We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beautiful food!”
Review of La Bergerie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Bergerie
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aragon
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful beautiful food!”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

My family and myself visited La Bergerie in July 2012- a wonderful dining experience. The staff went to great lenghts to help us (poor speaking French visitors) understand the menu, select some food and were super helpful in every aspect-the food was beautiful, a unique experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrishaDIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    47
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
44
79
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Everything about La Bergerie is wonderful: the location, the view from the pool, the comfort of the room, the staff friendliness and service, and the food, which is both creative and delicious! The tiny village of Aragon, which is set on a cliff, is only about 20 minutes - and a world away - from Carcassonne, but in those minutes you forget about the touristy crassness of the "big city" and enjoy the serenity of the amazing views of vineyards and sunflowers. Sitting by the pool and gazing at the scenery is a life-affirming experience. About the food, I will just describe one of the dishes I had: dorade "hamburger" - 2 grilled filets of flaky fish served between a "bun" of potato cakes topped with black and white sesame seeds. You have to have it if it's on the menu when you go. See the photo.

Room Tip: Bring your own bottles of water for your room. There's no shop within 15 minutes of Aragon. Ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiliGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
114 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

This was our second visit of a week, so it is no surprise that we rate this hotel "very good". The location is delightful and very quiet with long views out over vineyards to the hills beyond. The rooms are fine and the airconditioning, which was needed, worked well. With a Michelin star, you would expect good food and you certainly get it here. Going "demi-pension" for a week, we ate our way right round the "à la carte" menu which is both inventive and delicious. The service was very good with charming attentive staff in the restaurant. Fabien and Priscilla are also welcoming and attentive hosts. All in all a place we would recommend. Good wi-fi connection from the main "salon", but not from our room.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minackman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We haven't stayed in the hotel - but it looks very nice. We have visited the restaurant about 6 times when we have stayed at Villa Laffon in Villemoustassou.

The restaurant is excellent. A friend who has eaten at other Michelin star restaurants, rates La Bergerie above them. The food is always exquisite and tasty made from quality ingredients. It is always delivered with imaginative flair. The fume starter deserves a video record to relive after your visit. When the lid is broken open - the smoke spirals spectacularly out of the glass. The menu which includes a different glass of wine with each course, chosen by the patron and delivered with an explanation completes the experience and each glass thoroughly compliments each dish.

Besides each dish, you receive between each course an amuse-bouche which all look and taste spectacular.

The restaurant were able to provide for gluten free and our friend was delighted at being able to share a memorable experience - which is not always possible at all establishments.

The setting is incredible and during the summer, watching the sun set over the vineyards is a magical experience.

I would thoroughly recommend La Bergerie and am booking again for my next visit to Carcassonne.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Modern building in local style in remote away from it all village,perched on hilltop near Carcassonne.
Comfortable and well finished room, with private terrace,pool,views of village and country.
Dinner was one of the best on our trip,although the four course menu was too much for me,but our girls loved it..
A relaxing quiet retreat.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank speedjspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
115 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed here for one night, en-route betwen northern Spain and SE France. Finding Aragon can be a problem: after driving through Villegailhenc on the D118 we retraced our steps and spotted the tiny signpost and narrow street leading to the road for Aragon. Fortunately, the owners of La Bergerie have placed a multitude of signposts in Aragon to lead one round and around to their very pleasant hotel and restaurant. We had one of their cheapest rooms "Tournesol" (= Sunflower) - twin beds and a semi-private garden area for sitting out and overlooking the deep valley beyond. Very comfortable and good value we thought at 90 euros. We enjoyed the dinner: very professional service and excellent starters and desserts - but not quite as stunning main courses. The wine recommendation - the very local "Vin D'Est" - at about 25 euros was excellent! We didn't have breakfast.

Room Tip: Our room was quite fine for a one night stay - but it may be better to pay a bit more for a larger r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobfromKensington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2011

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The location is wonderful. Presentation of foods in the restaurant was very high level. I would deffenetly return.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fettery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aragon
6.5 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
7.4 mi away
Le Domaine d'Auriac
Le Domaine d'Auriac
#6 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
9.3 mi away
Chateau de Palaja
Chateau de Palaja
#1 of 1 in Palaja
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Les Cabanes dans les Bois
Les Cabanes dans les Bois
#1 of 1 in Villalier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
6.4 mi away
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bergerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bergerie

Property: La Bergerie
Address: Allee Pech Marie, 11600 Aragon, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Aragon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aragon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — La Bergerie 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your La Bergerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bergerie France/Aragon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing