We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would definitely go back”
Review of Chateau du Rayet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau du Rayet
Ranked #1 of 2 Villereal B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Sympathetically and tastefully renovated farmhouse/chateau set in beautiful garden with a swimming pool thoughtfully located away from the main building. All you could ask for in a peaceful, rural setting. Anne is a charming hostess, and we would certainly go back if we were in that region of France again. (Although the area itself is rather too quiet and lifeless after 9.30 at night for a fun holiday).

Room Tip: All the rooms looked fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chairdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 63 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2011

Very attractive chateau surrounded by a moat set in peaceful countryside 3km from Villereal. Anne is a very charming and welcoming host. We were greeted by a fine lunch with very good local wine. The rooms were spacious & comfortable with large beds, extremely clean with large windows opening onto fine views.
An excellent breakfast each morning served outside at any time to suit ourselves before we made our way to the pool or to local sites that Ann recommended.
Cannot think you would find a better place to stay in this part of the world.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

I was amazed by this beautiful chateau, from the building itself to the location, "home away from home" feeling and fantastic cooking by Ann herself! Ask for the fish of the day if available- you won't be dissapointed! The location is the perfect place to explore the many surrounding areas of the true countryside of France. I didn't want to leave, but I will be back again soon!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattP2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

we had the pleasure to stay at Ann's beautiful tranquil villa. Our bedrooms were clean, spacious and the beds very comfortable. Once we arrived at the villa, we did not want to leave as it was so comfortable, lazing around the swimming pool, going for walks on the farm and in the forest. and just enjoying the complete tranquility. Ann was a generous hostess, always making sure that we had what we needed, (great wine and food). The dinners where spectular as Ann is a GREAT cook, and had the best wine to offer to compliment the meal. She helped us organise which of the towns we should go and visit and what sites we should see and markets we should attend. We had done a fair bit of travelling before arriving at Ann, and we found an oasis from the madding crowd.

Room Tip: the frontroom and the upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jsteyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

We just love the peaceful, rural setting of what is more a warm, cosy manor house than a large formal chateau. We again stayed two nights and each evening enjoyed Anne's excellent home cooking, surely as good as anything on offer in the nearby villages. Our room was very spacious and the huge bed extremely comfortable; we slept so well. The only sounds were those of the birds in the morning and the frogs in the moat in the evening; incredibly tranquil. A great base to explore the regions of Lot-et-Garonne and nearby Dordogne.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jsyfitzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Benoit_rou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Katrien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau du Rayet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau du Rayet

Address: Le Rayet, 47210 Villereal, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Lot-et-Garonne > Villereal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Villereal
Price Range: $207 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chateau du Rayet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing