We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great food, great service.”
Review of Grassington House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grassington House
Ranked #2 of 20 Grassington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2013

My wife treated me to a brief stay for my Birthday last week, we found the staff efficient and pleasant from start to finish, our room ( which had been upgraded ) was superb and the food excellent, would recommend this hotel as the location and parking is ideal. We shall return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (579)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 579 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

Fancy a break in the Yorkshire Dales? Like small boutique style hotels that don't cost a fortune? Then the Grassington House Hotel is the place to stay. Our room, The Square, was delightful, spacious and tastefully decorated with everything you expect from a hotel bedroom and more. Fresh milk for your tea, not cartons; homemade biscuits, not packets; full size toiletries for you to use as much or as little as you need and then leave the rest for the next guest, so sensible, avoiding all the waste of only half a miniature bottle being used every time; decent sized towels and bathrobes; a large flat screen television; two comfortable armchairs; plenty of lighting with dimmers, I could go on!
If you are looking for fine dining, that is not minimal or pretentious, then you will love the food. The restaurant is a restaurant, run not just for hotel guests which ensured a good atmosphere each night. Chef and owner, John Rudden, holds master classes, so is obviously confident in his abilities and the flavour he gets into his dishes demonstrates this. The staff are all efficient, friendly and thoughtful and made our stay one we will long remember.
Our only complaint, and it has nothing to do with the hotel, is that rubbish collections and deliveries when they are being rolled over the cobbles are not conducive to sleep. OK at 7.30 a.m. maybe I should be up and about, but the bed was comfortable and I am on holiday for goodness sake! This hotel is one we couldn't fault and we do not hesitate to recommend it, as long as that doesn't mean they won't have any availability when we want to come back, and we will!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hilaryandray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The first impression you have of the hotel is of a lovely Georgian facade that has ruined by signs that are out of keeping with the building and the overall ambience of the Square in which is situated. Internally, the hotel is designed to be of the period – but, in that, it could be a Georgian hotel anywhere. Our room had excellent views across the Square and the Dales. It has a Georgian style bed, sofa and chair, but other furniture that was of a different period which ruined the overall effect. One could imagine Jane Austin reclining on the sofa. However stylish it looked it was uncomfortable. The shower was good, but the broken handle shows a lack of attention to small detail.
The bar atmosphere was uninspiring, but this was offset by four hand pulled local beers.
The overall atmosphere was ruined also by having advertising material for the shower gels and shampoos placed at strategic places and also promotional brochures for the hotel on the breakfast tables.
The breakfast promised much but was disappointing. The home made porridge was nothing special. The much vaunted, home produced rare breed sausages were bland as was the bacon. The proprietoress serving breakfast was formal and efficient. We chose to eat across the road in the Devonshire Hotel. This seemed to have been vindicated the following day when whilst out walking we bumped into fellow guests who had eaten in house and ‘had noticed it one their bill, but were not impressed by the value.
In essence, the stay was pleasant enough but one night was enough. The owners seem to have spent a lot of time and, presumably, money recreating a Georgian style hotel which has been done many times over elsewhere. What it lacked was any sense of warmth, charm or the personal touches that make you want to come back or to recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Our room was most acceptable and clean. The staff were most helpful and our one night stay was a very pleasant experience. If you need a base in this area then you will not be disappointed by a stay at Grassington House Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Excellent staff, superb food in lovely surroundings. We enjoyed a lovely lunch here and were very impressed. Had a wander around the lovely shops in Grassington and then lunch here made for a splendid day out, we shall certainly pay another visit. I am sure it would be a lovely place to stay as well. It was a birthday treat and what a treat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Emerald130944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is our third stay at The Grassington House Hotel which was made to be extra special due to my wife's 50th Birthday, from the moment we checked in to the moment we left we could not fault the service we had recieved. I had asked for chocolates and champagne to be a surprise for my wife in the room on arrival and this was the extra mile that the staff had gone to in order to make our day and night one to remember. The food was absolutely second to non with nothing that could be improved. The rooms are comfortable and modern with lovely decor to make it look and feel welcoming. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wishes to have a fantastic time and enjoys fantastic food which is topped of by fantastic service. Mick and Angela

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickswift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We recently stayed overnight at The Grassington House in The Square Room. This room has a lovely view over the village square and is comfortably appointed. It has all the luxuries you would expect of a boutique hotel and the staff could not of been more helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We went on several walks around Grassington which really shows the Dales off to it's best. Our meal in the restaurant was super, I had the rag pudding which I believe is John Rudden's signature dish. It melted in your mouth. My partner had the fish dish which was faultless. All in all, a pleasure to stay and eat and we will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acidpixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grassington
0.0 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
139 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
147 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
824 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grassington Lodge
Grassington Lodge
#1 of 20 in Grassington
595 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashfield House
Ashfield House
#6 of 20 in Grassington
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grassington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grassington House

Address: 5 The Square, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Grassington BD23 5AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Grassington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grassington
Price Range: $142 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grassington House 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grassington House, an award-winning restaurant with rooms in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales, and a beautiful three-storey Grade II listed Georgian residence. Owners John and Sue Rudden have been nurturing their corner of Grassington's market square for over seven years, focusing on a fine Yorkshire welcome that is laid back and relaxed, but delivers the highest quality from the food to the feather pillows. Two prestigious awards in 2016, one each for the restaurant and the accommodation, are testament to the fact that visitors to the picturesque market town can be assured a special experience. Food and accommodation are done the 'Grassington House way' - traditional luxury with a modern and eclectic twist. Grassington House is licensed for weddings, with complete takeover of the whole house possible. Enquire with us further to find out more about our wedding packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Grassington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grassington House Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing