We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic, quaint and beautiful...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grassington House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grassington House
Ranked #2 of 22 Grassington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Historic, quaint and beautiful...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed at Grassington House Hotel on a trip around the Yorkshire Dales. We stayed at 5 hotels in total, all very different, but our room at Grassington was a stand-out. On arrival, the receptionist gave us a quick history lesson on the building, which at one stage was used as a bank. We were led up to our room, which we were told was the old safe room! There was a little safe compartment above the door, in a little set of stairs when you first walk in. The room was tastefully decorated and classy, and the bathroom was so unusual. A tiny passageway with low ceiling led to the big tub, which was like a little vault - it was so so cool. I wanted to spend some time on the cute little balcony, but it had gotten too cold by that time of year. We arrived quite late, so we reserved a table for dinner and watched some TV and had a quick soak in the tub. Little did we know we were about to have the best meal we've ever had! The restaurant seemed small, and simple - but the food served was just gorgeous. As we only stayed the one night, and headed off early to continue our road trip, I can't say much for the location and what's close-by. However for an indulgent quick trip and the most amazing food, Grassington totally hit the spot. I wouldnt hesitate to recommend it, and I often have mini daydreams about that amazing food............

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelDreamin82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    93
    26
    4
    0
See reviews for
71
322
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We gave a surprise dinner party and could not have chosen a better setting. The tables were beautifully dressed. The food,chosen in advance, looked interesting was delicious and hot,and the service from well groomed smiling staff was prompt and precise. There was no feeling of being rushed nor of too long between courses. No loud music,
The actual arranging of the evening was made very easy. The menu with three choices of starters mains and deserts offered meat fish and vegetarian on the first two and light medium or cheese for the last.! Coffee/tea and chocolates finished a perfectly paced dinner.
The Chef/patron and staff are to be congratulated on giving us all an evening to remember. I would also like to add a personal thank you. I am a wheelchair inhabitant. Access is often far from easy,and I always ask about whether they have suitable facilities. It could not be faulted.iwas helped to a
space at a table with room for my knees underneath.Anyone who uses a wheelchair will know what I mean,!
I have missed out one bit of information . The price of our fixed menu was very reasonable.i can heartily recommend No5 @ Grassington House House to you all.



Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WheelsGwenny27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We visit the Grassington House Hotel a few times a year & always have a great experience. Our favourite room is number 10 which has lovely window seats to view the pretty village square. When we arrived this time the room had just been redecorated, we didn't think it was possible for it to be better, but its now luxurious in red & gold! The food is delicious; steak is to die for & melts in the mouth! The staff cannot do enough to make the whole experience a perfect one. I highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bevwiles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
323 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

One night stay ( in the Cottage Room) and dinner in this stone-build hotel right in the middle of Grassington. that probably deserved 3.5 starts if only I could award that. Parking up the side of the hotel , not too far to trundle your bags to the hotel door. The initial sight is frankly non-too prepossessing and there doesn't really seem like there is too much in the way of public facilites outside the restaurant/bar . It is more of a restaurant with rooms. That said our room was fine- albeit too small for the very large bed. The public areas (including the restaurant are less prepossessing than the rooms and in that context the cooking is something of a surprise.

It was Monday which opened up the possibility of a "two four one " four course dinner which we took and it was indeed pretty good with a good beetroot smoked salmon ( nicer thatn I expected) , leek and potato soup and a nicely cooked filleted Dover sole followed by a selection of cheese.

I doubt we'd stay in Grassington again- its pretty but flatters to deceive a bit. If we did I'm sure we'd try the Grassington House again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidHBerkshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We in the area for family reasons and decided to have a nights escape. We could not have turned up a better place to stay. The welcome was warm and genuine. The room not huge but a decent size for one night with a huge bath and a great shower. The bed was very comfortable. the home made cookies presaged the truly excellent food that was to come.

Dinner was preceded by an excellent pint from a local micro brewery. Both the specials and the a la carte were full of temptations. The terrine with pigeon breast, guinea fowl and apricot was one of the nicest things I have tasted. We both chose lamb but different versions. We like it cooked pink and it was done to perfection. My dish also included a piece of cured, smoked breast of lamb. It was a revelation. The service was highly competent and came with the same genuine warmth as we had received on booking in. I have occasionally eaten in Michelin started restaurants. The food here was at least as good and the service better.

A truely delightful stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrianDrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful week in one of the most beautiful parts of the the UK. Everywhere we went the food was not only superb, but came in copious amounts (no penny-pinching in this part of the country). With increasing waistlines we were forced to look for maybe a higher end restaurant that might serve smaller portions. We were so fortunate to find the ideal restaurant at 5 The Square, located within the Grassington Hotel, in the tourist trap village of the same name. The standard of service, menu and quality of food were exceptional - so good that we had to make a return visit. We would fully recommend the restaurant to anyone visiting the area, but please make a reservation to avoid disappointment, its that good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Having just spent a night at Grassington House Hotel with our friends from the South of France, we felt that we just had to express our views on this gem of a hotel The hotel is beautifully decorated and very clean. The staff were wonderful. Very polite and attentive to all our needs.
We ate in the restaurant in the evening, there was a good selection of mouth watering dishes and we were not dissapointed with our choices, the food was absolutely wonderful. Full marks to the Chef and his team. In the morning we had a very tasty breakfast with everything that you could possibly want.
We will definitely visit this lovely part of Yorkshire again and look forward to staying at this unique hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raymond p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grassington
0.0 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
14.8 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grassington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grassington House

Property: Grassington House
Address: 5 The Square | Grassington, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Grassington BD23 5AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Grassington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Grassington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grassington House 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grassington House, an award-winning restaurant with rooms in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales, and a beautiful three-storey Grade II listed Georgian residence. Owners John and Sue Rudden have been nurturing their corner of Grassington's market square for over seven years, focusing on a fine Yorkshire welcome that is laid back and relaxed, but delivers the highest quality from the food to the feather pillows. Two prestigious awards in 2016, one each for the restaurant and the accommodation, are testament to the fact that visitors to the picturesque market town can be assured a special experience. Food and accommodation are done the 'Grassington House way' - traditional luxury with a modern and eclectic twist. Grassington House is licensed for weddings, with a complete and extraordinary takeover of the whole house. Enquire with us further to find out more about our wedding packages. And if you want Grassington House to come to you, then Grassington House Outside catering is available for industry-leading event planning and catering. Specialising in corporate events, wedding catering and hosted dinners at home, let us take the strain out of delivering a successful event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grassington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grassington House Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing