We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“midweek spa escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Puddicombe House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Puddicombe House
Ranked #1 of 1 New Hamburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Waterloo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“midweek spa escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

My mother and I booked in at Puddicombe for the midweek spa escape - full day of spa services, a bottle of wine, overnight in our own room and breakfast in the morning. The experience was wonderful. Beautiful rooms, friendly atmosphere and great food! A great deal for all that you get. We'll definitely come back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    17
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
48
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

My girlfriend and I chose Puddicombe House as a halfway point between London and Toronto for a night away. We enjoyed the spa and had fantastic meals at both dinner and breakfast. I am vegan and with a day's notice the chef did an awesome job in preparing meals that were visually appealing and delicious. My girlfriend ate off the menu and was equally impressed with her meals. The house is beautiful, the rooms are comfortable and the hosts were very accommodating. We enjoyed our stay and are already planning on a return visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

I stayed here with my wife while on business and we loved the place. The rooms, the food, the service in the spa everyone cared about us from the time we checked out to the time we left. It made a business trip into a special occasion. We will be making a visit this summer just to relax for a weekend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

My partner and I booked into Puddicombe for the Easter weekend which was also my 60th birthday celebration. We booked into the Stock Room, which was a lovely room, fantastic bed and with everything you would wish for in a respite from the city. The breakfasts were absolutely scrumptious. The one dinner that we had at the Puddicombe Dining Room was fabulous. It was a trout dish that was out of this world and the staff went out of their way to assure a lovely evening. The building is stunning and we had a wonderful time. We will certainly return and will definitely recommend it to our friends and family.

Karen and Henry

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenHeemskerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

A few weeks agao a friend & I had lunch at Puddicombe House. The paper menu on its plastic holder was crumpled as if it is had been wet with coffee or tea. This was a turn-off before we even ordered any food. This is rather shoddy as it would be very easy to put a fresh menu in the holder. First impressioms are important! The soup was tasy but cold. The garnish on top of it was cold & hard which added to the coldness of the soup. The macaroni & cheese was very greasy but tasty with some spicy pepers. The cheescake was heavy and tasted had the texture of flavoured butter! The waitress did not ask how our meal was so I suffered through the cold soup. I will not be rushing back for another meal at Puddicome's.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

In November we went to Puddicombe House and I was really pleased with our stay. Our room was lovely and the bed was the most comfortable one I have ever slept in. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The old home is stunning. We had dinner at the restaurant and it was very good with the exception of the dessert which was mediocre and not worth the calories. I had a massage at the spa and the young woman there was very nice. The town is not far from Stratford and a short walk away there are some nice little gift shops. I would definitely go back there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank celtqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

I stayed at The Puddicombe Inn mid-week in December, as a chance to do some creative thinking. The room was gorgeous, the food was fantastic and the staff were so nice! I felt like one of the family after meeting the owner. What a relaxing escape from the hectic pace -it would be perfect for a romantic visit with my husband or a spa weekend with the girls! Looking forward to another visit soon!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puddicombe, Owner at Puddicombe House, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
It was a pleasure having you stay with us.Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Hamburg
10.8 mi away
Delta Hotels Waterloo
Delta Hotels Waterloo
#2 of 9 in Waterloo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#4 of 18 in Stratford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#2 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#8 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
11.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Waterloo Ontario
0.9 mi away
Newburg Inn
Newburg Inn
#1 of 1 in New Hamburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puddicombe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puddicombe House

Property: Puddicombe House
Address: 145 Peel St, New Hamburg, Ontario N3A 1E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > New Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in New Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Puddicombe House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puddicombe House, An Ontario's Finest Inn and Spa featuring elegant accommodation in downtown historic New Hamburg. Six B & B rooms feature en-suites, most with Jacuzzi tubs, King, Queen and Twin options, flat screen TVs and fireplaces. Full-service restaurant, spa and hair salon. Unique shopping just outside our door property is located a short 20 minute drive (22km) to the Stratford Festival Theatre, and a 20-25 minute drive to St Jacobs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Puddicombe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puddicombe House Hotel New Hamburg
Puddicombe House New Hamburg, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing