We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Third time: finally Jackpot!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gosto

Gosto
Ranked #38 of 51 Restaurants in Ferragudo
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Close
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Third time: finally Jackpot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

I made a review on Sept. 30, 2011, about the two times I had dinner in this restaurant and though I appreciated the food it was too slow and this spoilt the pleasure of enjoying the dinner.
Last year, middle of September, I decided to give another try and in my mind this would be the last chance. If the delay was the same I would not return again. Wonderful surprise! The food very good as always and the delay was quite normal.
So, I will return again!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mariasilvestre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    11
    4
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fine dinner in Ferragudo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

If you're willing to escape traditional - yet very good - portuguese food, Gosto is the right alternative for a sophisticated meal.

We had tonight the fish cake and the tuna carpaccio as starters. Both were very subtile and tasty (i heard "the best fish cake I've ever had" during the meal - always a good sign !)

For the main, we both had the duck breast with honey, aniseed marinated in a Port wine sauce. The portions were big, well cooked and very tasty.

Besides the great food, service was very professional and friendly and the atmosphere is very cosy.

The wine list is important and carefully established.

A clear recommendation for the ones who want to enjoy a fine dinner with their loved one, with good friends or with family.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Luve_Luxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carvoeiro, Portugal
Level Contributor
83 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Tasting Menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Had dinner with friends & we all agreed to have the "Taster Menu". If you do go, you either all have to take this option, or all go a la carte. The Taster Menu is 5 courses, so it's impossible to coordinate delivery if some take this & others go a la carte!

Anyway, it was excellent again! Different food to our previous visit, but same artistic presentation, and top quality food that was all delicious. We'll go back here many times!

Staff were also extremely pleasant, professional & friendly.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banstead
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful food at amazing prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

I felt I had to write to share our experience of dining twice during our week long visit to the Algarve. This restaurant was listed in a Dining magazine in our hotel room which is not always an indication of greatness but the review in there very much underplayed how brilliant this place was.
The location is fantastic - we sat outside both times and had views of the sea as the sun went down and it is lovely and quiet. We had the 5 course menu which was 28.75 euros which I can safely say is one of the biggest bargains I have come across for the quality of the food and presentation.
Service was really friendly and knowledgeable.
I would heartily recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ConnieA66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blainville, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

We have been to ferrgudo two weeks in july and we have been twice time at gosto, the first time we took the 5 service menu degustation, it was excellent!! You have a triologie of salmon, so fresh, beef carpacio with mesclum and truffe oil and parmagiano served with a lovely pain brioche with foie gras seved with a reduction of Porto, hmmmmmm our best meal with the triologie!! After we had a nice fish filet followed with a nice ballottine with prosciutto. At the end, we had a nice desser. The decor of the restaurant, is awesome, the color of the wood and the white, it's very relaxing place. You have a nice view of the sea and a nice choice of wine. The chef/owner and his wife, who do a nice service, are very gently. If you are going with your children, downstair there is a huge space for them if you want to stay a bit longer for appreciate the place!:)
We reccomand this place a lot!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin197227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gosto also viewed

Ferragudo, Faro District
Ferragudo, Faro District
 
Ferragudo, Faro District
Ferragudo, Faro District
 

Been to Gosto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing