We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Raines Close Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Raines Close Guest House
Ranked #10 of 22 Grassington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

great week - would recommend - breakfast was lovely, David and Geraldine were great hosts.
We will definately be back.
The room was spotless and we were very comfortable.The location could not have better, just a short walk to the shops and and a short stroll in the evening to eat.We were very impressed with the guest house and Grassington itself. Everyone from our hosts to the people we met were welcoming and very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidandGeraldine, Owner at Raines Close Guest House, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Glad you enjoyed the whole Grassington experience! Next time you may want to come to the Grassington Festival in the Summer, or perhaps our 1940's weekend in September or our Dickensian Festival in December! There are often things to do here, in addition to enjoying the wonderful countryside and Raines Close of course! Many thanks for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
48
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

This is a lovely guest house with great views across Wharfedale. The house is beautifully maintained and spotlessly clean. The hosts, David and Geraldine, were friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were very warm and comfortable, and the breakfast choice was varied, plentiful and delicious. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lobsterpotDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidandGeraldine, Owner at Raines Close Guest House, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
What wonderful comments! It seems that more and more of our guests use this medium to locate us! Thank you very much indeed. We look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had a small but comfortable room with a private bathroom (with robes) across the corridor. All spotlessly clean and well equipped. Breakfast was great too: lovely fresh berries and yoghurt to go with the muesli and a fantastic cooked breakfast. Very friendly hosts also helped us to find a good place to eat in the evening.
Highly recommended !

Room Tip: Bigger rooms with en-suites are available, just ask when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul_n52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidandGeraldine, Owner at Raines Close Guest House, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to post a review. Guests feedback is always welcome. It is rewarding to know that some days we seem to get it right!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

One night only unfortunately, but it was delightful! Lovely clean home of Geraldine and David, gorgeous views from our back of the house ground-floor room. It was warm and comfortable, with nice finishing touches, the hosts were friendly and flexible, and the breakfast was really nice, they catered for individual needs and offered a good selection and variety of foods ...more than most. Overall an excelllent stay and very happy to go their again - in fact I'd like to!!

Room Tip: Back of the house rooms offers lovely veiws.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Confusingkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidandGeraldine, Owner at Raines Close Guest House, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your very welcome comments. We hope your trip to Grassington was a case of "Mission accomplished!" and that you returned home with a sucessful purchase.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Just back from a short stay at Raines Close. What a good find. Friendly hosts.lovely bright warm room on the ground floor with beautiful views of open countryside. Everything was spotlessly clean and well presented. Breakfast was beautifully cooked and very generous. We liked. Raines Close so much we booked the same room again for Grassington festival. The b&b has private parking and is literally a 2 minute walk from the village centre. Try it out and see what you think!

Room Tip: Ground floor room has access to garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LancashireHonesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidandGeraldine, Owner at Raines Close Guest House, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
What better than LancashireHonesty!! Thank you so much. Glad we lived up to your expectations! Look forward to seeing you again later in the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed at the Raines close guest house for two nights at the end of November 2012 and what a find! Geraldine and David (the owners) couldn't do enough for us, lovely couple. The house is located a two minute walk (if that) from the main square in grassington but is just far enough out for it to be quiet. The breakfast both mornings was fantastic, there was a great choice of fresh fruit, cereals etc and the full English was spot on! My girlfriend and I both said it was one of the nicest, cleanest, friendliest places we have stayed in a long long time, we will definitely be staying again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Badja90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidandGeraldine, Owner at Raines Close Guest House, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
So glad you enjoyed your stay - and many thanks for your kind comments. It turned out to be a memorable weekend for us too! We hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed at Raines Close on the 9th and 10th November 2012
If you want to stay in Grassington you can't do better than RAINES CLOSE GUEST HOUSE. A friendly welcome, comfortable room and better than average food went to make a most enjoyable stay. They also catered very well for my husbands coeliac condition. An ideal spot for touring the southern dales.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidandGeraldine, Owner at Raines Close Guest House, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments given before you left - and which are repeated here.
A win for Wharfedale in more than one repect! We look forward to seeing you again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grassington
0.2 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
2.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ashfield House
Ashfield House
#6 of 22 in Grassington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
1.7 mi away
Orchard House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raines Close Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raines Close Guest House

Property: Raines Close Guest House
Address: 13 Station Road, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Grassington, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Grassington
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Grassington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raines Close is situated about a five minute walk from this beautiful village set in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales. It has four very comfortable rooms of which three offer en-suite shower rooms and the fourth has its own private bathroom. Set in exceptionally well maintained gardens, the property enjoys wonderful views over Wharfedale. There is also ample parking. Raines Close is open most of the year with the exception of the Christmas holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Raines Close Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raines Close Guest House Grassington, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing