We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very relaxing break,IN THE SUNSHINE!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vitor's Village Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ferragudo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2008

We stayed here in july,just as the children broke up,booked quite late and had a pretty good deal we felt.We usually do the 4 star all inc option and have been to florida the last two years,so this time we wanted a chill out! with our two boys,age 9 and 14.we were a bit concerned they may not be enough for them to do,but they soon made friends and had a wonderfull time,and we did have a very relaxing holiday in the wonderfull sunshine,something us brits hav'nt had this summer,anyway about vittors village,we loved it and we are quite fussy and don't do less than a 4* we hired a car and it didnt take us long to find it,did get map off internet first,we arrived lunch time and were met by a very friendly receptionist,very helpfull and she escorted us to our appartment and explained about the village etc.Fab appartment,we thought we must be the first to use this one as nothing had been used before,cooker,fridge etc,we didnt have a pool view but a side view,very quiet away from building work,to be honest,that did'nt really bother us.
The village of ferragudu itself was quite tatty but quaint very unspoilt as yet,we actually liked it, especially an early evening drink in the square ,watching the world go by,sat in the sun ! we did enjoy the simplicity of this holiday and having the freedom to do what we wanted,when we wanted. The sunbed hogging was very aparent which is so annoying,but luckily my two sons were out early in the pool,but there ar'nt enough beds for when the village fills up,but we were in the main hols,on the whole we really enjoyed our time here and would return,but i would recomend a car,the surrounding area is lovely,especially caviairo,

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank saundersfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (489)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 489 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2008

My husband and I stayed here late August/early September with Cosmos holidays. Like other peoples reviews before me - as this was a new development with nothing on the Cosmos website/brochure and we had never before been to the Algarve we were a little apprehensive as to what we would find.

We arrived at the accommodation in the dark and very tired (the transfer having being delayed well over an hour waiting for people who it transpired had taken off under their own steam). As the coach drove up to the resort we passed the new buildings in the process of being built across the road but ignoring that Vitor's itself looked very nice. Low rise development built on an incline - two storey buildings, painted in complementary colours.

We were quickly checked in and shown to our room by the receptionist. We were very pleasantly surprised. The room was surprisingly spacious - perfect for the two of us or a small family - open plan with kitchen (fridge, 2 ring hob, microwave/grill combi) dining/seating area (sofa bed and sitting chair), separate bedroom and small bathroom, good sized balcony with table and chairs and a clothes airer (for info - the balcony railings are substantial, the top being well above my waist - i am 5' 7"). the room and indeed the whole complex was immaculate with well maintained gardens.

In our experience we found all staff we encountered to be pleasant and friendly.

The age old problem of towels on the sunbeds is rife but we went to the pools at various times of the day and never had a problem getting beds. We had a variety around both pools and concluded that as long as you didn't mind where you were sat the towel issue isn't a major problem - or wasn't during our stay.

We ate in Purple, the food was well prepared and tasty, the decor was a little clinical for me. We had food from the pool side snack bar - again well prepared and fresh though not very adventurous - pizza, sandwiches, fries, hot dogs, salads. they also do take away.

For a small shop they stocked a lot of the basics - you pay more for the goods than in the supermarkets but it is a convenience store and as elsewhere you pay more for convenience. If you want to do a big shop both Lidl and E'Leclerc are about a 20 minute walk away (Lidl is cheaper, E'Leclerc larger with a greater variety of goods).

The downsides - I would say the bathroom is on the small side and a little dark. The bed mattress was way too hard for us - solid rather than firm. The water in the pools is freezing. The walls between apartments are a little thin - we frequently heard our neighbours high heels loud on the tiles (just requires consideration).

One other thing to note - whilst we know the building work was going on it wasn't noticable from the pool area or indeed the majority of rooms. I imagine once the work is completed it will only enhance the area - they seem to be keeping all building work in character with the area - so none of the high rise concrete we saw in other places, though it was evident that they have quite a lot of building/development planned for the area - a new marina for example with accommodation and retail.

The hotel runs shuttle buses to 3 beaches - only one is walkable from Vitors. this is the main village beach Praia Grande - as the name suggests this is large and its easily possible to have private space if you don't require a sunbed. The other 2 are small and very busy with locals and tourists alike.

As for Ferragudo itself - again pleasantly surprised. Its no more than a 10 minute stroll from Vitors. From reviews we expected it to be grubby but actually found it to be remarkably clean for a working fishing village. the only part we saw that could do with attention was around the canal inlet. It has character, a rustic charm and all the locals were friendly towards us. There is only a small handful of shops and restaurants, frequented by locals as much as tourists. We ate in Portarade (tasty - things on the bill we didn't have - quickly rectified with apologies), O'Barrills (delicious), Toc Toc (huge portions) and an Italian that sorry I don't remember the name of. All the meals were fresh, well sized, well cooked and tasty.

If you like a relaxing quiet holiday in a small village location and don't mind a walk to and from the village centre - this is for you. If you are looking for somewhere busy with numerous shops, bars and restaurants on the doorstep I wouldn't advise it.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itcheefeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2008

firstly upon my arrival i wondered where i had come, on the drive from the airport i kept thinking to myself where have i come, i have heard alot of good comments about portugal but i dont have a good one.

as we arrived at farragudo our resort it was like going back in the 1940, our hotel was the only hotel in the village. the bus had to stop half way up the hill to our hotel as it was situated at the top of a steep hill, in the brochure it didnt mention anything about all the hilly landscpe.

the pool had a lot of missing tiles and many people were cutting there feet, the receptionists were informed many of times about the problem but nothing seemed to be done, this was very dangerous.there also isnt many sunloungers for the amount of guests. also do not go in the jacuzzi as myself and two children got an irritating rash.

but on the other hand the apartments were fabulous, really modern.

the onsite entertainment was not very good it was hit one miss one and it wasnt very good when it was on.

the maids turned up at 6.30pm on several occasions.

going out into the villge on a night is not recomended unless you are a keen fish eater, and the locals ae very rude. and the streets are not suitable for heels, the local supermarket it is twenty minute walk away, and the price of taxis vary from hour to hour.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank BarnsleymarkBarnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2008

WHERE DO I START???
Booked online with Cosmos holidays (now Monarch holidays) and was constantly looking for reviews. Having been a travel agent myself, I knew that reading comments from others were so very important but as this was such a new property, having only opened in May 08, there was very little to go on. Having been many times abroad with Cosmos, WHAT COULD GO WRONG? The artist impressions were good and the property was advertised in Portimao actually and not Ferragudo and as we had been to Portimao previously, some 5 years before, we sort of knew the area. Oh no, the property is not in Portimao but Ferragudo and what a dump. Whilst I appreciate that it is a typical Portugese fishing village, I see abolutely no excuse for dog poop to be absolutely everywhere around the village and there is no excuses for not picking it up as there are dog poop bins scattered around. (see pics). The town (used loosly) is also full of rubbish and grumpy Portugese people who hate the brits. (it has changed a lot in the last 5 years and I personally feel that the Madeleine business has changed their opinions of the brits). So that is the town with a handful of places to eat. The only one which we found fantastic was Restaurant Farragood owned by a fantastic family, Gilberto, Wilma and Ricardo Rosa. Lovely family and fantastic food and excellent value, the other ones were pretty poor.
Avoid Praia Grande, OH MY GOD. I have never been on a beach with not only dog poop but HUMAN poop too!!! (yes human poop). Full of rubbish, seaweed and locals. We hired a car and found some beautiful beaches within half an hour. email if you want information. (julieayres@aol.com).

So back to Vitors Village. The artist impression show the rooms as a lot larger. They are modern and adequate and clean but there is only a 2 ring hob so you cannot cook as such and the sofa beds are reasonably comfortable. The maids turn up at anytime during the day or evening. We had a range of times and always seemed to be in the room which was a pain if you were having breakfast or showering in the evening. They came at 9am one day and 7pm the next so quite difficult and they will not come back. You end up having to sign a slip to say that you have forfeited having clean towels or your room made up. You are completely surrounded by a building site with constant noise and cranes etc but there is Sunday when they have a day off so nice and peaceful. The pic attached shows the view from outside the reception.

The main pool is a death trap. My little child cut her foot three times on the bottom which has not only lost tiles but went down passed the concrete to the original rubble (see pics) ( a camera never lies). On reporting this to the COSMOS rep DONNA and the Manageress, we were informed to basically put up and shut up and it would be fixed in November.

A sign was erected while we were there (see pics) stating a variety of things including no inflatables in pool, no ball games etc and yet these items are sold in the shop (see pics). BE WARNED. One day it is fine to have a little paddle on your lilo and the next, the Portugese around the pool will moan like hell to the reception staff (normally after they cannot get an umbrella as they have arrived so late to the pool) and what they say goes, no question, no argument. Locals always win. Beware also that whilst Vitors have so many apartments for rent by us holidaymakers, there are also different apartments for sale and possibly timeshares so a lot of locals are there and somehow feel that they have more right than us!

By reading this, you probably feel we must be the typical moaning types but we truly are not. We had some serious problems at this property and along with our own problems and a teenager getting so drunk that he chose to jump off the balcony (some 15 ft), I am sure that you can see that this probably is not a suitable place.

There is absolutely no entertainment apart from Karaoke on a Monday night where no one actually gets up as no one can afford to drink in the bar and nothing for kids or teenagers alike.

I am more than happy to talk or respond by email to any questions you have about the property, the area or the complete lack of support or help from Cosmos. I have around 100 pics of the place so feel free to get in touch.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank julieayres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2008

A lovely resort with high potential.

Originally worried as visited in late April to a building site. Hotel is operational and completely useable. Everything clean and kept clean daily. Staff are friendly and curtious in all areas.

Couple of things to be aware of:
Hotel charges €15 per week to use safety deposit box and will not insure anything outside.
Bar lovely and staff great but expensive
Snack bar closes at 6pm only leaving the al la carte onsite for dinner
Supermarket very limited in food stuffs, if you want to use the cooking facilities go to the local hypermarket (easy access)

Restaurants in town: Rated by group of 6 adults
Barulu 1st with taste and value for money
Farragood 2nd (but close)
O Barrill 3rd (but hot inside)

Porterade - overpriced and very average, although staff friendly enough

Best beach - Lagos - train from Portimao - every 11/2 hours 08.35 onwards
Local beach - Praia Grande

Uninpressed with Zoomarine for the price (extortionate!) better pool at the resort - but Dolphins were awsome

Kids LOVED slide and splash and they are just 6 years

Overall - lovely resort, local town lovely though a little in need of touristing - if you want to stroll but as a local village lovely
View - a little dissapointing, there are better in the Algarve

Holiday - absolutely lovely

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacquid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2008

Stayed at Vitors Village for two weeks in August with my husband and two sons (one aged 7 months and one aged 9 years).

The apartment complex was very good - the apartments nice, new and clean with good equipment. A travel cot and highchair were provided at no extra cost. There has been a problem with the tiling in the main pool which will need to be rectified at some point but it never stopped us using or enjoying the pool, plus there is another pool if you are that bothered about it! Considering that this is a new build and that seems to be the only thing on the snagging list - I don't think it has done too badly!

The complex itself was very nice and well laid out. The shop was well stocked with essentials and not that badly priced. we ate in the restaurant a few times and on all occasions had a nice meal which was reasonably priced. Wasn't very keen on the food at the poolside bar however - it could be improved on considerably! The Skyline bar was a great place to have a quiet evening drink although the entertainment does leave a lot to be desired. Generally speaking the staff at the complex were all very friendly and helpful.

On the downside the location of the complex is slightly out of the way but taxi's are easily available, costing around 7 Euros to get into Praia da Roche / Portimao. Ferragudo itself is within easy walk and has a handful of restaurants but little else. It is a traditional Portugese fishing village, a little shabby, but has a sort charm. There is a lot of re-development going on in this area, so I am sure the village will start to develop with it. We were able to walk into Ferragudo in around 10 minutes and into Portimao in around 30 minutes.

There are a few beaches within easy access by taxi/bus (only Ferragudo is walkable), but we felt the best for families was Praia Da Roche, as it has more facilities than the others.

If travelling with small babies, I would recommend bringing your own milk formula. Although nappies, wipes etc can be bought quite easily I was unable to find any powdered formula milk and only a couple of cartons of ready made baby milk, which was more like milkshake than anything. There was only very limited supplies of baby food aswell - two or three varieties at most, so again if you can bring a few jars with you!

All in all we had a great two weeks and would definately consider going back again. Travelling with a baby can be difficult but found it fairly hassle free. Would recommend getting a private taxi from the airport for transfers though. It took us less than 45 minutes in an air conditioned Merc, where as the transfer coach can take up yo 2 ½ hours, with doggy air con!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank KJC40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2008

Just returned from a week at Vitor's. I went with my husband and 2 children and we all had a great time. The apartments were very clean and the grounds were beautiful. My children loved the swimming pools and all the staff were very helpful and friendly.
Ferrugudo is very quiet but I found that rather nice as it was very relaxing.
A great holiday and would return again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank victoriat977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferragudo
0.7 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#5 of 76 in Portimao
2,321 reviews
1.2 mi away
Vila Gaivota
Vila Gaivota
#3 of 4 in Ferragudo
41 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Colina da Lapa Resort
1.1 mi away
Agua Hotels Riverside
1.6 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vitor's Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vitor's Village Resort

Address: Sitio da Passagem | Apartado 88, Ferragudo 8400-230, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Ferragudo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ferragudo
Price Range: $40 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vitor's Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vitor's Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vitor`s Village Hotel Ferragudo
Vitors Village Hotel
Vitors Village Ferragudo
Vitor's Village Resort Ferragudo, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing