We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average but probably best place to stay in Cabo Pulmo”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cabo Pulmo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabo Pulmo Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cabo Pulmo
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
231 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Average but probably best place to stay in Cabo Pulmo”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

We had not visited Cabo Pulmo in 15 tears. The roads were still dirt getting there for about five miles before the place. We stayed in Cabin 19. Few of the cabins or bungalows have beach views. It was a one room/bath, fairly comfortable unit. Hammocks were outside. No bugs , good size, functioning shower. They say they do not use keys. The locals are freindly. We locked the door and there was not a key to get back in so the window was used. There is no air conditioning and the screens were in good condition. It is a fairly quiet location except one night the local dogs barked non stop. There is no wifi unless you want to pay 10 dollars a day and use it in the office.
The best place for snokeling is about four miles south off the dirt road, just before Los Frailes in the park.

Room Tip: If you want an ocean view be sure to ask for it and find out if it is a direct ocean view or an elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    60
    16
    16
    12
See reviews for
54
87
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
goleta
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

this was my 7th trip in 9 years to cabo pulmo to dive and i must say this crew is the best yet. rick harbeck, the manager of the dive center, and his crew were simply marvelous. i had to take a couple of advanced training courses in my two weeks there and the staff was always there when i needed them. they seem to be everywhere taking care of all the customers that come through the doors. i spent the first week with friends and the last week by myself. no matter. everyone at the center made me feel like family. even after diving hours. thanks to all the instructors, isaac, tamsyn, gocia, loren and the captains, my old friend memo, gato, and pancho. and thanks rick for making me feel at home.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

I've been visiting Cabo Pulmo Beach Resort since 2000 and, I am pleased to report that it is better now than ever! Managers, Rick Harbeck and Getse Rojas, have done wonders with the Dive Center and Resort, respectively, running both efficiently, yet maintaining a friendly and fun atmosphere. Both bent over backwards to give us a great all-around experience and were determined to make everything right for us. And right it was: The diving was spectacular with100 feet of viz in 87 degree water! The food at the Coral Reef Restaurant, upstairs from the Dive Center, served delicious food and tasty, refreshing drinks, just right after a day of diving in "the aquarium of the world," as Jacques Cousteau aptly described Cabo Pulmo, a marine preserve that gratefully has remained unspoiled. Also, the accommodations were wonderful: A beautiful beach house with plenty of fans and a very cool outdoor shower, just steps from the ocean. We caught the afternoon breeze from the terrace during our Happy Hours and, later, marvelled at the night sky bejeweled by millions of stars. We cannot recommend Cabo Pulmo Beach Resort highly enough! Congratulations to Rick Harbeck, Getse Rojas, and their wonderful staff for doing such a great job! We can't wait to return! Stuart E.

Room Tip: Beachside is best, but the casitas with the upstairs patios also are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StuartEman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

I was there thisaugust and it was really a bad experience.I was there with my wife and another couple of friends.The location is not so nice,diving and snorkeling are not so beautiful and interesting.The beach is the worst that we have seen in Baja California.The manager of the hotel and the owner of the diving center are absolutely not friendly.
There is not any reason to go there......!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

My teenage and I stayed here for 3 nights. Came to do some snorkeling and scuba diving. The bungalow was specious, clean, good kitchen utensils, comfortable beds, loved the upstairs balcony with the hammock. It was very hot in August and bungalow stayed reasonably cool; the fan really helped at night. It is close to the beach, the bar/restaurant on the premises serves good food, with a nice outdoor patio; people were friendly. The scuba school on the premises is well run and friendly; the dives were pretty good but definitely not the best season for it; best to come for that in Fall and Winter. The snorkeling is really good; Mermaid beach was really good and easy hike. Very good experience overall.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StefanoPao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

A bit rustic, but not too crowded in January although nippy. Felt we had the place to ourselves. Love the isolation. Not a real 'resort' in the touristy sense - which is actually more of what we prefer anyway, but disappointed by the fridge/freezer that simply was not cool enough.

It was nicely located to other remote beaches like Los Frailes to the north which guarded the wind.

Great Chefs - Food will set you straight and drinks will set you flat.

Room Tip: Email them ahead of time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RusticTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

we have stayed here many times for the diving and pleasant Baja atmosphere. dive in the morning, kick back in the afternoon. rustic and remote, warm water, unique fish schools.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sortofafoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo Pulmo
3.1 mi away
Cabo Pulmo Eco Palapa
Cabo Pulmo Eco Palapa
#1 of 3 in Cabo Pulmo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cabo Pulmo Sports Center Bungalows
23.8 mi away
Hotel Palmas de Cortez
Hotel Palmas de Cortez
#1 of 1 in Los Barriles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Villa del Faro
Villa del Faro
#1 of 1 in Los Frailes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
23.5 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort
14.9 mi away
Vidasoul Hotel
Vidasoul Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boca de la Vinorama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabo Pulmo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabo Pulmo Beach Resort

Property: Cabo Pulmo Beach Resort
Address: Dive Center, Cabo Pulmo 23400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo Pulmo
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cabo Pulmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabo Pulmo Beach Resort is a small rustic romantic getaway village of Palm-thatched bungalows that are located right in front of the National Marine Park of Cabo Pulmo just 60 miles up the Sea of Cortez on the gulf side. Most of the bungalows host a simple open floor plan modern in style but rustic in nature. Most casitas and bungalows offer a nice functional kitchen for cooking and some offer BBQ's and are Solar powered. We have Air Conditioning in 3 of our Deluxe Casitas for the warmer times of the year....Mainly for the summer. Many guests choose to dine for lunch and dinner at the Coral Reef Restaurant just above the Dive Center with spectacular views of the Sea of Cortez! Eat, Sleep & Dive Packages available. Cabo Pulmo Beach Resort Dive Center is the Only PADI 5 Star Resort and Dive Center in the National Park with a full range of PADI courses, Diving and Snorkeling tours availables ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabo Pulmo Beach Hotel Cabo Pulmo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing