National Park with a full range of PADI courses, Diving and Snorkeling tours availables ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabo Pulmo Beach Hotel Cabo Pulmo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing