We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food”

O Barril Bar Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 51 Restaurants in Ferragudo
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The owners speak excellent English. The menu is in 4 languages. The setting is excellent, providing outdoor and indoor dining. The food is superb.
East of england
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Freshly grilled meat and fish served either in the restaurant, just outside or at tables in the square. Service can get a little rushed when busy. Good value.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank thebuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    108
    39
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Food, Resonable Price, Friendly Entertainment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

We visited O Barril twice on our trip to Portugal. The first time I had a particularly delicious tuna steak. We sat inside and got there quite late in the evening. They were very welcoming and prepared us fresh food even though they were beginning to wind down for the night.

The second visit we sat outside and had the joy of being entertained by a singing Portuguese Fado guitar player. On this occasion we had the Cataplana which was excellent! Service on the second night was slightly slower than the first night, but then it was considerably busier so they were doing the best they could.

On each occasion we were given a complimentary drinks at the end of the meal, almond liquor and "firewater" spirit drinks which were enjoyable (though the "firewater" enjoyed less so by my OH!)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank herefordhywel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferragudo
Level Contributor
63 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“O Barril Restaurant - Ferragudo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Best value for money in town. Good selection of well cooked fish, meat and local dishes, with good service.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very good food and exelent staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Really enjoyed the live portuguese music, very friendly environment and staff, the food was amazing aswell, really enjoyed my evening with the "O Barril". A must try if you pass by this lovely little town.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joyce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Value for money good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

The restaurant inside is a little shabby - it was a little chilly to be eating out when we were there, I'm sure in the summer its lovely outside. Firstly the 2 staff who served us were extremely friendly and helpful and explained to us what things came with etc, without having to be asked and recommended things to us. We had some bread to share to start and also the tuna pate then we had the piri piri chicken which was just lovely - the extra piri they brought to the table was lethal! At 8.50 it was great value for money. The kids menu was 5 euro and came with a drink. We didn't have dessert but were brought figs and almonds along with complimentary liquer after our coffee which was a nice touch, the entire bill was under 40 euro so great value.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erikareta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Barril Bar Restaurant also viewed

Ferragudo, Faro District
Ferragudo, Faro District
 
Ferragudo, Faro District
Ferragudo, Faro District
 
Ferragudo, Faro District
Ferragudo, Faro District
 

Been to O Barril Bar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing