We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good”
Review of Vila Castelo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vila Castelo
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Went away with my girlfriend for a week during August. Having been sceptical before I went, I was soon proven wrong. The room on arrival was all neat, clean, tidy and huge! The fact that it had two floors was amazing. It was kitted out with a big bedroom, lovely modern en-suites, lounge area with TV & sofa, dining area and kitchen. It also had a lovely balcony upstairs, with a patio/garden area downstairs - which was a great area to sit in the sun but still maintain a bit of privacy! The pool was really nice. Lovely and cool and great for a dip when overheating from sunbathing. Pool bar was great. All your basic needs ie. drinks/snacks/lunch was all available throughout the day! The food was exquisite - you must try the garlic flambé prawns if you're into seafood! The owners, Alice and Sergio, were lovely, providing an all you can eat BBQ one night for a really small price. Considering the quality of the meat, it really was a bargain.

To sum it up, I often want to try somewhere new every year but I would re-visit vila castelo without hesitation - it was that good.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruffers95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferragudo, Manager at Vila Castelo, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Kyle,

We heard so much about you from Erika and were pleased at last to meet you and have the pleasure of your company, hope your studies are going as planned and to see you again down here soon with the Pickards

take good care

With Love

Alice & all at Vila Castelo xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
There are newer reviews for Vila Castelo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 130 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

Spent a lovely holiday at Vila Castelo with its traditional homes, loved as an architect the true portuguese and algarvian feel from the high ceelings, slooping roof tiles and charming chimenys, the windows are with the stone imitation surroundings, the balconies spacious and south facing, the views and the sun comes in everyday in teh summer and winter a complete clever sun exposure learned from the moorish influences in our culture and teh colors of the buildings were inspired and the brick work around the vila castelo archways and the reception was most welcome and has a nice wood ceeling and pleasant young lady working there, Elsa, most staff that I have met including the managress Alice and her husband sergio were very helful and provided ideas of what to do in the area and see as well as fabulous clues on restaurants locally to eat and night live entertainment as well as the long beach where water sports are made daily, will return and recommend to my family and friends too, thank you www.Vilacastelo.eu check them and the GPS coordenates and google maps opposite the castle of Sao joao do arade a medieval fort set on teh Angrinha beach opposite Portimao/Praia da rocha marina

Room Tip: Find the rooms faced to the south
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joao_Silva33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferragudo, Manager at Vila Castelo, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014
Google Translation

Apreciamos as suas simpaticas palavras e esperamos ve-los em breve !

We appreciated your kind words and hope to see you again soon,

Alice and all at Vila Castelo xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Alice & Sergio were amazing hosts.

Alice made amazing fresh food to order every day, which was amazing. Great range of drinks also. Friendly and welcoming environment around the pool area, amazing service - defiantly the hostess with the mostess!

Our villa was AMAZING! Very spacious, lovely homely touches. Balcony that looked out over the amazing view of the river, castle & beach. We also had a garden with deck chairs in downstairs. Bedroom was massive with double doors that opened onto the garden. Bathroom was huge and has lots of storage.

Loads of restaurants, all very reasonable in price and very local to the villa. The fish in particular is to die for as it is right on the fishing port. The square also has pharmacy, butchers, bakers, market, cafes, bars etc etc.

Beaches are lovely, deck chairs availabl. You can also hire pedalos which have slides. A variety of bars that also serve food on the sea front.

All round an amazing trip I would recommend this to everyone, families, couples or groups of friends :)

Thank you Alice & Sergio for your hospitality, we will defiantly be back to see you all!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank April_3490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferragudo, Manager at Vila Castelo, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

April & Graham,

We heard so much about you though Graham´s mum Paula on their holidays with us and we were dileighted to at last meet you both and really appreciated your kind review.

Paul & Paula here again this summer,

Take both good care and see you at face book

Alice and all at Vila Castelo xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We hada wonderful say at Vila Castelo and plan to return next year. The manager, Alice Sequeira, is extremely helpful and a very good cook. Excellent restaurants in town and a beautiful beach at which to swim. Many historic towns within an hour's drive. Off season is best.

Room Tip: Ask Alice. Near the pool is best,
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ditkoff3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferragudo, Manager at Vila Castelo, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Thank you so much for your review and hope to see you again soon...

Take all great care

Alice & all at VILA CASTELO xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Just got back from a brilliant holiday at villa castelo , no problem from being picked up from the airport, a clean villa stunning views , really relaxing time by the pool , stunning views over the marina , great fun at the BBQ , the pool was fantastic to chill by , really close to the beach , the best beach in the world I would say

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lawrance B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaCasteloResort, Manager at Vila Castelo, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Hello there

was a reall pleasure also meeting you, heard a lot about you !

Glad you have enjoyed and hope to see you again soon, off course the Pickards are back this summer, cant wait to share a few drinks and barbecues and fun with them,

Take good care and good luck with your studies,

LOve from us all
Alice & Sergios xxxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The service as always was fantastic,to the pick up from the airport to the late check out on our departure,Alice's cooking @ the Pool Bar is just about the best in Fereguedo,from breakfast - dressed Crab etc
The accomodation was very clean and well equipped even allowing for my basic BBQ skills ! Fereguedo is a wonderful unspoilt fishing village with a fantastic square and wonderful beach,perhaps the bonus is that you do not need a car even if you are playing golf because the reception will arrange a taxi for you at a very reasonable rate.
Already looking forward to our next vist,a small piece of paradise in magnificent Portugal,Michael J.

Room Tip: All apartments are very nice it's a very calm area where you can relax and have a good time
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferragudo, Manager at Vila Castelo, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Thank you so much for your review and will be delighted to look after the GOLF boys again this June...

Take all great care

Alice & all at VILA CASTELO xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Just come back from a weeks holiday with the family. Local Resturants excellent, beach just a short 2 minute walk away. Accommodation and pool are fantastic. Pool bar food is excellent and staff friendly. Holiday was that good we have booked to return in August.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferragudo, Manager at Vila Castelo, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Thank you so much for your review and will be delighted to look after you and all the family and hope to have more Irish here again soon...

Take all great care

Alice & all at VILA CASTELO xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferragudo
0.5 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#7 of 75 in Portimao
2,223 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
639 reviews
1.5 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casabela
Hotel Casabela
#2 of 4 in Ferragudo
50 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,028 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Algarve Casino
Hotel Algarve Casino
#16 of 75 in Portimao
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Castelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Castelo

Address: | Angrinha, Ferragudo 8400-279, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Ferragudo
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Ferragudo
Price Range: $150 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Castelo 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vila Castelo is a beach front development with a unique collection of traditional HOLIDAY HOMES. All houses are south facing and enjoy from their balconies beach/sea and a medieval castle views. The location is superb on the south side to a very picturesque fishing village,Ferragudo, in the central Algarve with its micro climate. We are a short stroll to the beach of Angrinha and Praia Grande, via some steps with its children playground, a volleyball/football area/beach sun beds and umbrellas and many great snack bars/restaurants open all year round with live music. Many summer sports/musical events on Praia Grande and the village main square. A host of excellent national/international cuisine restaurants. many amenities within walking distance and book/ask advise at our RECEPTION for restaurants/slide park/zoo-marine/tours/tennis/Golf courses/events/dolphin/fishing/boating activities/trekking/nature walks all accessible.We provide during JULY and AUGUST FREE ACTIVITIES for adults-children at our pool area inquiry at pool snack bar/reception before/when you check in !!!! Open MONDAY to Friday in the winter and EVERYDAY in the SUMMER....Corporate/groups ask us and we can organize all for You ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Vila Castelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Castelo Hotel Ferragudo
Vila Castelo Ferragudo, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing