We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilltop Hideaway”
Review of Cremin's Casas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cabo Pulmo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cremin's Casas
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hilltop Hideaway”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Cremin's Casas is a great place to hide away and experience rural Mexico. Cabo Pulmo is a tiny town, and from Cremin's hill house you can see everything, including a great view of the ocean to the east and a desert mountain range to the west. You have direct access to 20 miles of hiking/biking trails in the mountains, just walk out of the house and up the dirt road to the right. You can also access the beach and pass several snorkeling and diving outfitters on your way. The best beach/snorkeling sites are at La Sirenita and Los Frailes (go all the way to the rocks to avoid being whipped by painful blowing sand). If you want to get to the reef that is further out from shore, you should hire a boat to take you (roughly $45-$55 for 2.5 hours).

After a long day of exploring the outdoors, Cremin's hill house is a great place to come back to for a hot shower, dinner, and a relaxing evening under the stars. Make sure to pick up groceries in a bigger city before you drive into Cabo Pulmo, and once you're at Cremin's you will be able to cook anything you like in his outfitted kitchen. One day he went to town (La Ribera) and brought us back fresh pompano caught only hours before. We took advantage of the grill on the patio and it ended up being one of the best meals of the trip. That's just one example of Cremin's hospitality. He lives right next door with his adorable dog and is like your favorite neighbor: always available to answer questions and trade stories, but never intrusive. He even left us a nice bottle of wine on our first day there (New Year's Eve).

The house itself is small and beautiful. The bed is ridiculously comfortable with a memory foam mattress and it is one of the best places to watch the sun rise and set. There is a really nice sound system, so bring your iPod. There is also great birdwatching from the patio. And, as you come down the stairs from the house, keep your eye on the tree branches to the left: there is a hummingbird that likes to hang out there.

Ultimately, if you are hoping to explore the outdoors by day and relax in a cozy, peaceful home at night, then you should stay at Cremin's.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Flynneking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
38
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We spent four memorable days at Cremin's Hilltop Casa and it is by far the most romantic peaceful place we have ever stayed on vacation. Cremin is a wonderful host and a cool layed back dude who made himself available to answer any questions yet respected our privacy. The Casa is perfect for couples looking for peace and quiet. In fact Cabo Pulmo is the quietest place we have visited in Mexico. We laid in bed every morning watching the sun rise through the large oceanview windows. Beach chairs, towels and umbrella were greatly appreciated on our snorkelling days at nearby beaches. The kitchen was adequate for prerparing all our meals and the place was clean and very comfortable to hang out in. You can walk to the beach and restaurants in Cabo in 5 minutes. We highly recommend this place for a retrreat from the standard tourist scene. Mucho Gracias Cremin!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russell L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I'm almost reluctant to share this review because it's like the best kept secret kind of thing! This place is a slice of Heaven, truly! Cremin is a most gracious host! The accommodations were amazing, beach beautiful, people friendly! Our family enjoyed quality together time away from the madness of our crazy schedules. Unbelievable value!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorothea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The hilltop Casita is a one room one bath circular structure that sits on the side of a hill with a beautiful view of the valley and ocean. Full kitchen, nice bathroom and a very comfortable bed. This place really as a lot of character and charm. Cremin really goes out of his way to ensure you have everything you need and are comfortable. He is a wealth of knowledge and tells great stories.

You have to walk up some stairs to get to the casita so keep that in mind and its a little ways to the beach also. The patio was a little small but was nice none the less we really enjoyed our stay a Cremins hilltop and would defiantly recommend this unique lodging.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Omega517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Spent a few days in Cremin's excellent casa last week - Cremin is an absolutely outstanding chap and an awesome host. Perfect size, clean and with a great view just a 10 minute walk to the beach. The road to Cabo Pulmo is pretty punishing (6 miles of dirt road - recommend hiring a 4x4 to save your backside) but so worth it, loved being so out of the way. First day there we had a three mile stretch of beach all to ourselves... Look out for the amorous Donkey at the beachfront bar (name escapes me) - bumped into him on the beach as he was playing Pepe-le Phew with a town dog (dog running Donkey chasing with 'intentions'). Highly recommend Cremin's place!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We had the good fortune of staying at Cremin's "Hil Top" bungalow for a week in mid June. It's a studio apartment about 8 minutes walking from the beach, on a slight hill that overlooks the village, hills and ocean. It's one of the best views I've ever had in any lodging. The outside veranda is perfect for morning coffee and sunrise views, and definitely has one of the best sunset views in the area - we didn't want to go out in the evening because we didn't want to miss the sunset colors on desert and ocean. Also, importantly, there is no sound of generators in the area - everything runs on solar. So your views include bird and other wild life sound tracks. There are LOTS of birds in this area, and we also saw lots of jack rabbits, and one fox who passes by around sunset pretty regularly.
The studio itself is spacious, with a perfect vacation size kitchen (full stove and oven if you need it), small refrigerator and an eating area. The mattress was shockingly comfortable - a surprise to me based on many travels in Mexico over the years. There are huge sliding windows with screens across the whole front of the house, to catch breezes from all sides - and it could get down right windy inside when the winds pickup. There were a few nights when there was no breeze, so we used the fan which created enough air flow - although when the temps peak in August it could probably get hot. But that's what August in Baja is - hot.
And beyond the absolute comfort of the place, Cremin - owner, host and long term resident of the village - makes the experience just that much more special. He lives in the house next door to the bungalow, but after your first welcome, he gives you all the privacy of renting your own villa, but with the warmth and attention of a B&B. We saw him in passing out at the car park, or near the stairs. And then he went beyond the call of duty and invited us to dinner one evening - if you get him warmed up, he will tell AMAZING stories about 25 years of living in Cabo Pulmo. And we also got very lucky one morning when we met him at the beach - he gave my husband and I each a 15 minute lesson on the paddle board. What guest house manager does THAT?!! If you are lucky enough to find Cremin's Hill Top house available, book it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCC2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Twenty years ago, while on an adventurous camping honeymoon in Baja, my husband and I hit a rock, totalling our VW rental car just outside of Cabo Pulmo. We were ill-prepared, without ice or propane, and carrying 7 heavy bags of luggage, including scuba gear. We dry-camped for a few nights and survived on Frosted Flakes. (It's a long story...but let's just say I always pay the extra few dollars for the rental car insurance now!) Finally, we stumbled into Titos restaurant, and met someone who told us about Senior Cremin's Casa's. We followed the directions, and arrived at a tropical oasis. We met Senior Cremin, and he welcomed us and rented us a beautiful little casa. It was fully equipped with a kitchen and bathroom, and had a very comfortable bed, and a hammock outside. Everything was clean, and decorated charmingly with authentic mexican style. Senior Cremin even gave us a delicious filet of Ahi, for us to prepare for dinner. (I think he took pity on us, as we were obviously in a pickle.) He offered us the use of a couple of ocean kayak's, which we took advantage of. The grounds were well-appointed and very tropical. We were amazed at the variety of plants he had growing in the desert, by "just adding water."
I am sure the accomodations have changed over the years. My in-laws were there a few years later and said he had added more casa's, all of the same quality. One thing I am certain is the same, is the graciousness of the host. Senior Cremin, thank you for your contribution to a very memorable honeymoon. We just celebrated 20 years of marriage last week!

Room Tip: The date of this review is inaccurate, as I could not select the proper date, May 1992. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowmobiler92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo Pulmo
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#10 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
386 reviews
12.7 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,188 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
3,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#8 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
1,714 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cabo Surf Hotel
Cabo Surf Hotel
#24 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
268 reviews
35.0 mi away
Cabo Pulmo Eco Palapa
Cabo Pulmo Eco Palapa
#1 of 3 in Cabo Pulmo
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cremin's Casas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cremin's Casas

Property: Cremin's Casas
Address: East Cape Road, Cabo Pulmo 23574, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo Pulmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Cabo Pulmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cremin's Casas are a collection of beautiful solar powered thatched roof bungalow rentals in the East Cape village of Cabo Pulmo inside the Cabo Pulmo Beach Resort, there is also one more house located on the hill side with a fabulous view. Cabo Pulmo is one of the most beautiful areas along the Baja peninsula and is home to the only living coral reef in Western North America. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing