We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Room”
Review of Grassington House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grassington House
Ranked #2 of 20 Grassington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely Room”
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

The room was excellent and I couldn't find fault with it, it was toasty warm. The bar staff were a bit mixed on helpfulness, the owners son couldn't do enough for us, even going home to get us a pack of cards! However the other barman wasn't so helpful, when we asked if he could change the music from the jazz that had been on repeat for the last hour, his reply was no as it was 'friendly music' even though we were the only party in the bar! He did however change it 5 minutes later! There is free wifi at the hotel for guests but you had to relog in after 5 minutes which was a tad annoying.
We dined in the restaurant, the service was great as was the food, my only gripe was the very runny creme brûlée. Breakfast again was great. All in all a great little hotel,in a lovely village which we will be returning to.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank becsmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evelyn190, Owner at Grassington House, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment, Im so sorry that your request to change the music was responded to in such a negative manor. Had you not taken the time to comment we would be none the wiser and therefore would not have been able address the issue with the member of staff concerned. I can only apologise & look forward to welcoming you back to Grassington House in the future. Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    98
    28
    4
    0
See reviews for
76
349
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
north yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We just stayed for a weekend dinner bed and breakfast at this charming hotel and enjoyed every minute. The staff are wonderfully friendly and welcoming and try to meet your every need. The rooms were large and individually decorated- our friends had a bath tub in their room whereas we had a view of the square and hills. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were modern and clean.
However the food is the best thing about this hotel. We had eaten here once before and booked a stay on the strength of how we had all enjoyed our meals. The breakfast is fabulous, everything done to an excellent standard and they even have their own pigs to provide excellent bacon and sausage. The evening meals were absolutely gorgeous both nights. I wish this standard of food was available in more restaurants, everything was cooked and presented perfectly. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and we would definitely go back.

Room Tip: The rooms with views are on the top floor, we had room 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcyNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
607 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

A warm welcome awaits at No5 The Square in Grassington. We were shown to our room, with everything we needed to know explained, by a very pleasant receptionist. The decor and fittings are first rate creating a positive vibe. It was an easy decision to take dinner in the house restaurant, and we were not disappointed: the sharing platter starters are excellent and three types of fresh bread rolls were on offer. We had haddock and strips of fillet steak and both were delicious. The batter was the lightest I have ever had, the fish itself stunning and the minted pea mash very tasty - the chips of course were great too! My wife is still talking about her main course two days later!! We took coffee in the lounge bar and the choice of bean is first rate - the same was available at breakfast, and in the room. Service from the restaurant staff was attentive and unobtrusive. Breakfast was looked forward to and again we were impressed by the service and menu choices - the bacon and sausage coming from the hosts own pigs reared locally. The owners try really hard to provide good value and have a range of offers to maintain occupancy rates at a high level. We would certainly return and recommend No 5 The Square to others.

Room Tip: All rooms are individual so ask for the size and specification at the time of making your booking: T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malcsaville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We called at Grassington on a December Sunday hoping to find somewhere for lunch. There were several places but we chose Grassington House Hotel. Luckily we arrived at around noon and were able to get a table - it was fully booked a little later. We both had home made Vine Tomato Soup, followed by traditional Sunday Lunch. The locally reared beef was slow-cooked to perfection and had a superb flavour. A selection of oven roasted and other vegetable plus a Yorkshire Pudding and roast potatoes were served. We were offered more but declined. From the selection of desserts offered, We chose Fruit Crumble with a home-made custard.

The meal was one of the best Sunday Lunches that we have enjoyed and the staff were very pleasant and attentive. We look forward to being in the area again and visiting this restauant. The cost of the lunch was £14.50 for two courses or £16.50 for three courses.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnapperLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We recently spent another night at the fabulous Grassington House Hotel. From the cosy bar, to the elegantly furnished bedrooms and on to the dining experience, this hotel must tick all the boxes for anybody who requires top class service in a small and friendly environment. The menu is varied to suit all tastes, This is only as good as the food that comes out of the kitchen,and believe me, there aren't too many chefs who are as good as John Rudden and his team, who deliver every time! Front of house is run by his wife Sue, who along with her team provide an equally top class service for guests. If you are in the area,try it out, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Front rooms overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halifax
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We visited Grassington House at the Dickensian Weekend, we had made our booking while at the previous Dickensian weekend a year before. We weren't disappointed, the food and the service were excellent..

The mulled wine is the best i've ever tasted! Well worth a visit.

We didn't stay, we just dined here but the hotel looks lovely too, small and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoylek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We had a meal in the bar sitting next to the fire, a nice place to sit on a cold night. The food was very good along with friendly attentive service. I had a turkey dinner which was high quality and very enjoyable. The restaurant was busy with parties of locals who clearly see this as a good place to eat. It is unpretentious and well worth a visit if in the Dales.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susieQ321_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grassington
0.0 mi away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
118 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
7.9 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
584 reviews
18.4 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
398 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashfield House
Ashfield House
#6 of 20 in Grassington
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grassington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grassington House

Property: Grassington House
Address: 5 The Square, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Grassington BD23 5AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Grassington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grassington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grassington House 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grassington House, an award-winning restaurant with rooms in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales, and a beautiful three-storey Grade II listed Georgian residence. Owners John and Sue Rudden have been nurturing their corner of Grassington's market square for over seven years, focusing on a fine Yorkshire welcome that is laid back and relaxed, but delivers the highest quality from the food to the feather pillows. Two prestigious awards in 2016, one each for the restaurant and the accommodation, are testament to the fact that visitors to the picturesque market town can be assured a special experience. Food and accommodation are done the 'Grassington House way' - traditional luxury with a modern and eclectic twist. Grassington House is licensed for weddings, with a complete and extraordinary takeover of the whole house. Enquire with us further to find out more about our wedding packages. And if you want Grassington House to come to you, then Grassington House Outside catering is available for industry-leading event planning and catering. Specialising in corporate events, wedding catering and hosted dinners at home, let us take the strain out of delivering a successful event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Grassington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grassington House Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing