We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy Concierge”
Review of Vila Castelo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vila Castelo
UK
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Classy Concierge”
Reviewed September 1, 2008

Concierge Vila Castelo is a classy resort. We stayed in a 3-bed townhouse and the quality of the accommodation was excellent. The properties are privately owned and have slightly different furnishings. Make sure you have access to the lovely pool - not all do. There was lots of space in the rooms, good a/c, a great kitchen and a lovely view from the balcony. The staff in the resort were very helpful with lots of great tips on places to visit and eat out. The resort is well positioned equi-distant from a lovely beach - Praia Grande with lots for the kids to do and the town of Ferragudo which is a quaint and quiet town with some nice restaurants. Nearby you have the bigger town of Portimao with it's lovely marina and the other way Carvoeiro. In between are some wonderful beaches such as Caneiros with an amazing restaurant - Rei des Prais - overlooking the beach - it was stunning! Unfortunately, they are currently building alongside the resort which resulted in quite a lot of noise and incessant 'beeping' from earthmovers from 8am or earlier most days - a shame in what was otherwise a great family holiday.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Building noise
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JLN64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferragudo, Manager at Vila Castelo, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Many thanks for your kind words, this area is truely beautiful and we have always enjoyed meeting you and must say that since your last visit we have made many improvements, namely the terrace of most houses we place deck balocnies therefore more spacious to seat out and have a meal confortably for four people !
Internally the bathrooms also modernised and the furniture.
The pool area the snack bar has had many improvements and also the accomodation prices have come down to nearly half price,
There is no contruction taking place and the area is very quiet now
Hope you return
Alice & Vila Castelo staff xxxxxxxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    28
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
57
52
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke
Level 5 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2007

Out of season when the prices for villa rentals are more realistic this place might be worth staying at but in my mind it's expensive and never more than an average compex. Having stayed in peak season when the prices were through the roof I expected more. The Villas are clean and tidy but poorly designed, many have 'dead' space to the side of them which you can't use, outdoor spaces resembling squash courts with no sun that are useful for nothing other than storage.
If you book make sure that have a terrace and not a balcony, the majority of Villas have a balcony that can accomadate only 2 people a table and chairs at a squeeze which clearly is not acceptable if in a family or group of 4. To sit/eat outside is a major attraction of a holiday abroad and this can't be done on tiny balcony's.
The pool is woefully too small for the complex, it needed to be 3 times the size of this current one which feels crowded with half a dozen or more people in it. The cafe serves good food.
The resort is very very quiet with only a handful of cafe's bars and restuarants, stray dogs can often out number the pedestrians on the narrrow dog mess littered streets.
My advice to anyone staying at the complex would be to get out and about to see the much nicer parts of Portugal and the complex does offer an ideal base to do so.
I would return to Portugal again but not Ferragudo and not Vila Castelo.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Pool the size of a postage stamp.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank hantsspur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferragudo, Manager at Vila Castelo, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Many thanks for your kind words, this area is truely beautiful and we have always enjoyed meeting you and must say that since your last visit we have made many improvements, namely the terrace of most houses we place deck balocnies therefore more spacious to seat out and have a meal confortably for four people !
Internally the bathrooms also modernised and the furniture.
The pool area the snack bar has had many improvements and also the accomodation prices have come down to nearly half price,
Hope you return
Alice & Vila Castelo staff xxxxxxxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, England
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2007

My mum booked this holiday for our family and the resort was really very beautiful, our apartment was very good value for money! However, many websites say that the village is lively at night but there are mainly cafes as opposed to bars and restaurants, all very lovely and cheap though! Would go back to this area again but would probably stay in the resort of Portimao which is over the estuary and can be reached from Ferragudo by a water taxi, as it is busier but still seems to have some Portuguese charm as long as you don't wonder too far into the nearby resort of Praia da Rocha which is very touristy!

  • Liked — Cleanliness, value for money, nice area
  • Disliked — Very quiet compared to what I'd usually like, transport links not brilliant.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank sunnygirl1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferragudo, Manager at Vila Castelo, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Josephine & Paul,

Many thanks for your kind words, this area is truely beautiful and we have always enjoyed meeting you and we appreciate also the recommendations you have made to friends of yours and family ! Hope to see you again soon

Alice & Vila Castelo staff xxxxxxxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2006

We stayed in a two bedroom townhouse for a week last year and we just fell in love with this beautiful place Ferragudo. A truly unspoilt gem, the village has quaint cobbled streets and many of the locals live around the village which gives the area a true traditional feel. Ideal for a quiet relaxing holiday with beautiful restaurants and two fantastic beaches. We loved it so much we are going back in April 2006. Its very seldom you come across an area that has not been spoiled by mass tourisim. The accommodation is fantastic 4 star quality all the way - you will not want to leave !! The resort is in a superb location and the views are beautiful.

Stayed September 2005
Helpful?
26 Thank MIDLETON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferragudo, Manager at Vila Castelo, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Josephine & Paul,

Many thanks for your kind words, this area is truely beautiful and we have always enjoyed meeting you and we appreciate also the recommendations you have made to friends of yours and family ! Hope to see you again soon

Alice & Vila Castelo staff xxxxxxxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferragudo
0.5 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#7 of 75 in Portimao
2,145 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casabela
Hotel Casabela
#2 of 4 in Ferragudo
48 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,004 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Castelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Castelo

Property: Vila Castelo
Address: | Angrinha, Ferragudo 8400-279, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Ferragudo
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Ferragudo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Castelo 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vila Castelo is a beach front development with a unique collection of traditional HOLIDAY HOMES. All houses are south facing and enjoy from their balconies beach/sea and a medieval castle views. The location is superb on the south side to a very picturesque fishing village,Ferragudo, in the central Algarve with its micro climate. We are a short stroll to the beach of Angrinha and Praia Grande, via some steps with its children playground, a volleyball/football area/beach sun beds and umbrellas and many great snack bars/restaurants open all year round with live music. Many summer sports/musical events on Praia Grande and the village main square. A host of excellent national/international cuisine restaurants. many amenities within walking distance and book/ask advise at our RECEPTION for restaurants/slide park/zoo-marine/tours/tennis/Golf courses/events/dolphin/fishing/boating activities/trekking/nature walks all accessible.We provide during JULY and AUGUST FREE ACTIVITIES for adults-children at our pool area inquiry at pool snack bar/reception before/when you check in !!!! Open MONDAY to Friday in the winter and EVERYDAY in the SUMMER....Corporate/groups ask us and we can organize all for You ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Vila Castelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Castelo Hotel Ferragudo
Vila Castelo Ferragudo, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing