We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend despite the snow :)”
Review of Grassington Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grassington Lodge
Ranked #1 of 20 Grassington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just spent a long weekend here with 3 other couples and we can only confirm what other people have said about Grassington Lodge. We were greeted by Daniel who offered us parking assistance in the heavy snow and looked after us admirably during our stay.

Nothing was too much trouble for him and his wife Nicole who definitely went the extra mile to look after our every requirement, they are fantastic and deserve special praise.

Fantastic breakfast and all round service, we will definitely return

Geoff & Margaret Rostron

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bmwconvert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeGLodge, Owner at Grassington Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

As per my response to an earlier review from a member of your group.....a resounding thank you for coming despite the weather! Dan, Nicole and myself all enjoyed your presence which helped to create the atmosphere which we love to have in the house! The champagne which your group kindly shared with me was also very much appreciated!
Kind regards
Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (585)
There are newer reviews for Grassington Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 585 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

Recently stayed here and it was fantastic, Daniel and Nicole are the perfect hosts and a credit to Diane(Owner).
Nothing is too much trouble and the surroundings are fab.
Just wished that in our bathroom there would of been a heated towel rail or radiator .....other than that cannot fault it.
We will hope to go again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeGLodge, Owner at Grassington Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

As part of a group who ventured out to the Dales despite the worst snow storms for 50 years (allegedly) a resounding thank you!!! It was lovely to have such a positive-minded group who didn't change their plans, despite the weather, and seemingly had some adventures which will make the trip even more memorable!
I hope to see you again and thank you for your review.
Kind regards
Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed here with friends in November 2012 and were very impressed! Diane and her team had thought of everything to make our stay so comfortable.The rooms and bathrooms were of a very high standard as was the entire house.Breakfast was excellent and the staff were very efficient.
All the little touches made for a very memorable stay and much warmer atmosphere than a Hotel.
The downside.If you are a light sleeper,don't book the room next to the living room.Beautiful room ,but depending on other residents,can be noisy.However that has not put us off and we hope to return in the not to distant future.
Thank You again Diane

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeGLodge, Owner at Grassington Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Thank you for your review and your comment about "a much warmer atmosphere than a hotel" was particularly appreciated. Hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Grasssington Lodge in February and met up with friends there. We stayed in Vendale 1 and 2 and it was perfect for two couples to meet up. The rooms are fabulous and so well maintained and equipped with very comfortable large beds.
We received a very warm and friendly welcome from the young couple who look after the Lodge. They do a superb job and are a credit to the hotel
Breakfast was excellent and freshly cooked to order.
The service from beginning to end was fantastic. The location is excellent- just round the corner from the village centre and the restaurants and pubs.
We will most certainly return to Grassington Lodge.

Room Tip: Vendale 1 and 2 are perfect for meeting up with friends.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jancie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeGLodge, Owner at Grassington Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you so much for your review and, I agree, the Vendale rooms are very much suited to a group of 4 as they are self contained and you can party all night long without fear of disturbing others....should you have the energy after a day in the fresh air of the countryside and a satisfying evening meal in the excellent local eateries! Hope you will visit us again.
Kind regards
Diane
(p.s. thank you for the tip re Edinburgh restaurant when we chatted....I have dropped hints for my birthday treat)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have just returned from a stay at Grassington Lodge and once again were unable to fault it. We stayed in Vendale 2 which is seperate from the main hotel building, it is a lovely room ,warm, spotlessly clean and beautifully finished. The fridge is stocked with fresh milk and bottled water and the selection of teas and coffees is far beyond the usual one or two. The breakfast was great, lovely selection of cereals and full English, plentyful and cooked to perfection. We only stayed one night and only met one member of staff during our short stay, but to say he was a credit to the hotel would be an understatement, from the warm welcome to the excellent service at breakfast we found him to be so proffesional, friendly and courtious. We will be back again!!

Room Tip: Worth paying the little extra for Vendale 2 it's lovely!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Charlsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeGLodge, Owner at Grassington Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Firstly, thank you so much for returning to us. We are proud to have so many returning guests and we are of course always delighted to get such a glowing review. It seems that I didn't personally meet you but I know that, during my absence, the business is in good hands with Dan & Nico who run it with the care and comfort of our guests uppermost in their minds!
Kind regards
Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for one night in the Vendale 2 room which was awesome!

Great breakfast too.

Excellent location, superb room, fantastic service and brilliant host!

I could not improve our stay in anyway. Even the weather was kind to us as we had glorious sunshine all day.

Perfect stay..... We'll be back!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TheCustards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeGLodge, Owner at Grassington Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Wish we could take the credit for the good weather we had during your stay.....it is rarely as bad as the forecasters predict here!! Thank you for staying with us and submitting a review. I hope you will return to us in the not too distant future.
Kind regards
Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have just returned from a short stay at grassington lodge which exceeded our very high expectations. The standard of the accommodation was extremely high in all areas. Our room was warm and cosy and spotlessly clean. We especially appreciated the range of toiletries which added a touch of extra luxury. The fridge was really useful, and the range of tea and coffee was beyond the usual selection provided. The staff were courteous and professional and were keen to ensure that All was in order. It would seem to be the kind of establishment where they would prefer to be told of any niggle so they could rectify the problem. Not that we had any to test this theory! This was a spur of the moment break taking advantage of the suitable weather to do a couple of superb walks. The lodge provided the perfect place to relax after the outings. I think we could be hooked!!

Room Tip: The room descriptions on the website are useful as each room has its own character.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mjbmcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeGLodge, Owner at Grassington Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us so much that you submitted a review. Seemingly, we met your high expectations.....we even organised the good weather for your walks of course! Hope you will consider staying with us again and thank you for your review.
Kind regards
Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grassington
0.1 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
132 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
8.0 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
812 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grassington House
Grassington House
#2 of 20 in Grassington
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grassington Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grassington Lodge

Address: 8 Wood Lane, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Grassington BD23 5LU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Grassington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grassington
Price Range: $124 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grassington Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GUARANTEED LOWEST PRICES WHEN BOOKED ON OUR 'OFFICIAL SITE'- AND MORE AVAILABILITY THAN ON OTHER BOOKING SITES. Recent WINNERS of Channel 4 TV 'Four in a Bed' for 'Best Value for Money' B & B. Grassington Lodge - an award winning contemporary guest house, offering stylish and luxurious accommodation in a quiet setting 100 yards from the centre of Grassington. Guests will experience first class hospitality and a friendly service. 11 Double en-suite rooms and the 'ultimate in luxury' Suite (sleeps 2), some with 6' wide beds, flat screen TVs, DVD players and DVDs, Molton Brown toiletries, Egyptian cotton bedding, bathrobes and fluffy towels! Free WiFi/internet facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Grassington Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grassington Hotel Grassington
Grassington Lodge Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing