We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Graham Mack” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashfield House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ashfield House
Ranked #6 of 22 Grassington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Graham Mack”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

An absolutely fantastic experience from stepping through the door to exiting. The food was to die for, the accommodation exceptional and the hosts, Joe and Elizabeth couldn't have been more friendly. Overall, a fantastic one night stay with afternoon tea, dinner and bed and breakfast. Superb in every way.

Room Tip: Only 8 rooms, all good. Room 3 over kitchen which is the only down side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrahamMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    41
    14
    9
    4
See reviews for
18
193
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We booked a one night stay of dinner, bed and breakfast for our wedding anniversary. When booking the date (mid-week) Joe the owner asked if it was a special day and on learning of the anniversary persuaded me to upgrade to a suite. What a night they made for us (and the other guests joined in). Joe, Elizabeth, Rosa and Anna were attentive, polite and very professional.
The accommodation was very comfortable and warm and the food was excellent. All in all a fantastic stay - we will definitely be back .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eddietheprinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

This lovely small Hotel is perfectly situated in a quiet cobbled cul de sac just off the Main Town Square. Joe and Elizabeth were extremely friendly and courteous hosts. We went on a single night Dinner Bed and Breakfast promotion in February. No problems getting there or parking despite the heavy snowfall which accompanied our arrival. After a homemade afternoon tea we had a brief walk around the Town in the snow and then we spent time reading in the comfortable lounge with a roaring coal burning stove. The room was excellent with a really big and powerful shower. We then had dinner excellent. The main course of fresh Sea Bass was delicious. Drinks and wine are extremely reasonable. Good choice of wine chosen by host Joe who is a well qualified Sommelier. After a comfortable night's sleep we enjoyed a dlightful home cooked breakfast. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet because of the quiet cul de sac position with no traffic or other noise from any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterMcM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Ashfield House over the weekend and cannot find fault. Clean, tasteful, very friendly and helpful staff, lovely relaxed feel & great food. Definately worth a visit. Joe was very helpful with our snowy arrival and always had a ole on his face. The food was excellent and had a real honest passion behind its prepration.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kvfitz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

A massive thanks to Joe and Elizabeth for helping us to enjoy a memorable birthday weekend.
The hotel was excellent and or room was so cosy - just what was needed when the snow had fallen after our first night. We were looked after so well from the minute we stepped through the door to the morning we left - nothing was too much trouble for our hosts. The food is excellent - this is one of the nicest hotels we have stayed and we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north east
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Spent two nights in the above establishment in January. Although we visited using a special promotion everything was excellent.
The Guest house is just off the main street in Grassington, which is great as you don't have to worry about the parking when you shop there.That said, the parking in front of the house is extremely tight- they have made the best possible use of the space available. Just don't be the last one back at the end of the day!
Room we were in was very pleasant, if somewhat small. Didn't see any of the others. We did have a standard room so maybe the superior rooms were bigger. That said, it was very comfortable & had a very modern bathroom beautifully decorated but didn't have a bath, only a shower. Tea,fresh coffee, cafetiere, drinking chocolate & 2 large home made cookie were available to us in our room. There were 2 sitting areas, a smallish dining room & real fires which added to the ambience. Owners very friendly. Breakfast good & the evening meal we had was extremely good. I believe they also have another dining room in the house next door. All in all, a very enjoyable trip & I would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank love2travelNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We have to agree with the review of 17 January. We stayed here around 18 months ago. The place was nice enough but we found both the hosts overbearing. Madam is not pleased when you don't want to socialise with other guests before dinner. Sir is chatty during meals & delivered a history lesson &PR piece on our arrival when we'd much rather have been shown to our room after a long journey. Overall we disliked the 'intimacy' of the place & found the much revered little touches & bonhomie all a little contrived.
The food was much vaunted in that introductory PR piece but didn't live up to the gourmet expectations raised. Indeed it was all just pretty ordinary and very overpriced
Home from home?
It certainly wasn't like our home & we were really rather glad to get back there!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Suchas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grassington
0.0 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Grassington Lodge
Grassington Lodge
#1 of 22 in Grassington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashfield House

Property: Ashfield House
Address: 3 Summers Fold, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Grassington BD23 5AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Grassington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Grassington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Ashfield House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private guest accommodation with dining facilities where a ‘Long Weekend Break is not Long Enough.’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Agoda so you can book your Ashfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashfield House Hotel Grassington
Ashfield Hotel Skipton
Ashfield House Grassington, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing