We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in New Hamburg”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Puddicombe House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Puddicombe House
Ranked #1 of 1 New Hamburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
153 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A gem in New Hamburg”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We wanted to spend a weekend away, not too far from home in Etobicoke and we landed on Puddicombe House. It is a gem. Its more than a bed and breakfast. The room we stayed in was wonderful. The House has a tremendous verandah for late afternoon drinks (the owner we were told is a mixologist of repute but we never tested his skills). The restaurant was attractive and the breakfast was very good - frittata for our visit. They are close to a number of other attractions and restaurants and although we did not eat dinner there, we will the next time we visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RalphW_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    17
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
48
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

The restaurant food is superb. The setting on the verandah is beautiful. We have had a few items on the menu (sandwich of the day, burger, fish & chips, salad) and all items were wonderful. The maple balsamic vingarette dressing is the best I've ever tasted. I would give the Puddicome restaurant 5 stars.
Now, the spa. There are no RMTs at Puddicombe House. The massage you do get is a very light massage, mostly on the feet, legs to the knee, arms and back. My massage was for 1/2 hour. The cost $40.00 + HST. On another occasion, I had a facial with an eye treatment. The eye treatment consisted of an eye makeup remover pad socked in rose water and placed over the eyes for approximately 3-5 minutes. The extra price was $30.00 for the rose water - quite disappointing. The facial itself was $95. Total = $125.00 + HST.
Puddicombe House should definitely hire RMTS. Estheticians shouldn't be doing massages.
My friend has had pedicures and say they are wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brenda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookstown, ON
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stopped here on our way from St. Jacobs to London. What a treat. We had lunch on the verandah. The hamburger was superb. We also had the fish and chips. The fish was amazing. AND it was a rare treat to finally have an excellent coffee (americano style) finally after some pretty awful coffee in St. Jacobs at the overrated Stone Crock. Service was excellent. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone. It is worth the drive!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed their Tuesday lunch gourmet hamburger special on a lovely summer afternoon seated on their front verandah. Excellent quality well presented. Good friendly service. Asked that country music background be turned down/off and they graciously complied (classical would have been more appropriate for this gracious old mansion which has accommodation & spa as well

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at this B&B during the August holiday long weekend a few weeks ago as we had an Ontario's Finest Inns gift card and decided to use it for a weekend in Stratford to catch some theatre. The inn is right off the main highway that leads into Stratford and about 20 minutes away from downtown Stratford.

We stayed in the Jackson room and found it to be very comfortable for the most part. When we arrived, we were greeted by an employee who offered to carry our bags to our room and then gave us a quick tour of the room's features. The bed is exactly as advertised and very comfortable. My only complaint about the room is that there isn't a proper shower in the bathroom. The jacuzzi tub has a short shower hose that pulls out, otherwise you have to take a bath. I, personally, didn't find that very convenient but I guess the room has been designed for romantic getaways rather than overall functionality.

The breakfast the next morning was very good, but not really the "full country breakfast" we had envisioned. We were offered a choice between an gourmet omlette or a flatbread omlette as well as coffee, tea, and orange juice. Looking over at a few other guests, it appeared as though they were given other choices as we saw at least one person with toast on their plate. We thought that maybe our choices were more limited as we came down for breakfast at close after 9 a.m. and that they may have been winding it down at that point.

The Puddicomb House owner came over and talked to us a little during breakfast and while we were checking out and was very pleasant.

Overall, we really liked the beautiful building, the quiet setting (there's not a lot happening in New Hamburg on a Sunday morning), the comfort of the room, and the warm service we received.

Room Tip: If having a shower is important to you, ask which rooms are equipped with one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IWantToSeeTheWorld31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michiana, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

My daughter and I were seeing a concert in Stratford and all rooms were booked. Puddicombe House is a convenient distance and very accomodating. At check-in, we were last in and greeted by name. When shown our double room, Nicholas knew the next room was empty for the night, and upgraded us to a king room with a jacuzzi and shower! So kind and so luxurious! The bed and pillows were wonderfully comfortable, and the town quiet for sleeping. Our breakfast next morning was delicious - egg flatbread with grilled vegetables, aged cheese and fresh pea shoots, and a fresh fruit cup of local strawberries, blueberries and blackberries, all in season. What a wonderful place - beautifully restored, interesting historic architecture, friendly, clean and convenient - I'd definitely stay again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
Level Contributor
185 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Puddicombe House During a recent trip to Stratford.

Like many others, we think it is a great place, a beautiful drive along some of the prettiest farm country
ever.

PROS:
1) Very nice place, very clean, safe, cool furnishings and appointments, nice distance to Stratford.
2) Excellent breakfast cooked fresh, eggs (tasty and fancy), fresh fruit, coffee.
3) Very friendly staff, Lyle, the owner is very helpful. He answered all of our questions and made great suggestions.
4) Close to St. Jacobs - strongly recommend the Farmers's Market there...something for everyone and great fun.
5) Fun being in the heart of Mennonite country - the cleanest, most beautiful farms ever!
6) There is a nice park directly across the street on the Nith River. There's an ice cream plsce on the way...A nice place to hang out!

CONS:
None, really. I suppose if you wanted loud parties, this would not be for you.

The House is quite nice, but I suppose if you wanted to be in the center of Stratford, you could be there, but it was loud at night, whereas the Puddicombe House was quiet at night.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveldoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Hamburg
10.8 mi away
Delta Hotels Waterloo
Delta Hotels Waterloo
#2 of 9 in Waterloo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#4 of 18 in Stratford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#3 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#8 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
11.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Waterloo Ontario
0.9 mi away
Newburg Inn
Newburg Inn
#1 of 1 in New Hamburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puddicombe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puddicombe House

Property: Puddicombe House
Address: 145 Peel St, New Hamburg, Ontario N3A 1E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > New Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in New Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Puddicombe House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puddicombe House, An Ontario's Finest Inn and Spa featuring elegant accommodation in downtown historic New Hamburg. Six B & B rooms feature en-suites, most with Jacuzzi tubs, King, Queen and Twin options, flat screen TVs and fireplaces. Full-service restaurant, spa and hair salon. Unique shopping just outside our door property is located a short 20 minute drive (22km) to the Stratford Festival Theatre, and a 20-25 minute drive to St Jacobs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Puddicombe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puddicombe House Hotel New Hamburg
Puddicombe House New Hamburg, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing