We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Crisp, clean, laid back resort with civilized crowd” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vitor's Village Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vitor's Village Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ferragudo
Certificate of Excellence
Groenekan, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Crisp, clean, laid back resort with civilized crowd”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

After careful consideration we decided to go to Vitor's Village in the peaceful fisherman's village of Ferragudo, just outside the touristic hustle and bustle of Albufeira and it's surrounding towns. The complex is situated on a hilltop which offers views to Ferragudo and across the river towards Portimao. The main pool area is covered by a shield of glass, which is very well thought through because the prevailing winds can fire up by the end of the day and this windscreen prevents towels, balls and sun-beds from blowing off the terrain. The staff is welcoming, kind and forthcoming, always ready to provide the best suggestions as you wish. The apartments are clean and maintained by a kind staff of cleaners daily. I do have a few suggestions, the cleaning patrol came by at random hours which is not always good. The cleaning itself does not behold much, time spent to clean is 5 minutes tops, but it smells fresh again and the basics are covered mostly. We stayed for three weeks and some of the top layer bedlinen stayed there the entire three weeks. That is just too bad and not in line with the rest of the organization. When you are going there mind you that the store is quite expensive for Portuguese standards, not at all for Western standards. The restaurant is at a decent snack bar level and the girl that helped us most was not the brightest, but she is kind and does not mean bad. Sometime she comes by to take your order, but mostly not. I don't know what the policy is, but the snack bar could easily improve to a much better experience which so many great local products in the area and especially with all those Portuguese mamas who can cook everyone's socks off. In all, I give V'sV a 'very good' because of the total experience which was just as my headline states...I liked the crowd because no one ever left garbage behind or was too noisy, it was all very very decent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, basically a room directed outward of the complex because it not only off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K-Posse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    173
    31
    12
    4
See reviews for
186
180
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Vitor.s Village is a modern apartment complex set on a hillside overlooking the village of Ferragudo.The complex is large and well maintained with 3 pools ,one for toddlers, a large one for all and another which is advertised as Adults only but is frequented by all.
The Apartment we had [myself,husband,11 yr old and 2 yr old] had a spacious kitchen,living area,seperate bedroom,bathroom and large enclosed balcony [specifically requested due to risk of escaping Toddler].The Apartment was modern with electric sensor hob and large screen TV.A couple of negatives which prompted myself and my Sister to wonder if the Designer was a man: no storage in the bathroom,no hanging space in wardrobes for long dresses ,no draining board in kitchen and no drawers in bedside table or living area for odds and ends.However these were just picky points as the Apartments were lovely and well worth their 4 star rating.
Entertainment in the Apartments particularly in the evening's was non-existent.Most of the families had Children 5 and under so going out late not always practical, a few evenings of music,show for the kids,etc wouldn,t have gone amiss.The bar in the Apartment complex was fabulous to look at but was very pricey compared to local bars and again lacked atmosphere as most people chose to drink elsewhere.Older kids complained of being'bored' as only pool table to keep them occupied however I think only a migrated Disneyland would suffice nowadays! We did do a trip to Slide and Splash which they loved and I must admit I also got a buzz from hurtling down the Black Hole at full pelt!
The village of Ferragudo is beautiful with whitewashed houses,cobbled streets and a lovely square which housed many eateries and often had entertainment in the evenings.This is were locals and tourists mingled at night and kids played footie together and tradesmen peddled some of their goods.
Plenty of restaurants to choose from' Faragood' on route down the hill good as well as 'O Barrile' in the square.Small snack bar at the far end of the square best for cheap snacks and drink.Fish restaurant at end of the Harbour is always busy, not sure why as was very overpriced and not the best meal we had.
The second beach 'Grande' is large ,sandy and has plenty of facilities including a small playground for younger kids.
Farragudo is a gem in the Algarve's otherwise built up ,overcommercialised ,manmade barnacles,I look forward to returning, perhaps best child free to fully appreciate it, as kids over 5 will most likely not!

Room Tip: If you have very young Children you can request groung floor with enclosed terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Loopylou28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed here last year October. We were very impressed, we loved it. The appartment was so nice and comfortable, the bathroom was really nice, the light was a little dim (could have been a little brighter). The bedroom was nice, (no TV) I'm so used to to having a TV in my bedroom (so I had to get usto that) apart from that lovely lovely clean appartment!!.
If you do plan to visit I would definatley recommend you doing a big shop at Lidl's because the mini market on site is VERY expensive. Thank god for Lidl's, seriously, shop there if you need to do a big shop, unless you have money to waste.
Maid service was very good. I didn't think the rooms needed sound proofing and I thought the bathroom was a good size.
I should have wrote this review when I returned from holiday last year, it's only because i'm
booking to come back again in October that I remembered to do the review.

Also if you eat meat YOU NEED TO TRY THEIR CHEESE BURGERS omg the best burgers we have EVER had, juicy,tasty,delicious and very pretty to look at (youno!! picture the burgers you see on a billboards) that kind of pretty (Yumm I want one now).

Just remembered the pool area was so dark at night, it would have been nice to have a little lighting, even though the pool was all closed off at night, it wouldn't do no harm having a few lights.

If you want a nice relaxing quiet holiday, Go and enjoy.

Room Tip: The pelican quarter was nice, thats where i stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

Just back from a 5 day holiday in Ferragudo, I had stayed at Victor’s before and was equally impressed this time also. Clean, well-appointed, maid service daily with clean towels and clean linen every two days. I would fully recommend this accommodation and Ferragudo it has it all for an enjoyable, peaceful and enjoyable stay .

Room Tip: ask for a room that gets the sun and not near families with young children
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shintyNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alvechurch
Level Contributor
171 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

rooms very noisy, dont seem to have any soundproofing,
restaurant good, though lighting could be dimmed in evenings
start of season & rainy so probably didnt see in best light, but would definatly use again, great value, bathrooms are nice, kitchen areas basic but clean
library are was comfortable

Room Tip: a friend stayed too & both of us had the same problem with noise, pool facing are nicest,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank giggsAlvechurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm, Germany
Level Contributor
447 reviews
310 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 473 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

This place has really potentials even it isn't next to any beach. The apartments are luxury (high quality doors, furniture, decor, beds, linen, kitchen) and spacious.

I'd fire the architect who design such small bathroom to a T1 appartment which is supposed to host a family with 2 adults and 2 children. No space for your toiletries, you can't even turn around (and we are not "big")

There are 2 big pools on the very quiet property (low season), breakfast was - as almost everywhere in Portugal - spartanous (coffee from automatic machine).

BTW: the rates went down the later you book (39€ with bf even on Easter days)

Room Tip: we got "upgraded" automatically from double room to apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joe1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

We just spent a quiet 5 night break in Ferragudo at Vitor's, based on the reviews & photo's on Tripadvisor. The good news was that the positive reviews were all justified, & the photo's show the resort exactly as it is. The Village is 4 years old & still has that "new feel" about it, which is a reflection on the staff. The gardens are very well tended, the lovely pools & jacuzzi checked everyday for water bacterias, the rooms efficiently cleaned to a high standard every day, etc.

The reception staff were very friendly & helpful, offering advice on where to eat in both Ferragudo & Portamao, booking taxi's, giving directions etc. We were very impressed with their professionalism.

We stayed in a s/c condo apartment. There are about 100 of these in blocks of 8's spread around the layout of the village. There is also a small hotel (about 6 rooms?) which I think are all above the reception.

The condo was furnished to a really good standard for Portugal. Most other reviews explain them correctly. Special mention should go to the shower - it was ridiculously powerful & had constant hot water - early morning or night - & made you feel really clean after a hard day's laying in the sun. We also liked the fact that the bed was an actual double (not 2 singles pushed together). However, it wasn't as comfortable as I thought it would be, as the mattress seemed to be made from the same material as the padding on the outdoor furniture at the Skyline bar.

The bedroom was a good size. The wardrobe had 2 seperate closets for hanging your clothes (3 coat hangers in each) & a total of 3 small drawers. The closets also had the safe - 15 euros a week to hire and any losses from it insured by the hotel for up to 500 euros total. It was also where the iron was kept, as well as the hairdryer, which was a 1200 W travel dryer with nozzle. My wife said it worked well, and she liked the fact that she could plug it in anywhere in the apartment.

The kitchenette was more than adequate - do go to Lidl for a main shopping splurge for your food, wine, beers - as the onsite store is as poorly slocked as others say & double the price. The main room was very well layed out. The fold out settee was really comfy. The large flat screen tv was a nice touch, & it has all the AV / audio / phono in ports if you bring a p.c. or I-pad and want to watch movies or something. It does not have a dvd player which would be nice, & only shows Sky / BBC News in English. So if you have kids, you may want to bring something like that to keep them entertained as Ferragudo is a very quiet village.

If you do have really young kids, beware some of the condo balcony areas on the ground floor don't have any railings around them, & some come with a ledge drop of up to about 12 inches. Some of them also get only a little sun during the day due to their location. If you have any special requests, email them at vitors.village@eurosol.pt We did also notice that the village has guards patrolling the grounds to ensure nothing untoward was happening, & the ample car park spaces / roads were covered by CCTV. All very security conscious.

Vitors was a great place to stay. We just wanted a quiet mini break, & Ferragudo was probably the quietest of all 5 areas we've stayed at along the Algarve. There are no real bars to speak of (apart from a lap dance bar, oddly enough), just approx 12 restaurants. We tried half of them & had only good experiences. The lunch time menu at Portarade was ridiculously good value at less than 10 euros for a 3 course with couvert, wine & coffee.

Reccommended!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FrancoLFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferragudo
1.7 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#7 of 78 in Portimao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Colina da Lapa
Colina da Lapa
#3 of 5 in Lagoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
2.8 mi away
Monte Santo Resort
Monte Santo Resort
#2 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vitor's Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vitor's Village Resort

Property: Vitor's Village Resort
Address: Sitio da Passagem | Apartado 88, Ferragudo 8400-230, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Ferragudo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ferragudo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vitor's Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Vitor's Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vitor`s Village Hotel Ferragudo
Vitors Village Hotel
Vitors Village Ferragudo
Vitor's Village Resort Ferragudo, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing