We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Casabela(Ferragudo)
$243
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villas Vitor's(Ferragudo)(Great Value!)
$113
Cancelon
View Deal
ONE2SEVEN(Ferragudo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Vila Gaivota(Ferragudo)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Dipti's(Ferragudo)
Booking.com
View Deal
Retiro da Canada(Ferragudo)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (533)
Filter reviews
533 results
Traveler rating
260
208
44
15
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
260
208
44
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsskyline barvitor's villagefishing villagesnack barmini marketminute walkpraia da rochataxi boatshop on siteself cateringferragudo squareclub naufim do mundoacross the riverlocal beachessteep hillriver view
Filter
Updating list...
254 - 259 of 533 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2010

We stayed at this hotel on the 5th September - 12th September 2010 as a couple, we booked this hotel after reading reviews on Tripadvisor as they were excellent and they were spot on!

Vitors Village was a excellent choice for accomdation and location.A 5/10 min walk in Ferragudo itself.The pools,grounds, rooms, restaurant and reception were spotless and very modern.

Rooms- Spacious rooms, all ammenities kettle, toaster, microwave, 2 electric cooker plates, coffee maker, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. maid service was excellent fresh towels everyday.

Supermarket- As other people have stated very bare shelfs in the shop, but they have all the neccessaties like water,bread,milk,cereal, sun cream etc.

Hotel Ammenities - 1 Adult Pool, 1 Family Pool, 1 Kids Pool and a Jacuzzi, never felt over crowded and could always get a sunbed.
For snacks around the pool you could eat at the snack bar which did a variety if food, pizzas 7 -8 euros, chips 2 euros, burgers, 5 euros and sandwiches 3-4 euros.
The Pools are open from 10am - 9pm and no lifeguard on duty.

We visited the Skyline bar a few times over our holiday in between 6 and 7pm they do a happy hour which is a % off the bill. I had a few cocktails and they were always around 4 euros a time but 6 euros at any other time, From the Skyline bar you get excellent sunset views of Ferragudo and the local area.

Vitors Village runs a courtesy bus to 3 of the local beaches and goes twice daily once about 10am and another one around 3pm and will pick you up later in the day. If you choose to walk it would take you around 20- 30 mins.
On the Praia De Grande beach we visited Kalu Beach bar excellent food and cocktails.

Purple Restaurant - We were on half board basis for the week , ate everyday for breakfast and had our evening meal here 5 nights and 2 nights down in the village.
breakfast consisted of Coffee,tea, cereal, fruit,bread,yoghurt, cheese,ham and a hot buffet of Bacon, scrambled eggs and beans. The later you went for breakfast the colder it would be, so i would recommend getting there early, it is served from 8am- 10am.

For the evening meal it was served in between 6pm and 10pm, a 3 course evening meal for starter soup or salad, main a meat dish or fish and for desert a choice of 4 or 5 deserts. The meals were very nice and they do a different theme every night.

For people who are self catering we knew where the 2 big supermarkets were but thought it would be a bit to far to walk but down in Ferragudo there was a butchers, fishmonger, and green grocers all within walking distance of each other so that could be a better option then going the supermarket.

Reception - We never went to the rep meeting with first choice, as reception would book any excursions to places you would like to visit and they were cheaper.
One morning we went to Fiesa Sand Sculptures which cost 16 euros each with transport highly recommend doing this.
Another day went to Slide and Splash waterpark which cost 26 euros each with transport. There was also a alot more excursions to go on and no problem with reception booking them for you.

Ferragudo itself was an excellent choice of resort for us, quaint, unspoilt fishing village. We walked around the whole of the village up back streets up to the top by the church with excellent views of Ferragudo.

In the heart of the Village the winding small cobbled alleyways and crooked steps lead to the central square which is surrounded by restaurants and a few bars giving a real impression of traditional portuguese culture.

A 10 minute walk from the village is the seventeenth century fort castelo de sao joao do arade which sits on the beach.

We visited a few bars and restaurants in Ferragudo there is around 10- 12 restaurants in total. One of which we visited twice for lunch Toc Toc on the main street, i tried the Piri Piri Chicken it was excellent, the second time we visited we both had the turkey kebabs again excellent and very reasonable prices, better value for money then in the UK.

Another restaurant we ate at was Farragood excellent food again we ate here twice for dinner one night i had the steak with mushroom sauce and my husband had steak Portuguese style, On our last night in ferragudo we dined here again, I had the Monkfish and prawn kebab with new potatoes highly recommend this, my hubby had lamd chops with mint sauce, both times we had excellent service and prices very reasonable.

A couple of the Bars we visited were JJs bar what do any cocktail for 3.50 euros and play up to date music and then another one L - Chaimine in the square which played football on the telly. Very good prices for Cocktails and the bar maid even booked us on a boat trip with a local man she knew for 15 Euros each.

Holiday Overall - Was a fantastic sun holiday, the hotel exceeded our expectations ,Ferragudo was a charming village and i highly recommend this hotel for couples, familys who are looking for a realxing holiday.

We shall be returning some time in the future........

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank thrahtobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

Not much else to say that hasn't been said already; lovely clean apartments, nice sedate area and Portugal is stunning. Stayed here before and still as good. A new restaurant to add though is "Fin du Mundo", excellent food and great hosts. Just down the hill past Farragood (also good restaurant!), then take side-street on right and you can't miss it.

Also, anyone looking for efficient & friendly airport transfers, I can highly recommend Algarve365; never have any problems at all, all english speaking drivers and excellent service.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank funkymonkeyno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

We stayed here last two weeks in August and had a lovely relaxing time.

Ferragudo is a small quiet fishing village the other side of the bay from Portamao and Pria de Rocha and has a small selection of bars and some excellent fish restaurants. Not ideal for those seeking a typical beach holiday as the beach is quite some distance, but if you're not really a beach person, or inclined to hire a car and travel, then its an ideal base, as its just a few km's from water parks, sand scultures, algarve shopping and of course Portamao.

Vitors Village is perched up on the hill overlooking the village (a short steepish walk away) and is a modern, well equipped, air conditioned complex of villagesque apartment buildings, with three pools (kiddies, family and adult) and a spa, along with plenty of sunbeds. The bar/snackbar is pretty good, but we found the restaurant slow and limited, so headed into the village to sample the local restaurants.

All in all a cracking stay and we cam back thoroughly refreshed, relaxed and tanned!

Thank you Vitors.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BillHDiss_Norfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

this was our first trip to portugal, and what an introduction. it was fantastic!!. firstly the accomodation was as good as i hoped it would be, clean tidy and well kept grounds. we had a south facing with river view appartment and a large balcony. we stayed on self catering basis and found this to be the best as it gave us the option to eat out (which we did most nights). ferragoudo is a small little village with a wonderful family atmosphere, i was concerened about being stuck with the "brits abroad" crowd, well there was no worry at this hotel or location!

Places to eat:
Farragood which is at the bottom of the hill. we loved this place and found the owners very accomodating as we had a son who is vegetarion. the owners offered to cook him anything he wanted. (he mainly lived on omelette and chips)

Toc Toc which is located further round the corner by the bridge. this place is frequented by many locals and can get busy, so get there before 8pm. they also do take aways there and this was always busy.

Piano Garden (Indian restaurant) you will need transport to get to this one but its up the hill past the beaches. we have to say this was one of the best indian food we have had and that is saying something as we come from Birmingham!

Purple vitors own restaurant. we ate here on our first night. we all had a different meal and was very pleased with it. my son was dissapointed with his vegetarian option, but no worry the head waiter went and made him a plate of chips at no extra charge! we were then offered a sherry type drink after our meal, which we drank sitting outside. we then went back on our last night and had the cataplata (fish stew in copper pot) this i have to say was our best meal of the whole holiday.

things to do: (we did these independantly and not with the holiday comp)
go to lagos and take the trips to the caves (£10 each) dolphin spotting (£35 adults)
we also went to cape st vincent this was a lovely day trip.
go carts, we went to one near faro which took us about 40 min cost was £75 for 6 goes.
we were then told about one in portimao which was a lot closer and was meant to be better and cheaper. unfortunately we didnt have to time to visit it.

i would recommend that you have a hire car and book this in england as its much dearer when you get there.

lastly i have to say we met many wonderful people there, my daughter made many friends and found clara's kids club entertaining. i would like to say hi to the families from Hull, Dudley, Essex and Holland.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jennybe68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

I recently went to Vitor's Village with my mother and two younger sisters,
We wanted a quiet, not all entertainment holiday, and that's exactly what we got,

The rooms were great, we were lucky and had a balcony over looking Ferragudo, we had our own open plan Kitchen/Dining Lounge Including a Television, 1 Bedroom with 2 single beds and a bathroom, The sofa would turn into a double bed so it was great for 4.

Maid service was daily, they were very good and friendly, after our day out we would come back and the place would always be spotless!

The rules were quite strict but made it a nice place to be, at night it was always silent and its great just for a walk around or a drink on the terrace that looks over the whole of Ferragudo,

We went half-board, we were expecting just a buffet but it was a different meal everyday and the waiter's were extremely friendly, we always had a good time in the evenings when we went for our meal.

One of my younger sister's became ill near the end of our holiday, and when we asked the reception for help they were not bothered and were quite unhelpful. The reception staff always had a negative attitude. Luckily we were able to get a doctor!

During the hours of 2-4pm It would get quite hot so my younger siblings were able to go to a club above the reception in an air conditioned room, they had games to play, sofas to relax on, computer to go on, play pool, it was great for keeping them out of the hot weather for a while!

Overall we had a fantastic time and would most defiantly return to Vitor's Village again!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bb321321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews