We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visit to old friends and family”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of New Laithe House

New Laithe House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grassington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
New Laithe House
Ranked #21 of 21 Grassington B&B and Inns
Oshawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Visit to old friends and family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

Highly recomend to anyone visiting the area for hiking, sightseeing, fishing or for just getting away to relax. Agnes & Edward go above and beyond to make your stay a very pleasurable experience and the hugh breakfast will prepare you for the day ahead.

Room Tip: Rooms are big, airy and have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnHunter6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    1
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

We have just returned from New Laithe House. The room was clean although we had to ask for another set of towels as there was only sufficent for one guest. The room was cold when we arived at 2:30pm. Our room was near the noisy central heating boiler and the room walls were so thin you can hear other guests including their 'toilet activities'. Not the most pleasant of experiences!!!!! Plenty of parking and very close to the centre of the village. However, the Landlady did not always present a welcoming and warm approach to her guests. She appeared obsessed with the handing back of the room keys and made little if any effort towards small talk or conversation. The breakfast was very contrived as was the 'strict' seating arrangements. The choice of cereals and condiments were limited although that said, the cooked breakfast itself was nice. All in all, not a B&B representative of a four star award and certainly not value for money at £75.00 per double room per night. Shop around!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pete G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2010

We have just returned from a lovely relaxing trip to Grassington. Our stay at New Laithe House was faultless. The atmosphere was warm and friendly. The room was nice and spacious and very clean. The owners are very friendly and made us feel very welcome. The breakfast was tasty and plentiful. This is our third visit as a couple to Grassington and our first stay at New Laithe House and it was by far our best choice of accommodation and definitely where we will still on our next visit. We can guarantee you will not be disappointed, whether you are staying as a couple or with children.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DANDSEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2010

We have just spent another 5 days at New Laithe (we visited this time last year).

As before, we found this guest house the ideal base for our holiday in the Yorkshire Dales. The view from our room was stunning with uninterrupted views over the Wharfe valley – a view that we became accustomed to last year, hence we asked for the same room this year).

Being in our mid-40’s, we appreciate home cooking and home comforts and that’s what we received at this guest house. The room was light and airy and the cleanliness superb as were the breakfastrs which were the ideal start for a days walking!

The owners of the guest house were also most accommodating – giving us some suggested routes for walks with maps and offering some books of the local area so that we could read up about the best places to visit.

The only downside to our stay this year was from an obnoxious woman who was attending a wedding in the area. She appeared to complain about everything and made many of the other guests feel uncomfortable during breakfast (quite probably the previous reviewer) .

Overall we would highly recommend this guest house for anyone that wants to escape the rat race but not for raucous wedding guests who would be better off staying in Manchester.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clive W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2010

The room size, cleanliness and location were ok if over priced, however the main reason for our negative review is the appalling level of service.

The landlady was pushy and controlling and upon discovering we were in the area for a wedding, made it very clear to us that we were not welcome in her B+B. This made for a very uncomfortable atmosphere during our two day stay, and we were both very glad to pay up and escape as early as possible on the final day.

This said, Grassington is a lovely little village in the heart of the national park with many nice pubs and friendly cafes- definitely work a visit. Do shop around for your B+B though!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sea_Bee81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2009

A perfect place to stay for my wife and me while attending the Grassington festival. Good full English breakfast. Friendly hosts. Highly recommended. They even liked the Hollies, the group we went to see in the evening. And the box office staff at the festival were gorgeous too.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knutsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2009

I have just stayed at New Laithe House and cannot fault it. It is 2 mins from the village square - close to all the pubs and restaurants.

It has plenty of car parking, the rooms were extremly clean and also spacious.

The breakfast was fantastic - especially the fried eggs!

I would highly recommend it.

  • Liked — Great breakfast, lovely rooms and views
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mulderat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grassington hotels
0.1 mi away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Forester's Arms
Forester's Arms
#18 of 21 in Grassington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ashfield House
Ashfield House
#6 of 21 in Grassington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
1.7 mi away
Orchard House Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Grassington Lodge
Grassington Lodge
#1 of 21 in Grassington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Laithe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Laithe House

Property: New Laithe House
Address: Wood Lane, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Grassington BD23 5LU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Grassington
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Grassington
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
New Laithe House Grassington, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing