We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Raines Close Guest House
Ranked #12 of 20 Grassington B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed here with friends for a couple of nights. The proprietors David and Geraldine have a delightful B&B right on the edge of the little village of Grassington.

Everything about the place gets my vote: it is exceptionally clean, beautifully decorated, comfortable and a perfect location for exploring the village or the wider Dales. Breakfast is just wonderful - a great choice of food with vegetarian option if required.

Don't try anywhere else - this is as good as it gets!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ric-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidandGeraldine, Owner at Raines Close Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

"Don't try anywhere else - this is as good as it gets!" What an overwhelming compliment. Thank you. We always try to maintain our standards and look forward to seeing you again when you are next in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 85 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

Have just spent 3 nights a Raines and it was perfect, this being our second stay. From the moment you arrive you receive a warm welcome from David and Geraldine and nothing is to much trouble. The rooms are bright, comfortable, warm and very clean, in fact everything seems to have been taken into consideration to ensure their guests are well catered for. Our room was a ground floor twin with french windows that led out into the garden. It was so nice to come in and make a drink from the well stocked hospitality tray and admire the views. The breakfast I think is the best we have had. There is a selection of fresh fruit, yoghurt and cereal, followed by an excellent cooked breakfast, plenty of tea and coffee. toast, jam and marmalade all served in the friendly dining room which boasts fantastic views over the Dales. There is good parking at the front, which anyone who has visited Grassington knows that this is a bonus. We left feeling very relaxed and booked for a return visit. I would recommend a stay at Raines to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidandGeraldine, Owner at Raines Close Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Many thanks for your kind comments. What B&B owner wouldn't be thrilled to have that said about them? We'll do our utmost to do it all again on your next visit! Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed 1 night with my 7 year old daughter on a last minute walking holiday. Friendly, clean and accommodating. Great twin room with fantastic views, David and Geraldine were the perfect hosts. We were able to check in early and leave our bags and park the car before setting off on our walk.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonandvic12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We have just spent 3 nights at Raines Close. The room was tastefully decorated, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very nice with a choice of fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereal and a very nicely cooked full english breakfast. It's in a good location near the village and the hosts were friendly and helpful. We couldn't ask for more especially as it was also competatively priced.
We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We spent three nights at Raines Close when we walked the first three legs of the Dales Way. The location was excellent - just a short walk in to Grassington, where there was a wide choice of places to eat in the evenings. The rooms were very comfortable indeed and it was very homely. We received a very warn and friendly welcome from David and Geraldine. There were lots of little extras too, like the flasks of fresh milk to take up to the room for evening drinks and morning tea.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivanhoe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Four of us stayed here for a couple of days of walking in the dales. The location is great (good walking, and good pubs with food for afterwards), the rooms well appointed and comfortable, and the owners, David and Geraldine were welcoming and incredibly helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrumblingDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

David and Geraldine could not have done more to make my surprise birthday weekend nicer.Everything was spot on.Lovely comfortable rooms , Great views. Fabulous breakfast with great choice! Can't wait to revisit !

Room Tip: All the rooms are really comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judith r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grassington hotels
1.7 mi away
Orchard House Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Grassington Lodge
Grassington Lodge
#1 of 20 in Grassington
595 reviews
1.6 mi away
Clarendon Inn
Clarendon Inn
#3 of 4 in Hebden
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grassington House
Grassington House
#2 of 20 in Grassington
579 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashfield House
Ashfield House
#6 of 20 in Grassington
278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raines Close Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raines Close Guest House

Address: 13 Station Road, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Grassington, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Grassington
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grassington
Price Range: $32 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raines Close is situated about a five minute walk from this beautiful village set in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales. It has four very comfortable rooms of which three offer en-suite shower rooms and the fourth has its own private bathroom. Set in exceptionally well maintained gardens, the property enjoys wonderful views over Wharfedale. There is also ample parking. Raines Close is open most of the year with the exception of the Christmas holiday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Raines Close Guest House Grassington, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing