We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Casabela(Ferragudo)
$242
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
ONE2SEVEN(Ferragudo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Vila Gaivota(Ferragudo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villas Vitor's(Ferragudo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Dipti's(Ferragudo)
Booking.com
View Deal
Retiro da Canada(Ferragudo)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (533)
Filter reviews
533 results
Traveler rating
260
208
44
15
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
260
208
44
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsskyline barvitor's villagefishing villagesnack barmini marketminute walkpraia da rochataxi boatshop on siteself cateringferragudo squareclub naufim do mundoacross the riverlocal beachessteep hillriver view
Filter
Updating list...
256 - 261 of 533 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2010

We stayed here last two weeks in August and had a lovely relaxing time.

Ferragudo is a small quiet fishing village the other side of the bay from Portamao and Pria de Rocha and has a small selection of bars and some excellent fish restaurants. Not ideal for those seeking a typical beach holiday as the beach is quite some distance, but if you're not really a beach person, or inclined to hire a car and travel, then its an ideal base, as its just a few km's from water parks, sand scultures, algarve shopping and of course Portamao.

Vitors Village is perched up on the hill overlooking the village (a short steepish walk away) and is a modern, well equipped, air conditioned complex of villagesque apartment buildings, with three pools (kiddies, family and adult) and a spa, along with plenty of sunbeds. The bar/snackbar is pretty good, but we found the restaurant slow and limited, so headed into the village to sample the local restaurants.

All in all a cracking stay and we cam back thoroughly refreshed, relaxed and tanned!

Thank you Vitors.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BillHDiss_Norfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

this was our first trip to portugal, and what an introduction. it was fantastic!!. firstly the accomodation was as good as i hoped it would be, clean tidy and well kept grounds. we had a south facing with river view appartment and a large balcony. we stayed on self catering basis and found this to be the best as it gave us the option to eat out (which we did most nights). ferragoudo is a small little village with a wonderful family atmosphere, i was concerened about being stuck with the "brits abroad" crowd, well there was no worry at this hotel or location!

Places to eat:
Farragood which is at the bottom of the hill. we loved this place and found the owners very accomodating as we had a son who is vegetarion. the owners offered to cook him anything he wanted. (he mainly lived on omelette and chips)

Toc Toc which is located further round the corner by the bridge. this place is frequented by many locals and can get busy, so get there before 8pm. they also do take aways there and this was always busy.

Piano Garden (Indian restaurant) you will need transport to get to this one but its up the hill past the beaches. we have to say this was one of the best indian food we have had and that is saying something as we come from Birmingham!

Purple vitors own restaurant. we ate here on our first night. we all had a different meal and was very pleased with it. my son was dissapointed with his vegetarian option, but no worry the head waiter went and made him a plate of chips at no extra charge! we were then offered a sherry type drink after our meal, which we drank sitting outside. we then went back on our last night and had the cataplata (fish stew in copper pot) this i have to say was our best meal of the whole holiday.

things to do: (we did these independantly and not with the holiday comp)
go to lagos and take the trips to the caves (£10 each) dolphin spotting (£35 adults)
we also went to cape st vincent this was a lovely day trip.
go carts, we went to one near faro which took us about 40 min cost was £75 for 6 goes.
we were then told about one in portimao which was a lot closer and was meant to be better and cheaper. unfortunately we didnt have to time to visit it.

i would recommend that you have a hire car and book this in england as its much dearer when you get there.

lastly i have to say we met many wonderful people there, my daughter made many friends and found clara's kids club entertaining. i would like to say hi to the families from Hull, Dudley, Essex and Holland.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jennybe68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

I recently went to Vitor's Village with my mother and two younger sisters,
We wanted a quiet, not all entertainment holiday, and that's exactly what we got,

The rooms were great, we were lucky and had a balcony over looking Ferragudo, we had our own open plan Kitchen/Dining Lounge Including a Television, 1 Bedroom with 2 single beds and a bathroom, The sofa would turn into a double bed so it was great for 4.

Maid service was daily, they were very good and friendly, after our day out we would come back and the place would always be spotless!

The rules were quite strict but made it a nice place to be, at night it was always silent and its great just for a walk around or a drink on the terrace that looks over the whole of Ferragudo,

We went half-board, we were expecting just a buffet but it was a different meal everyday and the waiter's were extremely friendly, we always had a good time in the evenings when we went for our meal.

One of my younger sister's became ill near the end of our holiday, and when we asked the reception for help they were not bothered and were quite unhelpful. The reception staff always had a negative attitude. Luckily we were able to get a doctor!

During the hours of 2-4pm It would get quite hot so my younger siblings were able to go to a club above the reception in an air conditioned room, they had games to play, sofas to relax on, computer to go on, play pool, it was great for keeping them out of the hot weather for a while!

Overall we had a fantastic time and would most defiantly return to Vitor's Village again!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bb321321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Have just returned from two weeks at Vitor's Village where we stayed on a half-board basis. The accommodation (1 bed apartment) was wonderful - spacious, beautifully furnished and kept spotlessly clean by the daily maid service. Similarly, the swimming pools and communal areas were maintained to an extremely high standard. The location was fabulous with stunning views over the river estuary towards Praia da Roche but within five minutes walk of the picturesque village of Ferragudo. We hadn't expected a kids' club but there was some entertainment provided (probably suiting 3 to 12 year olds best) by Clara, who was superb and really kept our daughter amused in the afternoons and early evening. Previous reviews have rightly pointed out that the on-site shop at Vitor's is poorly stocked and expensive - the E Leclerk supermarket is by far the best bet but is a bit of a trek by foot. HOWEVER, it would be unfair not to warn you about the restaurant. Whilst breakfast was adequate and offered a reasonable choice and variety (although they weren't good at replenishing the hot buffet) the evening meals were, at times, pretty AWFUL, and certainly not 4 star standard. Half-board customers were offered the choice of two starters and main dishes only. The starters were 'soup-of-the-day' or 'mixed salad' every day. Whilst the name of the soup changed daily, there were actually only two varieties served up throughout our entire stay. The main dishes were very 'hit and miss', sometimes arriving cold, undercooked, and often after a prolonged wait between courses. The quality of the dishes was, at best, variable. Whilst I once had an excellent tuna steak, on another night I was served (previously frozen) over-cooked, cold squid rings in batter, with cold rice. Not impressive - and sadly, the bad dishes outnumbered the good ones. We (and a good number of our fellow guests) complained to the waiters who simply blamed it on the chef - not overly helpful. However, despite our disappointment with the food, our holiday was enjoyable due to the accommodation and location. Ferragudo itself is a charming fishing village with a lively square (live music on a regular basis) and a good number of restaurants and bars. (We'd recommend the Tres Macacos just off the square.) We had hired a car for the holiday and found Ferragudo a great base for exploring the Algarve. I'd highly recommend Vitor's Village as a place to stay but for goodness sake, book B&B or SC only - don't risk half-board.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gecko67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Vitor's Village is a lovely, clean, friendly hotel. The rooms are spotless and spacious. Maid service daily. Not much evening entertainment so would not recommond groups of young people going. Everything about it is good. Would bo back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ESM4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews