We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vitor's Village Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ferragudo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

After seeing the resort for the first time me and my friends definately agreed we had picked the right place. The setting is beautiful and from our balcony we had a great view put over the town of Ferragudo, the river Arade and the city of Portimao.
The staff were friendly and helpful with one exception, Fatima on reception greeted us coldly and did not make us feel very welcome, which put us off from going to reception if we needed anything for most of our trip and is the only reason I have given 4 out of 5.
The resort is located a 5 minute walk from the town of Ferragudo, a nice fishing town where there are plenty of resturaunts and cafes to enjoy a nice meal and a few drinks. The city of Portimao is just a short taxi ride away where there is plenty to see and do.
Whilst visiting I definately recommend going to lagos, which roughly cost €28 in a taxi, it is a great city and the coast is breathtaking, I would also highly recommend a trip to see the dolphins as this was one of the best things I have ever experienced.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
6  Thank Gemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (472)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 472 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2014

This is a self catering complex so ignore the moaning about no tea and coffee in the room!
You get a clean and well equipped room and very nice bathroom. All rooms have outside area with table and chairs and dryer.
They all have free wifi too.
The restaurant was lovely although we only ate there once. The snack bar was ok.
Shop was adequate with beautiful fresh baked bread and croissants every morning.
There is a Lidl near by if you want to get some shopping in or use the local bakery, grocer, butcher and fish market in the village which is a few minutes walk down the hill.
The staff were all lovely and very helpfull and are available 24hrs. There is a lovely terrace bar with spectacular views. The gardens are very well maintained, there is even a herb harden for you to help yourself to. There is also a small childrens play area.
The pools are beautiful and well kept. There is an adult only one with jacuzzi next to it and then the main one with childrens pool next to it.
Plenty of beds and parasols.
There is a games room for the teenagers etc
There is a courtesy minibus to the village and the three local beaches.
Overall this is a beautiful complex, very clean and well maintained. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. They all speak excellent English.
Would definitely go again! You can see the main square of Ferragudo from the complex and right over to Portamaio. It is not out in the sticks as some others have said. This is not a tacky magaluf resort, this is a beautiful low key fishing village with some lovely places to eat and relax. Hire a car or use the bus system if you want to get further afield.

Room Tip: all rooms are good but you pay a premium for the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Maia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

My girlfriend and I really enjoyed our stay at Vitor's. Very clean, quiet and well maintained. Our apartment was well equipped and the on-site store was convenient. Only negatives was that our double bed was two singles put together. Staff were exceptionally polite and helpful. Would definitely recommend for a quiet getaway or for families. Ferragudo is a small/quite village so may not be an ideal destination if looking for a lively holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kenners82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We've just returned from a week at Vitor's and loved it, it's absolutely one of the loveliest places we've been to!
I tend not to like apartments but Vitor's was the right mix of private and social with apartments grouped in threes and fours around the circular complex, so there was no 'block of flats' feel and the balconies were private, not looking onto others. The apartment itself was fresh, modern and well equipped. The kitchen/dining/living area was spacious and the kitchen had everything we needed- hob, fridge/freezer, microwave; all cutlery, crockery, glasses etc- not that we needed to use much of it as the food in Ferragudo was amazing! (See further down the review)

We arrived quite late at night to check in and were greeted by extremely helpful Antonio, who took the time to explain everything thoroughly and make us feel comfortable. The staff overall were excellent; always attentive and helpful, and all spoke brilliant English.

The entire complex was extremely well managed with all areas and rooms kept thoroughly clean and tidy. The pool area was immaculate and washed down everyday and it was great to have the choice of seats, sofas, rattan loungers and sun loungers around the bar/pool. These small stylish touches made a difference to the feel of the place, it felt more luxury than the price- which is always a winner!

We had breakfast included which was great- hot and cold continental options: fresh bread rolls, croissants, meats/cheese, cooked breakfasts, cereals fresh fruit etc). There is the option ot eat outside overlooking the pool and the river which was great. The restaurant also did good food in the evening, with a changing set menu every day for about 15e for 3 courses.
We didn't eat from the pool snack bar but there was the usual pizzas, sandwiches, burgers which I'm sure were fine.
The cocktail bar was fantastic, drinks were nice and strong and the sky bar has an incredible view of the river and Portimao town!

Ferragudo as a place is small but has plenty to offer if you're after a relaxing break- every place we ate was absolutely amazing (Ferragudo has some of the best reviewed restaurants in Portugal!) Fresh fish everyday was a treat! The little restaurants in the main square with outdoor dining are a must try- don't be put off by the busy street feel, a place called Italia was so great we went twice.
There are some lovely almost private beaches on the river bank which are again well kept- though the water is cold!
Only 5mins drive across the river is Portimao with lots to see and do- including a good shopping centre (Aqua), more bars and restaurants and Praia de Rocha which is a gorgeous area and fantastic beach looking out onto the sea next to the river.

Activities such as boat trips are a must, we both sailed and kyaked to explore caves, cobes and secret beaches along the coast down from Ferragudo towards Carvoeiro- so there was plenty to do for us travelling as a young couple.

Overall this was an amazing trip, and Vitor's Village really was a wonderful place to stay- go and see for yourself! We will certainly be going back!

Room Tip: If you want a more private balcony avoid ground floor as they mostly open out into the gardens. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Bhavisha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Lovely resort we went as family with one eight year old in May , quite quiet but you expect that in the early season, alway managed to get a lounger by the pool.
Pools were lovely , room service was every day , only down side was the beds being very uncomfortable.
The bar above the pool had amazing views and we found all the staff chatty and helpful.
Would visit again

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank redbecciann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Thats the cleanest hotel i ever stayed! We stopped in vitors village for 2 nights, wished we could have stayed longer :-) lovely village if you walk down the hill a bit. Very quiet, mostly families and older people. Staff members speaking very good english and very helpful. Cant say anything about bar and restaurant because never visited.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Merle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Lovely large spacious apartment on the first floor with large balcony, the cleanliness was to a high standard on arrival & also the daily room service was spot on. Kitchen facilities are limited.

Pool - Great pool's, plenty of sun loungers. The pool bar is poor, food not at all good...they state they serve fresh pizza's but these are just frozen pizza's quickly warmed up! My daughter had a hamburger which had to be returned twice due to being undercooked. We did not use the evening bar due to having young children.

Do not believe the reviews that say its miles from anywhere, we walked down into the square which took us 5mins, the beach is a 30min walk away. You must visit the square, great atmosphere, charm & a choice of restaurants. A Gaitor is a delicious place to stop for a lazy afternoon lunch.

Playa Grande is the beach we frequented the most, the Anchor's rest is a old fashioned style beach bar that serves lovely fresh fish at good prices. We hired a car & visited several places, playa Bengali is an absolute must...but be warned there are several steps down to the beach, but well worth it! Also if you have children then Zoo marine is an amazing day out, well worth the money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rovers_chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferragudo
0.7 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#7 of 75 in Portimao
2,264 reviews
1.1 mi away
Agua Hotels Riverside
1.0 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel Algarve Casino
Hotel Algarve Casino
#16 of 75 in Portimao
921 reviews
2.6 mi away
Vitor's Plaza
Vitor's Plaza
#2 of 69 in Portimao
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vitor's Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vitor's Village Resort

Address: Sitio da Passagem | Apartado 88, Ferragudo 8400-230, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Ferragudo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ferragudo
Price Range: $37 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vitor's Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vitor's Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vitor`s Village Hotel Ferragudo
Vitors Village Hotel
Vitors Village Ferragudo
Vitor's Village Resort Ferragudo, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing