We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from Home”
Review of Ashfield House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ashfield House
Ranked #5 of 20 Grassington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
East Sussex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from Home”
Reviewed March 13, 2011

We have been coming back to Ashfield House for the past 5 years to enjoy relaxing breaks in the beautiful Yorkshire Dales. Jo and Elizabeth are so friendly and welcoming and will do everything to make our visits a wonderful experience. The rooms are clean and comfortable and we always feel refreshed after our stay. We always enjoy the excellent food which is well presented.
We will definitely be coming back again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    41
    14
    9
    4
See reviews for
18
194
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2011

Joe and the Major are lovely people and clearly they really enjoy entertaining. The location is picturesque and I imagine that, in summer, the garden is gorgeous. The food is ok. Breakfasts are plentiful but not particularly great quality or especially well cooked although they clearly try. The dinner was ok but really not worth just shy of £40 each. Rooms are OK but again nothing special - they're fairly small and not particularly well appointed.

Nice people and they'll look after you but you'll get better quality elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank headoftheclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Valley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2011

Hosts openly friendly and generous of their time with great attention to detail. Quality food excellently produced, served and presented, in cosy comfortable surrounds. Will definitely return and would unhesitatingly recommend to any discerning traveller.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard209969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2011

A real “home from home” for a relaxing short break to enjoy the Dales walking and celebrate a birthday. Joe, Elizabeth and the staff made us all feel very welcome. The hotel is full of charm and has very comfortable rooms with lots of thoughtful extras. The cosy guest lounge with log burning fire was an ideal setting to while away the evening, pre & post dinner while the February weather did its worst outside. Breakfasts were delicious with everything we could possible want provided. Our “celebration” dinner was excellent with Joe and Elizabeth really going to great lengths to make it a very special occasion for us. We had a great time – Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AspenNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East, England
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2010

My Mum and I had gone to the Grassington Dickensian Festival for years and had always looked at Ashfield House and thought if we ever come for the weekend that is where we would like to stay!! So this year that is what we decided to do - and we were not disappointed. Everything about Ashfield House is magical - even the lovely guests we met and especially Elizabeth and Joe who make you feel " At Home". We stayed there for the weekend and we were well looked after - i have never ate as much lovely food. My Mum enjoyed the weekend so much that we are talking about going back again ..... I am so glad we made the effort and went - we will be talking about it for a long time - My Mum who is 83years old certainly had a wonderful stay!!! So Thank you so Much Elizabeth and Joe we have been telling all our Family and friends about our Magical weekend at Ashfield House in Grassington!! All the very best in 2011 and Thank you for Everything!! xoxoxoxo

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunflower1423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 12, 2010

Our experince at Ashfiled House , by far exceed our expectations .Service and quality could not be faulted. The warm and friendly welcome was followed by coffee and cake in front of a log burner. Food was excellent and presented with attention & passion.
We were both made to feel part of Joes & Elizibeths family.We will return!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil190786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2010

Excellnt experience, very cosy rooms. The garden siute was the ultimate experience. The staff were extremly welcoming and friendly, always happy to go the extra mile. The food was really good and all freshly prepared. The garden was beautiful and peaceful.
You get more than you see on the can......5*****

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t44chy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grassington
0.0 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
2.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
8.0 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
18.3 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashfield House

Property: Ashfield House
Address: 3 Summers Fold, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Grassington BD23 5AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Grassington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grassington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ashfield House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private guest accommodation with dining facilities where a ‘Long Weekend Break is not Long Enough.’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Ashfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashfield House Hotel Grassington
Ashfield Hotel Skipton
Ashfield House Grassington, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing