We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant autumn break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vitor's Village Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ferragudo
Certificate of Excellence
Winsford, Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A pleasant autumn break”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed at Vitor's for a one week break in late October and were very happy with the place. Extremely quiet at this time of year as you may expect but accommodation very nice, clean and facilities good. The resort was clearly winding down and few visitors which makes it difficult to judge in some respects but what we saw and used we were content with. Pool looked tantalising but it was too cold unfortunately! Didn't deter our six year old son but there weren't many adults brave enough! It is well placed for Ferragudo, just a hop down the hill to some nice restaurants. Pick of the bunch for us being Fim da Mundo - try the monkfish cataplana - magnificent!

Room Tip: Ground floor room suffered from the usual chair-dragging noise etc of the upstairs occupants. Annoyi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMacPackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    179
    33
    13
    4
See reviews for
196
193
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Firstly just to say that this hotel does not have room amenities you would expect for a four star hotel. No fridge and everything as basic as could be.

We booked a room with a river view and paid a substantial premium for this. What you get is a view onto a street with houses opposite the river in the background and/or the houses obscuring the view of the river - not something I would expect to pay extra for. When this was raised with the hotel manager, he said - "you can see the river". I will upload pictures.

Additionally, we booked a room that was clearly marked double, with booking.com. The hotel/website appeared to change their policy since we booked and we were allocted twins. When we asked to change, the staff reacted very unhelpfully and said it couldn't be done esp as there was no hotel manager available until the next day. The next day they did - after more unhelpfulness- change our room but told us to switch as soon as possible, offered us no help and still insisted it was nothing to do with them - despite the fact that we showed them our voucher which said double room.

Staff generally were unhelpful, everything was too much trouble - we forgot our room number (it's not on the key card) at breakfast and were sent back to find it despite the fact that when I returned with the number, they had a list with guests' names and room numbers. I've never been treated this way in any hotel let alone a 4*, in these situations generally staff try to help and check your name and cross reference not treat you like a potential thief and send you back to your room to prove who you are.

Just also to say that Ferragudo very piqturesque but is pretty touristy - go to Portimao if you want to stay a proper portugese town that doesn't just exist for tourism.

Room Tip: Don't stay in this hotel, they're crooks
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ceff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We booked Vitor Village off the back of many of the good reviews on here and we were not dissapointed. The apartment was a generous size and cleaned very regularly...i agree that the bathrooms are a liitle on the small side and the clothing storage could have been more as others have mentioned but that i think is being hyper critical. The staff were excellent and always available to help. The general feel and atmosphere of the place was good and a decent mixture of all nationalities. Pool/s were nice and always got a sunbed at whatever time we decided to go to the pool.

Ferragudo is a nice little village with about 15 odd Restaurants.....we didn't have a bad meal..although unsually you are advised to book some of them. The best was a place called Sueste which was a seafood restaurant. The restaurant on site is also good...shame it is not used more in the evening or the Skyline bar which was often empty....probabaly too much choice elsewhere. We were b&b and the breakfast was really good.

Shopping wise we went to Lidl as advised but to be honest it is a really long walk...even longer on the way back with bags of shopping for the odd few euros saving it was not worth it. We just went to the shop on site or the couple of smaller shops in the village. just as good and not as much hassle.

The hotel organised our 2 trips...the Dolphin watching was excellent.

We will definately be going back...which is always the telltale sign of a good holiday for us,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vishy284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Just got back from a week in Vitor's Village staying in a one bedroom apartment. What a great holiday!! The Village is on the top of a hill so has fantastic views of Ferragudo harbour and village. Bit of a pull back up but the hill isn't too steep nor is it too far. Lots of greenery and flowers in the grounds of the resort which are well kept and maintained.

The apartment was very well equipped and we couldn't ask for more in the way of kitchen equipment. Just remember to take a dish cloth and some washing up liquid! Air con units in both the living room and the bedroom and very pleased that the maid didn't take my Boots Advantage card out of the power slot when she cleaned so the room was nice and cool when we returned:) Bathroom a tad on the small side and no storage space for toiletries but then again, why would all the family try to be in there at once? Mop and bucket and brush and dust pan provided as well as a very large airer on the balcony. Not many English channels on the TV but who goes on holiday to watch the telly? There was a USB port so you could always play DVDs through it if you have a laptop or player. Plenty of coat hangers in the wardrobe as well as an iron and board.

Facilities were good - we did breakfast one morning and there was plenty of choice and the food was top quality. On site shop does fresh bread but you have to be there early. Other stuff is expensive but there are local shops in the village where you can stock up from - a fantastic bakery to the right of the square and a little grocery shop at the bottom of the hill just to the left on the other side of the canal. We also did Lidl on the first day - a bit of a trek which took us 20 minutes one way but you can always get a taxi back or work out the bus times. There were 3 swimming pools, the lower of them being a quieter one. However, guests pay no regard to signs saying "No Ball Games" and they certainly cannot read when it comes to the age of children that can go in the jacuzzi. The age limit is 12 and one day there was a child in there who could barely walk :@

We didn't use the free bus service to the beach because we walked it - about 15 minutes away but well worth it as the beach is very clean and the facilities are great with restsaurants, water sports, toilets and cheap sun bed hire.

In the evening, we walked down to the village square which has about 7 restaurants. All much of a muchness in terms of choice and quality. We paid on average about 60 Euros for 3 adults for a 3 course meal, including drinks. There are a few bars on the back streets but there is no nightlife to speak of - go to Praia da Rocha for that: about 7 Euros one way in a taxi.

Only downside for me was the check in time. We arrived at 1230pm (ish) and were not able to check in to our accommodation until 2pm. We had a spot of lunch and a walk around but still felt longer than 1 1/2 hours.

Would recommend this holiday to anyone who is looking for a quiet relaxing break.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Negatives first.
We booked a pool view apartment and on arriving late on the first night we were given a river view. Was ok, but we asked for the pool view. Shown two the next day - one wasn't a pool view, however, we chose the second which was light and spacious. I've since read other reviews of this ' management' of rooms. We did also end up with ants on a number of occasions in the second apartment. Reception staff indifferent about our situation.
Positives.
Once earlier issues sorted we had a great hol. Pool area very nice and location great. Food in resort restaurant very nice and given free bottle of wine from there on arrival. Being on top of a hill meant excellent views of surrounding area - Ferragudo, river and Portimao across the river. Ferragudo town centre a short walk down the hill and popular square with bars and restaurants. Beaches nearby too.
Recommend visiting Lagos, Zoo Marine and Portimao, although you'll need a car. Beware of electronic toll roads also - pay at post office before you leave.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toonports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We have just returned from an 11 night stay at Vitor's Village and are definitely planning a return trip next year. We stayed from 27th July to 7th August.

The resort itself is fab; very safe and secure and the staff are extremely helpful and all speak English very well. We felt completely ok in letting our 9 and 6 year old wander off to the games room by themselves while we stayed at the pool as it is such a safe environment for guests.

The apartments are decent sized and are cleaned every day, they have a laundry drying rack on the balcony and although the mini market sells detergents I would say because of the size and price it would be worth you taking some travel wash with you rather than buying it there. The same for a bit of washing up liquid and a kitchen sponge for the plates and mugs you use in the apartment. They provide an iron and travel hairdryer too so that saves on space.

The apartments are all only one bedroom with a sofa bed in the lounge that sleeps two. The beds are not very comfortable but are extremely clean and the sheets are serviced daily.

Ferragudo is very quiet so this is not really a holiday for older teens or anyone who is looking for night-life as there is none (literally!). There are lots of lovely places to eat and little shops to visit but there is only really one bar in the whole place!

The only real bad point: the sun-loungers are extremely uncomfortable!

All in all a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doyles123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

i booked a condo as i had been before and didnt want a hotel room facing the unfinished unsold houses and scrub land . when we booked in guess which room we got . ......the kitchen was tiny , balcony terrible and bathroom tiny . similar to the one on the plane but with a bath .I asked to be be moved and was shown one room facing a wall and another in a dark part or the hotel . when a fave room came availible i was told i couldnt move as they where more expencive , because of the river view , which i know it doesnt have as i have stayed above it many times . The hotel seems to be cutting corners , no bathroom soaps or shampoos replenished , the hot tub turned it self off after 30 seconds .adverts for ice cream and fizzy drinks all around the pool aiming for familys . Dont book a two bedroom as they dont excist and the hotel will just make children sleep on the couch in the front room . they must know expedia are advertising two bed room condos ...cleaning staff hard working

Room Tip: Dont pay online for a better room as you may not get one
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jayne26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferragudo
1.0 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
985 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#7 of 75 in Portimao
2,088 reviews
1.1 mi away
Agua Hotels Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 24 in Alvor
465 reviews
2.3 mi away
Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA
Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA
#3 of 19 in Carvoeiro
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vitor's Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vitor's Village Resort

Property: Vitor's Village Resort
Address: Sitio da Passagem | Apartado 88, Ferragudo 8400-230, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Ferragudo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ferragudo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vitor's Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vitor's Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vitor`s Village Hotel Ferragudo
Vitors Village Hotel
Vitors Village Ferragudo
Vitor's Village Resort Ferragudo, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing