We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality hotel in a rural location”
Review of Grassington House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grassington House
Ranked #2 of 20 Grassington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2009

From the moment we booked until the moment we left the service we recieved could not have been beaten.
The hotel itself was along with the spacious rooms tastefully decorated to compliment the building and the surrounding square.
The food was first class. I have eaten in many upmarket restaurants and few could beat both the food and service.
The bar served not only good wine and drink, but also has real ales to choose from, something many hotels neglect. This coupled with locals poping in created a very friendly atmosphere and not the sterile type bar that one so often finds.
It is definitely one to visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foreveryoung_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (585)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

578 - 584 of 585 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2009

stayed here a few years ago when touring the Dales and found it to be a bit shabby. Having just returned for a few days, must say I am impressed with the new owners. Nicely done up, great food, very helpful. Next visit to the Dales will see me back at this lovely hotel
Cheers

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hillwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2009

My husband and I had a wonderful one night's stay here and couldn't fault the whole experience. The owners were really friendly - both when we phoned to book and when we called prior to arrival, running late - they couldn't have been more accommodating - offering us driving directions, changing our restaurant reservation time, despite this being a busy Saturday night for them, to give us time to settle in. The front bar is straight off the village square and has a terrific "local" feel. The dinner was superb. Our dinner, bed and breakfast rate was a bargain for such quality. And great wine - sensibly priced.

Despite being at the front of the hotel (it was called "The Square"), our room was quiet. It and our bathroom were spacious, beautifully decorated and well appointed.

Breakfast was delicious - the best smoked haddock in ages, proper toast and home made jams, really tasty fresh fruit plate, all set us up for a long walk in some of the most stunning countryside I've visited.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelling-Suki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2009

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights at this lovely hotel. It has a very relaxing and welcoming atmosphere and an excellent restaurant.The room was large and beautifully decorated.We would certainly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nottinghammidlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2008

I have travelled a lot and stayed in many places around the world. I love this hotel - not only is it in a wonderful part of the world (the beautiful Yorkshire Dales) and easily accessible from my home town (Leeds - about an hours drive, so perfect for a quick getaway), it shows all the signs of being designed and managed with the utmost care. The rooms are beautiful and the food wonderful - and all very good value for money. I'd highly recommend it. Plan in a walk when you're there too - we went up over the tops and it was stunning.

Stayed: December 2008
1  Thank Emma2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2008

There are at east four aspects to this hotel that make it truly excellent and well worth a visit...(in no particular order)

1) The location - Grassington is picture postcard material and you really need to take time to enjoy the hotel, village and the surrounding countryside - take your walking boots to make the most of it.

2) The rooms - We stayed in 'The Square' room which is lovely, huge comfy bed, massive bathroom, nice decor and little touches that make it feel really personal and cared for.

3) The food - One of the very best meals I have had in ages - massive selection of quality locally sourced ingredients, expertly prepared and served with genuine care and a love of food. The breakfast was perfect too and the service first class.

4) Value for money - We booked a midweek deal including dinner ,bed and breakfast for two and were genuinely impressed with wht you got for your money, the meal alone in a decent restaurant would cost you £40-50 per head.

In summary, this hotel is right up there with the best hotels that we have ever stayed in and could not recommend it more - excellent!!!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank newboldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2008

Whilst on a recent break we stopped off at the hotel restaurant (5 The Square) for Lunch, the food was of a very high standard also the décor and ambience were very impressive.

The owner gave us a tour of the recently renovated hotel rooms and we decided to book there and then. Each room is individually styled and it’s my intention to stay in a different one each time we visit!

The rooms are decorated and furnished to a very high standard. Contemporary but still traditional enough to be in keeping with the original Georgian architecture.

We were made to feel really welcome, and the hotel has a real cosy feel to it, very relaxing indeed. Our room overlooked the tiny centre of Grassington, very pretty indeed.

We booked dinner at the restaurant and once again were very impressed with the food and the service.

The beds are amazingly comfortable, like sleeping in a cuddle!

Breakfast was also perfectly cooked and well presented; hot coffee flowed as we took our time and lazed away the morning.

My husband and I stay at a lot of hotels so it’s always great to find something special and this was definitely that!

This places oozes taste and quality with lots of attention to detail.

We will return!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SparkyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grassington
0 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
140 reviews
0 mi away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
155 reviews
2.5 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ashfield House
Ashfield House
#6 of 20 in Grassington
281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grassington Lodge
Grassington Lodge
#1 of 20 in Grassington
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grassington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grassington House

Address: 5 The Square, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Grassington BD23 5AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Grassington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grassington
Price Range: $145 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grassington House 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grassington House, an award-winning restaurant with rooms in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales, and a beautiful three-storey Grade II listed Georgian residence. Owners John and Sue Rudden have been nurturing their corner of Grassington's market square for over seven years, focusing on a fine Yorkshire welcome that is laid back and relaxed, but delivers the highest quality from the food to the feather pillows. Two prestigious awards in 2016, one each for the restaurant and the accommodation, are testament to the fact that visitors to the picturesque market town can be assured a special experience. Food and accommodation are done the 'Grassington House way' - traditional luxury with a modern and eclectic twist. Grassington House is licensed for weddings, with complete takeover of the whole house possible. Enquire with us further to find out more about our wedding packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Grassington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grassington House Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing