We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely country stay”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Ellesmere

Ellesmere Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ellesmere Cottage
Garden View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
56 reviews
Ellesmere Cottage
Garden View
Dinning kitchen with seating for 10 people
Dinning Kitchen
Sitting Room
Lounge with dual fuel log burner
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Master bedroom's en suite
Master bedroom's en suite shower
View of Grassington village from the master bedroom and bedroom 4
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 3
House bathroom for bedrooms 2 and 3
House bathroom's separate shower
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 5
House bathroom for bedrooms 4 & 5
Patio area
Stables at the bottom of the garden with exclusive use for guests in the right hand store
Private car parking for up to 6 cars available in our 2 parking areas
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Grassington, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
1pop
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely country stay”
Reviewed October 29, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We went with our good friends who we travel often with, home and abroad. Our friend David found this cottage and liked the look of the village and cottage. To say it is a cottage is an understatement as it is huge. The best way to the cottage is from the Main Street,There are two parking places for cars on and next to the property. The owners of this building have thought of everything nothing has been left to chance. I found a book on the bookshelf about Ellesmere, written a very long time ago by a young relation of the previous owner. It took me all week to read it at my leisure but i enjoyed every minute reading it. There is also a book about the Grassington murderer which is very interesting . The village of Grassington is a popular tourist attraction for days out ,busy with hikers and day trippers. The pub on the high street is worth a mention with a quiz every Wednesday night. It costs a pound to enter,it's a very good quiz but you get a supper and entry in a prize draw it's starts at nine o'clock and is a good night out. There is a regular bus service into Skipton . Market days are Thursday Friday and Saturday. All in all I can thoroughly recommend the holiday let and the surrounding area.
Pop.

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendly feel of the place
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda B
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stunning property for a holiday in the heart of the dales”
Reviewed September 4, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We booked this holiday for our family of 5 but owing to the size of the house invited our parents too. The house is fabulous, set in the heart of the village but it's walled garden gives absolute privacy and tranquility so you forget you are in a village! The rooms are spacious and beautifully furnished, it really does feel homely unlike many holiday homes the quality of the furnishings is very high. The location of this property is great for sight seeing in the dales with much to do for families. The only thing to note is access to the property is tight with The walls of properties to be passed being quite narrow, that said we have a Navara which is very wide and as my partner is an hgv driver we got through so normal family vehicles should be fine. We have loved this holiday and would love to return for a future holiday, I'd really recommend making this a base for a fantastic dales break.

Date of stay: September 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeanieBag
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect base for exploring the area”
Reviewed June 28, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We loved the location of this house, right in the heart of Grassington but tucked away in a peaceful location.

Great sized house with some lovely features and fantastic views. Well equipted. Some areas in need of a good spring clean. Lovely sunny patio area and garden.

So many walks on the doorstep and so much to do in the area. We struggled to fit it all into a week. Didn't want to leave.

We would reccomend Hesketh farm for little ones, enjoyed Bolton Abbey, had two nice meals at lovely pub, Fountainne Inn, Linton.

Date of stay: June 2014
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Oven needed a good clean
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPL79
Brough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location”
Reviewed May 16, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I have just returned from a lovely break at Ellesmere Cottage. In total there were 6 adults, 2 children (4 and 2) and 2 babies. The cottage worked perfectly well for our party, all having sufficient bedroom and living space, but if there were 10 adults I think downstairs would be a bit cramped and you’d be fighting over 2 bathrooms. The lounge and dining room are more spacious than the photo's suggest though.

I also agree with the below comments about the house needing a good clean, lots of cobwebs on the bedroom ceilings etc.

The location is ideal, so close to the amenities of Grassington (pubs, restaurants, shops etc) and a great base to explore the Dales and the local attractions. The butchers in Grassington is first class and the bakers and Relish Deli are also worth a visit.

Paul is very responsive to any questions and giving info as required via email.

Overall for location and price it’s a great cottage and would recommend to others.

Date of stay: May 2014
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeHepwo...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cracking house but needs a good clean”
Reviewed May 7, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely time over the Easter bank holiday weekend. The house couldn't be in a better location for the village and walks in the surrounding areas, which to be honest is why we chose it. Communication with Paul is brilliant and he replied to all my questions within a couple of hours.

The only thing that lets the house down is the cleanliness, even the long abandoned cobwebs had dust on them! Damp on the top floor, a couple of the bedrooms and the main bathroom could do with a well needed refurb.

A deep clean and some tlc, this could be a 5 star house.

Date of stay: April 2014
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greystone...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“We had a great family week”
Reviewed March 11, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Our daughter booked this as a present for 9 of us and we went the last week in February and into March. We thoroughly enjoyed the house and visiting the area, lots to see and do. The weather was fairly cold and damp and although the house was warm the lounge was not. Throws were over the back of the chairs and we sat with those round us on a couple of nights. The stove did not give out much heat and the radiators in the lounge are tiny. Upstairs was lovely and warm, too warm in some of the bedrooms. However, we had 3 under 7s who wanted to play out in the garden when it was fine but we had to shift 7/8 piles of dog muck before we could let them out and we do not have a dog so we were not to blame. If people rent a place and take an animal surely they should clear up after it! Just a thing I get on my high horse about. Otherwise the house is well situated to do lots of things in the village, well kitted out with crockery etc but take slippers for the stone kitchen and dining room floors. If anyone does use the 5th bedroom under the eaves don't put tall people in it, we didn't need to use it but Hobbits would fit in nicely. Oh, and don't fall over the threshold from the family bathroom into the hall it hurts your toes as our little ones found out.

Date of stay: February 2014
How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Convenience of being in village
Liked least: Dog muck in the garden
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 28, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Date of stay: February 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing