We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely weekend based at Betty's Bothy”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of BETTYS BOTHY

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Grassington, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
GirlsHenW...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend based at Betty's Bothy”
Reviewed February 3, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We booked Betty's Bothy based on Trip Advisor reviews so thanks to previous reviewers because we loved it too. We took a hairdryer and a scrambled egg pan and wine glasses as these are often not provided but they were all there. The Bothy reminded me of George Clarke's Amazing Spaces in that it is a small space well designed and packing a lot in. We particularly liked having our breakfast whilst looking up the field at the animals. Penny recommended The Falcon for a real ale which we loved, an old pub little changed. We know the area quite well and had some little walks and pottering round the villages. People are so friendly in The Dales. Would like to go again with bikes this time. Would stay at Betty's Bothy again. Also the under floor heating was a huge luxury. Comfy bed. Nice shower room. Loved it

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seb G
1 review
“You couldn't ask for more...”
Reviewed January 24, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

From the beautiful Yorkshire countryside and warm reception, to the cleanliness and quality of the property, you can't fail to be impressed if you stay here. We stayed over New Year, wanting an alternative to a hotel as a base for visiting family. We certainly got value for money, and were not disappointed in any way. This little property is extremely well equipped, and the owners clearly take pride in it, apparent from the fine finishing touches you'll notice throughout. As well as offering a very warm welcome, Penny and Roger are very knowledgeable about the area. We certainly hope to spend some more time here would thoroughly recommend staying here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gwaterhou...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cosy, friendly place set in stunning countryside.”
Reviewed December 2, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Me and my partner stayed here for a few nights to get away from the city. We had a great time. We arrived in pitch black and were delighted to wake up and look out upon the beautiful valley. The animals also make this place. Goats, donkeys, alpacas, rabbits, chickens and ducks can be seen out of the window. And two pairs of very friendly dogs and cats will also greet you. Penny and Rodger are very helpful, they lent us a map, suggested walks and gave us good advice on pubs and where to park when we went to the Grassington Dickensian fayre. What a tranquil place to wake up and breakfast on fresh hen and duck eggs! The walk to Kettlewell is a must as is a meal at the Kings Arms and a pint in the Blue Bell. If you like gorgeous countryside, rural pubs and walking Bettys Bothy provides a lovely place to relax inbetween. A perfect base to explore the dales-you will have a great time here.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarrac2
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect countryside getaway”
Reviewed November 4, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We had a very nice stay at the bothy. Penny and Rodger did everything they could to help and assist us. The place itself has beautiful scenery and is cosy and comfortable. We'd recommend this place to couples and single people

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridget R
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable welcoming dale hideaway”
Reviewed October 16, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We made a last minute booking for a few nights' rest and walking around Wharfedale. The place is very small but has everything we need. The hosts provided a generous hamper for our first breakfast, including eggs from their happy ducks and hens, and were available across the yard to point us to local walks and pubs. Kettlewell, Malham and Litton (the Queen's Arms was a highlight) are in easy reach by car. The bed is incredibly comfortable, kitchenette and bathroom are well designed. We liked the underfloor heating. The setting is wonderful. The animals could have woken us early but didn't.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhasselba...
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Countryside rest and relaxation”
Reviewed September 14, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We had the pleasure of staying five nights at Betty's Bothy in Hawkswick, a tiny village not too far from Grassington. The location is stunning! Fantastic views over Littondale, walks everywhere, and lots of idyllic towns and pubs within 10-15 minutes drive (you probably need to bring a car, as it is quite remote). The Bothy itself has everything you need and accommodates two people very comfortably. Breakfast on the sunny terrace outside with views over the dale was a superb experience. Penny and Roger also run the HART animal sanctuary, and we had a great time meeting the goats, ducks, donkeys, hens, alpacas, rabbit, dogs and cats. If you'd like to get away from it all, Penny, Roger and the animals of HART are just the perfect hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Animals!
Liked least: The super-narrow driveway.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldmother...
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Yorkshire.
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Yorkshire is best”
Reviewed August 30, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

If you are wanting to see Yorkshire at its best then there can be few places better to stay that Bettys Bothy in Hawkswick, and few better hosts than Penny & Roger (even if he is a Lincolnshire Yeller-belly). The Bothy is cosy, compact and comfortable, and if you have to watch your spending it is afordable. It is open plan with the living area, sleeping area nd kitchen area all flowing into one, with a wet-room off it. I thought it might be that I was getting special treetment as I as on my own, but no, it seems that all guests who go there get a breakfast basket provided for their first morning. Fee range eggs (hens and ducks) fresh fread, cereals and fruit juice and a small carton of milk - now let me ask you, how many self catering cottages do you get treatment like that? Answer: not many! Penny & Roger run HART (Hawkswick Animals aRe Therapy) and have hens, ducks, alpacas, pygmy goats, miniture donkeys, a rabbit, two cats (one with only 3 legs) and Major & Webster their two dogs. The Bothy is about 6 miles from Grassington, 25b minutes drive from Skipton and only 5 mins from Kilnsey Cragg. I saw Buzzards flying over the woods, three very shy Little Owls who do not like having their photo taken (but I got them) and on the first night I was there I saw a Dipper on the rocks/stones and bolders in the River Skirfare just two minutes walk from the front door. The next day following a night of rain the river was too high for them as the rocks where covered over with water. If you are a fan of Emmerdale you must turn right at the end of the snicket and head for Arncliffe, there you will find the "Falcon" public house that was the first "Woolpack" way back in the black andf white days of the show. One well behaved dog is allowed. On a night time I would just stand and listen to the silence. It is a very peacful place to stay and well worth staying there. 10 out of 10

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being at one with nature
Liked least: Having to come home!
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing