We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of English B & B's.”
Review of Yew Tree House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grassington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yew Tree House
Ranked #10 of 20 Grassington B&B and Inns
Romsey, England
Level Contributor
133 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“The best of English B & B's.”
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Andrew and Julie are the perfect hosts in this Yorkshire B&B. Beautifully decorated rooms and superb breakfasts. Two minutes into Grassington village. Unbeatable.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T0urDirect0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulietNorthYorkshire, Owner at Yew Tree House, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We did enjoy your company and your friends. Sorry for leaving it so late to respond- I have had some techinical issues until recently. Hope yo see you again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
47
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We've just got back from a 2 night stay at this lovely B&B in Grassington and we really can't recommend it enough.

We stayed in the cream room which was extremely spacious, tastefully decorated and really cosy. Julie & Andrew have really thought of everything to make your stay more comfortable - from filter coffee and a mini cafetiere, hairdryer, DVD player, sewing kit, loads of toiletries etc. They have really gone over and above what you would normally find in a B&B and from the moment you come in, you feel like you're in for a real treat.

There is a large lounge area with lots of information on the local area and walks which Julie kindly photocopied for us. The breakfast area is again really spacious and the breakfast was absolutely delicious - all locally sourced and cooked exactly as we like it. The full Yorkshire was "the best breakfast he's ever eaten" according to my partner, and there was loads of choice if you prefer something lighter with fresh fruit salad, homemade granola, and lots of lovely jams and honey.

The location is perfect - a 2 min walk to the village square. We ate at the Forester's Arms (MASSIVE portions, great value for money, honest pub grub) and No 5 The Square (posh nosh, smaller portions but loads of flavour) and we'd recommend both highly - if only for a pint in front of the log fires!!

Thanks for a lovely weekend :-)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redgrinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulietNorthYorkshire, Owner at Yew Tree House, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are both so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Yew Tree House and also in Grassington which we think offers a lot for a little place ! It was lovely to meet you both and we hope to see you again in the future. Best wishes for next year.

Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Three of us arrived after getting caught in the heavy downpour at the end of a ride up to Grassington. Immediate garaging for the bikes, and five minutes later the wet clothes were drying over the Aga. Five more minutes and a pot of tea for three plus lemon cake and biscuits was waiting for us on the wide landing area, where comfy seats and heaps of literature made it a good place to chat. Lots of DVDs we noticed.

Where to eat? Well taht was booked for us whilst we showered, bedrroms very comfy, toiletries natural and plentiful, TV and DVD player with Freeview, and the lovely touch of a pair of wine glasses and corckscrew if you wanted to drink in.

Breakfasts were fab, two great Yorkshire cooked and a proper veggie cooked as well. Lots of fresh fruit and yoghurt, a printed weather forecast (yet more rain - proved correct too...) and heaps of tea and fresh coffee. Nothing amiss at all, shame we had to cycle away.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skinnytyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

many thanks again for a super 4 days at your perfect b and b,andrew and julie you excel on all counts great breakfast clean accomodation and excellent rooms,i can recommend this accomodation without reserve,thanks julie & peter

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulietNorthYorkshire, Owner at Yew Tree House, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Thank you very much for your positive review. We particulary enjoy seeing our returning guests (as well as meeting the new ones!) and are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully see you again before too long

Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
56 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Probably the nicest room I've ever stayed in at a B&B (even a motion-sensitive light in the bathroom) in the delightful town of Grassington. Very friendly and welcoming owners, and accommodating for walkers trekking the Dales Way which is a few hundred yards away. Nice quiet street. Evening meals available at the various pubs down the hill.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Buttonwoodwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulietNorthYorkshire, Owner at Yew Tree House, responded to this review, August 7, 2011
Thank you very much for your positive review. We are glad you were comfortable and enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We stayed here on our 1st night cycling the Way of the Roses C2C. We were hot and tired but what a lovely warm welcome from our hosts. Large jug of iced elderflower cordial brought to our room. The room was lovely, immaculately clean, very comfortable bed and breakfast the next morning was superb (all locally produced high quality food and lovely fresh fruit. Our bikes were locked away overnight in the garage. Could not fault this wonderful B&B. We will return!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jebpgb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulietNorthYorkshire, Owner at Yew Tree House, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. It was great to meet you both and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Yew Tree House. Happy cycling and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2011

We stayed for three nights and found it excellent. Our bedroom was lovely, with plenty of space to move around in and very clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were very filling and kept us going during our days on the bike. Andrew and Julie were very friendly and helpful with suggestions where to eat in the village and there were several places only a few minutes walk from the house. They also provided a secure garage for our bikes which is definitely a plus. We shall certainly go again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank biker012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulietNorthYorkshire, Owner at Yew Tree House, responded to this review, August 7, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the trouble to give us some feedback. We do try to provide our guests with 'home from home' comforts and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grassington
0.1 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
111 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
111 reviews
2.5 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grassington Lodge
Grassington Lodge
#1 of 20 in Grassington
574 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashfield House
Ashfield House
#5 of 20 in Grassington
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yew Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yew Tree House

Property: Yew Tree House
Address: Yew Tree House Scar Street | Grassington, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Grassington BD23 5AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Grassington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grassington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yew Tree House is an excellent base for exploring the Dales on foot or by bicycle, car or public transport. We have ample parking and, whilst situated in a quiet location, we are two minutes walk from the main village square. We offer a warm welcome together with quality, spacious and comfortable accommodation. There are three bedrooms - one with a standard double bed, one with a king sized bed and one with a super-king bed that can alternatively be configured as a twin. Each bedroom is complete with an en-suite containing a walk in shower, hand basin and WC. One en-suite also has a full size enameled bath. All the bedrooms have generous tea/coffee making facilities, flat screen colour TVs with separate CD/DVD players, and iPod/iPhone bedside docking stations incorporating alarm clocks/FM radios. There is on-site car parking, and guests have use of a comfortable sitting room where there is a large display of local books and tourist information. We also offer a high speed WiFi network, available in all rooms and free of charge. Vegetarian, gluten and/or dairy free free breakfasts provided if required. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yew Tree House Grassington, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing