We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A very special little retreat with everything on...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Grassington, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
HILLCOTTA...
BUTE & ARGYLL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very special little retreat with everything on your doorstep”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We live relatively close by and as I work from home wanted to relax and be away from my working/home environment. Staying at blacksmith cottage made me think why do we need big houses and lots of clutter that we never use. It was compact, very well equipped, extremely clean and we were welcomed by a lovely bottle of wine. The weather was kind to us and we did what we planned to do...absolutely nothing. It was wonderful and I would highly recommend a stay here. Perhaps next time we will try lotties loft upstairs!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Reviewed January 19, 2014 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Robert W
South West
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good location: needs a refresh”
Reviewed May 14, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We chose this rental on the basis of the favourable reviews, and expected slightly better than we got. It was fine in terms of size, and very convenient for the village. But there were too many things not working or in need of repair - we called the owner who retuned the TV for us and replaced the five light bulbs that were not working. But the radio was hopeless, there was broken shelf in the fridge and the fitted sheets didn't fit the bed. So it would benefit from a bit of a health check and improvement before the season really gets going.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Toomany little things wrong
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SukeeHamp...
Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ideal location, cosy and well equipped.”
Reviewed July 19, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This studio apartment is compact, very clean but with too much space taken up by furniture and knick knacks. However the kitchen was very well equipped and stocked and the bed huge and comfortable and the bathroom clean and well presented. The sitting out area was very disappointing, full of weeds and garden furniture dirty and unusable which was a shame as we were there for one of the rare warm dry spells. It is ideally situated for the village and for walking the dales. Parking to unload and load vehicle can be difficult.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The outside sitting area
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broughton in lincolnshire
Reviewed September 18, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Solo traveler
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manchester
Reviewed May 6, 2011 for a stay in March 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
stockport cheshire
Reviewed March 3, 2011 for a stay in December 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing