We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (545)
Filter reviews
545 results
Traveler rating
267
212
45
15
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
267
212
45
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsskyline barvitor's villagefishing villagemini marketsnack barminute walkpraia da rochataxi boatshop on siteself cateringferragudo squareclub naufim do mundoacross the riversteep hillriver viewplenty of sunbeds
Filter
Updating list...
274 - 279 of 545 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2010

The hotel is situated in the quiet fishing village of Ferragudo about 40mins from Faro airport (though the coach took at least 1hr 20mins with all the drop offs at other hotels on route!) We were really impressed with the hotel/apartments on arrival. We opted for a 1 bedroom apartment on a self catering basis as we have a 1 yr old and wanted the sitting area to relax in of an evening so that we didn't have to keep quiet. The apartment was very clean and modern, and the receptionist was quick and efficient in booking us in and showing us to our room. The complex is small with 5 different blocks with all the rooms, a restaurant "Purple" which does amazing Cataplana (a local fish stew with potatoes), the Skyline bar which has fantastic views over Ferragudo and Portimao, a snack bar, a mini market and 3 pools (the main one, a baby pool, an adult only pool with a separate jacuzzi)
The beach is a good 20 min walk away (uphill all the way) but it is worth the walk or only 4 euros in a taxi if you don't fancy the walk! The hotel also runs a free bus to the beach 3 times a day (10am ish, 2ish and 5ish) but it doesn't run on sundays or public hols!
There are 2 local supermarkets a lidl and an eleclere about 15 mins walk (flat this time) the better selection is at the eleclere!
We tried a few local restaurants, Toc Toc, Farragood and Porterade all were great. Toc Toc does fab kebabs.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SARAH-PORTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2010

Just back from Vitor's Village at Ferragudo ( although the amount of folk who said ''Where is that?'') don't know what they are missing. This resort village is only 2 years old, and has a nice peaceful quality to it. No music, nothing for children, no play area, a good 20 min walk to the beach area. If you are looking for a nice peaceful holiday, expecially with babies or little children , then this may be the place for you. Staff are great, nothing is too much bother.
On the day we arrived, the girl on Reception, takes everyone direct to their apartment, and shows how everything works. Towels and bed linen are of the highest quality and embroidered with the hotel logo. Rooms are spacious, and very well furnished. Kitchen has a 2 ring cooker, microwave, kettle, toaster, and filter coffee machine. Quality table ware, glasses and cutlery for 6.
We went half board, but here is the downside ( always has to be one).
At Vitor's Village, you eat in 'Purple Restaurant' which is open to the public, has about 12 tables. It is not buffet style, and half Board customers have a different menu, although you can ask to see the A La Carte, and pay the difference.
Each night, there is a choice of soup or salad, fish or meat, and then perhaps a choice of 3 or 4 desserts. The food is freshly cooked to order, so dinner can take a while, and the waiters are very helpful and explain what everything is. However, if fish or meat is not to your liking, there is no vegetarian choice.
Most of the restaurants in the area, mostly serve fish too
Breakfast choice is orange juice, yogurt, fruit, bread rolls, and white bread for the toaster. There is a little hot plate, with eggs, bacon, beans or sausages, but usually 3 out of 4 items are available.
There are 2 supermarkets within a 15 minute walk, Eleclerc and Lidl, where food items are much cheaper than the little mini market on site.
There is a little bar on the first floor with lovely views acros the bay, but there was no music or entertainment when we were there. We walked to Portimao(about 25 mins ) and then to Praia De Rocha ( a further 40 mins) although you could get the local bus.
This holiday may not be to everyone's liking, but the surrounding area is very unspoiled and picturesque.
Ferragudo itself is like stepping back in time, a baker, butcher, newsagent, and 5 or 6 other little shops, but not much to spend your money on. There is also a little village square, with a few cafes, bars and restaurants.The streets are very narrow, and steep, and not ideal with buggies or those with walking difficulties.
I would advise you to go now, before this hidden gem goes public.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holidaygirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2010

Vitors village is a great place to avoid the usual hustle and bustle of resorts in the Algarve. Ferragudo is a quiet place. Vitors village is even quieter. Everyone seems to go to sleep at about 10pm. Sit on your balcony and drink your wine. Perfect!!
The grounds are spotlessly clean. The gardens are tendered everyday. The Pool area is just right. Plenty of sunbeds and safe pools for the kids.
The apartments are well equiped, but the beds are a bit hard. Aircon works great.
Wifi available. I paid 3 euros for an hour.
Nice touch is a library where people have left books they have finished reading. I left one and took one.
onsite restaurant is fine, but use the Farragood at the bottom of the hill, it is superb.
The mini market is very expensive. take a 15 min walk to E.Leclecrc or Lidl for cheap groceries. They are next to each other.
Free bus service to the beaches is great. If you want to go to Porto Mao, use a Taxi. It only costs about 4 euros each way. cheaper than the bus if there's two or more of you. Note. taxis can take a while to arrive, so book with reception in good time.
Explore the back streets of Ferragudo, you'll be amazed at what you see.
By the way. there is no local market in ferragudo, not in the sense we know it. Everyone directs you to the local covinience store when you ask for the market!

Overall you will not be dissapointed with vitors Village and Ferragudo. Unless you were expecting a boozy Brits, disco all night long holiday.
Peace and quiet is the order of the day. I loved the place. I usually never holiday in the same place twice, but I would go back to Vitors village and Ferragudo.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davidgeorge123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2010

Ok, so this place is pretty new and offers more modern/ high quality apartment accommodation than most places on the Algarve.
Its also on the quiet/ lower rise side of the river, facing the bigger Praia da Rocha/ Portimao.
Farragudo also has the feel of a place in transition, in a good way, as it still retains more of a fishing village - still operating as one- whilst new, more 'controlled' development which is low rise is happenign around it. So thats good news if, as we were, looking for a slightly more authentic town to stay than the strips of hotels found in other centres along the ALgarve.

My only complaint is that we went just prior to Easter, and it was evident that the occupancy rate in the hotel was pretty low, but we got put in a north facing apartment which never ever got any sun. with evenings being chilly in March the apartment was cold and only warmed up with having the air conditioning on heat setting all evening.

What a shame when 90% of all the other apartments were empty and had loads of sun on the balconies.

We didnt change as we were only there 2 days but if you were there longer i'd make sure upon check in you ask for any apartment other than those that never get the sun!

Apart from that, so long as you know its not a packed traditional tourist resort that has loads of bars, then it will be fine.

The whole complex around the pool area felt very nice.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thecoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

Just returned from a great week at Vitor's Village. The hotel reception were very helpful and friendly. They had all our paperwork ready so check-in was fast. We drove from reception to our apartment, and were able to park very close to unload our luggage. The apartment was spotless. The only negative of the whole stay was that we had no hot water when we arrived. We found out the day later that you need to run the hot tap for sometimes upwards of 10 mins. It would then come through very hot. This really needs to be addressed, but was a minor annoyance and doesn't prevent me from giving a V Good rating to this hotel. We paid for B&B. Breakfast was comparable with most other Portuguese hotels we've stayed in - bread, cheese, hams, cereals etc. There was a limited hot buffet - scrambled eggs, bacon and beans with sausages in - my vegetarian wife could not therefore have the beans!
Pool area lovely and safe - we travelled with a 16month old. Great children's pool; the main pool has a gentle slope in which was also good for children to splash about in.
Shop - quite expensive and sparse. There is a Leclerc and Lidl close by. The Leclerc was much better.
Ferragudo - lovely Fishing village. Ate in Toc Toc - great Fish dishes. Also ate in one of the Fish restaurants along by the harbour. Best Sea Bream (dourada) I have tasted.
Portimao - a short drive across the bridge. There is a great fish restaurant underneath the far end of the bridge. Best sardines I've ever had in Portugal!
Car - I would recommend a car, especially if you have children. We did a few day trips to the surrounding beaches and towns, and even up into the mountains. I'm sure a car isn't essential if you are happy staying around the hotel pool. Ferragudo is only a 10 min walk.
Best thing about hotel - Very friendly staff, especially at Breakfast
Worst thing - Time taken for hot water to come through!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JGFBWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews