We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surpassed our expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Koendidda Country House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Barnawartha
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Surpassed our expectations”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Spent a couple of nights at Koendidda in early 2012. We could not fault the accomodation or the meals we were provided. We had a meal in the formal dining room one night and a cold platter the following night in the Gardens. A very relaxing couple of days and and good location to base yourself from to visit the local townships such as Beechworth, Milawa and Myrtleford. Karen and Edward were gracious hosts and were very welcoming. A large breakfast on the patio each morning was also a plus. Will be back.

Room Tip: It was nice to get a room that overlooked the front balcony and magnificent gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeffp00le
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed at Koendidda as a group over the Melbourne Cup weekend. Lovely house and great setting. Hosts Karen & Edward made us very welcome.We also enjoyed a lovely meal prepared by our hosts on the Sunday evening. A fridge in each room would be a nice touch. Eggs at breakfast could have been a bit softer but sitting outside under the verandah for breakfast each morning was very pleasant.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Humphrey Pooley suite complete with own sitting room which was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rickh12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

A group of us stayed at Koendidda country house for a weekend of wine, food, cheese and relaxation. Couldn't have imagined a better place to stay, the hosts Karen&Ed were amazing and the meals they put on 'back at base' were the best on offer! Will definitely go back again next time we need to recharge the batteries.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lachlan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Absolutely stunning gold rush era mansion, providing luxurious interiors, extensive grounds full of views and fruit trees, balconies with majestic scenery and serenity, and fantastic hosts Ed and Karen who provide the full spread in the morning, with local produce, and great tips for places to explore in the Rutherglen region. Great spot to shoot off to Rutherglen, Milawa, King River and surrounding food and wine trials. An absolute pleasure, definitely coming back!!!

Room Tip: All amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Desingerer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherglen, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2010

When greeted by hosts Karen & Ed, we were immediately made to feel relaxed and welcome. Local Barnawartha hotel (4km's) does reasonable meals or you can arrange a three course meal in the dining room when booking accommodation, we hadn't and arrived later than we planned but our hosts still prepared a great meal at short notice and we tasted some local wines.
Five bedrooms upstairs all with ensuites, we had the Pooley room. Large bedroom with comfy King bed, nice linen, and a small seperate lounge area, through to ensuite. Waking to the birds in the morning was calming.
The grounds are amazing, still many of the original trees that were planted when the house was built. You can even wander down the back to visit the resident chickens.
Hubby and I truly enjoyed our time at Keondidda, peaceful and very relaxing. Its also convenient to Beechworth (20 min's) which is where we travelled to on our first day for a long lunch. Day two was a drive to Rutherglen to visit some wineries. Hosts were very knowledgable about where to go.
We intend going back in 2011 with four other couples and having the run of the place.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rutherglenred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacchus Marsh
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2008

The B&B is a two storey Victorian mansion. The rooms are large with just as large bathrooms. The grounds are so peaceful and such a delight with free roaming chickens, etc. To die for! The host was charming and friendly and the breakfasts were unbelievable. The fresh country air was just amazing and it was so close to Rutherglen and Beechworth. Definitely will be back. We cannot recommend it highly enough! Our photos don't do it justice. SO RELAXING and WELCOMING! I could live here easily ...

  • Liked — Everything was fantastic!
  • Disliked — Didn't stay long enough!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Readybluedragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnawartha
15.5 mi away
Tuileries
Tuileries
#3 of 6 in Rutherglen
161 reviews
16.1 mi away
George Kerferd Hotel
George Kerferd Hotel
#3 of 6 in Beechworth
362 reviews
16.2 mi away
Beechworth On Bridge
Beechworth On Bridge
#1 of 6 in Beechworth
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Wine Village Motor Inn
Wine Village Motor Inn
#1 of 6 in Rutherglen
175 reviews
20.3 mi away
Circa 1936
Circa 1936
#1 of 4 in Corowa
46 reviews
3.0 mi away
No photo provided
Star Hotel Barnawartha
#2 of 2 in Barnawartha
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koendidda Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koendidda Country House

Property: Koendidda Country House
Address: 79 Pooleys Rd, Barnawartha, Victoria 3688, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Barnawartha
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Barnawartha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Koendidda Country House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The finest historic boutique accommodation in the Albury / Wodonga area.Koendidda is seclusion at its very best, situated 5km from sleepy Barnawartha, set on 10 acres of magnificent established grounds, this is relaxation at its best. The feature of Koendidda is the grand old gold rush built triple brick mansion that has been very tastefully restored & furnished to reflect the elegance of that grand old era, with all modern necessities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Koendidda Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koendidda Country House Barnawartha, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing