We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Mid Week Break”
Review of Grassington Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grassington Lodge
Ranked #1 of 20 Grassington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St Helens, Merseyside
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic Mid Week Break”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We have just returned from a great mid week break at Grassington Lodge. We arrived a little bit early than the normal check in time but this wasn't a problem. We were welcomed by Nicol who showed us to our room, who made us a welcome brew and put the fire on for us in the lounge and gave us an an information pack for local walks, all nice touches. The other staff we encountered during our stay Dan and the owner Diane again were very friendly and would go out of their way to make sure our stay was as comfortable as possible. We in fact got a free upgrade to our room which was a nice surprise too.

The property in general and room we stayed in was modernly decorated and clean throughout, as we stayed during the week in low season the B&B wasn't full but we could imagine it would be a popular place in the summer months. We were informed by Diane that Grassington Lodge would be on Channel 4's Four In A Bed programme next week, so that's a great opportunity to check the place out if you were thinking of staying there. To conclude we would certainly consider returning to the Lodge again in the future.

Room Tip: A choice of DVDs are available to use from the back sitting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KK10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeGLodge, Owner at Grassington Lodge, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for taking time to submit such a great review and suggesting that you would return to us......that's the acid test for us! We are still on a high here during the screening of Four in a Bed and delighted with how it is going for us!
Kind regards
Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    57
    16
    1
    1
See reviews for
39
423
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We have just spent a child free weekend away at Grassington Lodge and the stay was fantastic. Lovely warm welcome by the staff, we arrived a little early but this wasn't a problem. The room was beautifully decorated and we loved the added extras such as the wine glasses, fresh milk and even a flask to take on one of the many walks right on the doorstep. Great location for exploring Grassington and the surrounding areas. The breakfast was lovely and plenty of choice. All in all a great weekend away and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burton5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeGLodge, Owner at Grassington Lodge, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Delighted you had such a 'fantastic weekend' and hope you will return to us in the not too distant future.
Regards
Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We have just spent two nights with friends on the kgb deal and were delighted with the whole experience. The house is lovely, rooms clean and comfortable.A lovely lounge with real fire ideal to have a snifter before going for a meal (recommend The Forresters, best chicken I have ever had!!).The staff were very nice and breakfast was to die for. Grassington is a gem. We will return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cynthiatelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeGLodge, Owner at Grassington Lodge, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Seemingly, Both Grassington and Grassington Lodge gave you a great experience. I do hope you will consider staying with us again and perhaps take advantage of our winter/spring offers which are comparable in price to any 'voucher' deal without us having to pay the voucher company high commissions. Thank you for your review - watch out for us on Four in a Bed starting 10th March.
Regards
Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We just spent the weekend at Grassington Lodge and were delighted with everything about it. The rooms were warm, well appointed and spotlessly clean, the beds were comfy and breakfast was delicious. We loved sitting beside the fire with a drink in the evening before heading out for dinner in Grassington which is 2 minutes walk away. Thank you for such warm hospitality - we shall be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in The Suite and our friends stayed in Room 8 - both were superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeGLodge, Owner at Grassington Lodge, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and consider us to be 'Absolutely Superb'.....thank you very much and I hope to see you again soon. Room 8 (stayed in by your friends) was used for the filming of Four in a Bed which will be broadcast week commencing 10th March! Your review is much appreciated.
Regards
Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Fantastic weekend break at Grassington Lodge. Everything was perfect. Rooms beautiful. Yummy breakfast, with everything you could want. Lovely special touches. Loved the real fire and comfy lounge. Enjoyed a drink with friends. Welcome could not have been warmer. Everything to make a break perfect. Thank you and will see you again soon. Catherine and Brian

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 483Catherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeGLodge, Owner at Grassington Lodge, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Hi Catherine & Brian
Thank you for your review and I am glad you enjoyed your short break with your friends and us. Look forward to you staying with us again.
Regards
Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

The room was small but clean and comfortable. The towels were the biggest we've ever had. The sheets and bedding were high quality. The complementary sherry before dinner is a nice touch as is the real fire. We enjoyed the tasty breakfast and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The bigger rooms are more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lonsdale134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeGLodge, Owner at Grassington Lodge, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Nice to be appreciated for the elements of quality which we put in ALL of our rooms. Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and I hope you will stay with us again.
Kind regards
Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We love the area of Grassington and decided to look for somewhere to stay to beat the January blues. I was certainly pleased with my choice of accomodation and would strongly recommend to others. We stayed in Vendale 1 which is separate from the main house and it was spotless, spacious and comfortable. Worth the money in our opinion.
Wine glasses and a cork screw are provided in the room (we took our own not knowing this) which I thought was another nice touch
Unfortunately we did not get to experience the breakfast this time as staff were on holiday and the B&B wasn't fully opened due to the time of year but there will be a next time. Breakfast could be taken at the Ecocafe which is just round the corner.
We had a lovely meal in the Devonshire Hotel.
We have come back refreshed and relaxed - thank you for a wonderful weekend

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jollynolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeGLodge, Owner at Grassington Lodge, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for your review and for your favourable comments even though you were unable to experience our breakfast service as were officially closed for staff holidays....maybe next time. Certainly Grassington is a place to help to beat the January blues as the village is open as usual and the pubs/cafes have lovely welcoming fires and hospitality!
Hope you will visit Grassington and, of course, Grassington Lodge again.
Kind regards
Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grassington
2.7 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
117 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ashfield House
Ashfield House
#5 of 20 in Grassington
270 reviews
1.6 mi away
Orchard House Bed and Breakfast
6.3 mi away
Lister Arms
Lister Arms
#2 of 5 in Malham
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grassington Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grassington Lodge

Property: Grassington Lodge
Address: 8 Wood Lane, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Grassington BD23 5LU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Grassington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grassington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grassington Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GUARANTEED LOWEST PRICES WHEN BOOKED ON OUR 'OFFICIAL SITE'- AND MORE AVAILABILITY THAN ON OTHER BOOKING SITES. Recent WINNERS of Channel 4 TV 'Four in a Bed' for 'Best Value for Money' B & B. Grassington Lodge - an award winning contemporary guest house, offering stylish and luxurious accommodation in a quiet setting 100 yards from the centre of Grassington. Guests will experience first class hospitality and a friendly service. 11 Double en-suite rooms and the 'ultimate in luxury' Suite (sleeps 2), some with 6' wide beds, flat screen TVs, DVD players and DVDs, Molton Brown toiletries, Egyptian cotton bedding, bathrobes and fluffy towels! Free WiFi/internet facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Grassington Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grassington Hotel Grassington
Grassington Lodge Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing