We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (545)
Filter reviews
546 results
Traveler rating
267
213
45
15
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
267
213
45
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsskyline barvitor's villagefishing villagemini marketsnack barminute walkpraia da rochataxi boatshop on siteself cateringferragudo squareclub naufim do mundoacross the riversteep hillriver viewplenty of sunbeds
Filter
Updating list...
279 - 284 of 546 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2009

Just returned from a great week at Vitor's Village. The hotel reception were very helpful and friendly. They had all our paperwork ready so check-in was fast. We drove from reception to our apartment, and were able to park very close to unload our luggage. The apartment was spotless. The only negative of the whole stay was that we had no hot water when we arrived. We found out the day later that you need to run the hot tap for sometimes upwards of 10 mins. It would then come through very hot. This really needs to be addressed, but was a minor annoyance and doesn't prevent me from giving a V Good rating to this hotel. We paid for B&B. Breakfast was comparable with most other Portuguese hotels we've stayed in - bread, cheese, hams, cereals etc. There was a limited hot buffet - scrambled eggs, bacon and beans with sausages in - my vegetarian wife could not therefore have the beans!
Pool area lovely and safe - we travelled with a 16month old. Great children's pool; the main pool has a gentle slope in which was also good for children to splash about in.
Shop - quite expensive and sparse. There is a Leclerc and Lidl close by. The Leclerc was much better.
Ferragudo - lovely Fishing village. Ate in Toc Toc - great Fish dishes. Also ate in one of the Fish restaurants along by the harbour. Best Sea Bream (dourada) I have tasted.
Portimao - a short drive across the bridge. There is a great fish restaurant underneath the far end of the bridge. Best sardines I've ever had in Portugal!
Car - I would recommend a car, especially if you have children. We did a few day trips to the surrounding beaches and towns, and even up into the mountains. I'm sure a car isn't essential if you are happy staying around the hotel pool. Ferragudo is only a 10 min walk.
Best thing about hotel - Very friendly staff, especially at Breakfast
Worst thing - Time taken for hot water to come through!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JGFBWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2009

We have just returned home via First Choice holidays to Vitor apartments and were extremely impressed.
The accomodation was very clean and modern and as we were late in the season, things were pretty quiet (which is what we wanted). Although we had people both sides of us were hardly ever heard them
The reception were pretty good, although we felt they could have had their own agenda with some of the 'advice' they gave, so we made sure we asked around about taxis, buses, etc.
The pool and surround was always clean as was the whole complex.
There is a small supermarket which had very little in it, especially so near end season (they are closing down end Oct), however there were bigger supermarkets within 15 minute walk, which was very pleasant, unless you had loads to get, we only ate a little at lunch and went out for dinner every night, so didn't need much.
Ferrogudo was a lovely little village, but beware, there are some steep areas which were sometimes awkward for me as I have cancer and get puffed easily.
Porttimoa was also lovely, we also walked there, which took about 40 mins, had lots of shops and we also enjoyed a river trip to Silve from here.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rev58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2009

A superb experience!
Vitors Village is new and has a few minor teething issues to iron out, but generally it is a well equipped resort with an upmarket feel- but not an upmarket price.
Even the things I would criticize are only constructive suggestions, such as the Purple Restaurant- great food, great service, great value- BUT, very harshly lit- a dimmer switch and some candles would round this lovely restaurant off a treat!
Simiarly with the Skyline Bar- superb location and happy hour is very good value, great ambience, etc- except that the music repeats a lot- every hour, every day...!!
Pools, nice but could do with being heated, although we were there in September, so becoming cooler.. Mini market is good, but a bit sparse, looks like its about to close down..!!
Ferragudo is a small fishing town, with no frills but this adds to the authentic Portugeuse experience, so this isn't a problem.. you don't have much choice for where to eat, but sometime too much choice isn't necessarily a good thing.. Would particularly recommend Restaurant O'Barril, behind the mains quare, very hidden, look out for a chalk board towards to the far right of the square.. Superb Pork with Clams, Cataplana, Algarve Gazpacho, etc..
Would also recommend the Italian Pizza place down the street to the harbour, can't remember the name sorry.. The fish restaurants on the front are also good, if you like fish!
Hope this review helps- you won't find oodles to do at Vitors and Ferragudo, but then again- you're on holiday, so chill out!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michaeljp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2009

Just returned from 1 week holiday at Vitors Village. We booked a 2 bed villa there. Accomodation was great - very spacious, own pool, dvd player, air conditioning, fully fitted kitchen with dishwasher microwave. The resort also has a lovely kids pool.

We had our 2 and 3 year old with us so the place suited us fine. Very quiet.
Went to the restuaurants recommended on Trip advisor. Porterade , Ferragudos (delicious kebabs) Toc Toc & Delice. Lovely little playground for kids in little village. (if you have a buggy , go out the main entrance to go the village as the back exit is very steep).

Only ate in purple once for breakfast and a bit pricey for what you get as is pool bar.
Staff not very friendly on reception as we were advised the they so not look after the Villas - they only facilitate check-in! We were not aware of this when booking our accomadation. The only other co is that the place is a bit isolated (we did not have a car) and it is very difficult to get a taxi - reception will call you one but it comes when there is one in the area. We got coutesy bus to the beach and we wanted to leave early (bus came back at 3) and had to wait ages for a taxi. Also did a shop in Lidl and ended up waiting 1.5 hours for a taxi.

Overall we enjoyed our stay, but would probably suit better if you had a car.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bebecailin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2009

The hotel was beautiful, very clean, pleasent, relaxing etc... Weather was beautiful everyday (14 night stay), thourghly enjoyed my stay. I'd say its great for a quite, get-away, 'escape from reality' type holiday. Not many children atall which didnt suprise me as there was no entertainment for them (kids club etc...) great for couples, friends, older generation and anybody wanting to relax.
Staff all very friendly etc... Very modern layout and facilities, four-poster beds to sunbath on etc... internet access, restraunt, bar, reception, shop, 3pools and a jacuzzi.

We had a car so saw abit of Portugal itself, without this there isn't much close. The tiny town of Ferragudo which only has a couple or bars/restraunts and two supermarkets are the only things close by (walking distance).

Would definatly recomend if anyones looking for a complete relaxation break.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simone2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews