We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveler rating
15
18
5
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
18
5
2
3
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 43 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2015

Stayed one night here on a business trip to nearby Tutzing. It is a typical German Gasthof with the bedrooms refurbished in the last few years.
The reception is closed for most of the day, including the afternoon/evening so you must go the bar and find someone, which we did and they showed us the lift and told us where our room was on the first floor. Personally, I do not want to negotiate my arrival in front of customers in a bar. Maybe I am expecting too much.
We booked a larger room that was actually an apartment so it was quite large. It was very clean, had good fittings and furniture except for the ancient small tube television. This was hard to operate with 2 remotes and the picture and sound were awful. The rooms overall lacked any charm, but maybe I expect too much. It was a cold day (10c) and we wanted some heating on but this had evidently been switched off as none of the radiators warmed up at all. The rooms were, therefore, cool and less inviting.
Our room had a large balcony but this was almost unusable as it was raining a little and the wooden boards were dangerously slippy. One of the boards was rotted through presenting another danger. Also the balcony was built onto the roof of an extension below and sloped at quite an odd angle towards the edge.
The Gasthof has an OK restaurant with typical German/Bavarian dishes at reasonable prices. The food is OK not exceptional. Portions are, as ever in Germany, big.
Room prices here are pretty good, especially so when compared to Tutzing down the road. The staff are friendly enough. None seemed to have any English, but that is not a minus point, just a caution to fellow travelers. (We have some German anyway.)
Yes, it is OK, not at all bad.

  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NickWass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2015

It is a really lovely place where to stay in this region. A nice little quiet hotel with nicely decorated rooms in bright colors, modern bathroom, comfy bed, a normal wifi, a very good resturant with local dishes, a beautiful countryside next to the lake, smooth soft bells of monastry belltower ringing nearby - what else to wish from a romantic trip to Gemany?

  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lia513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2014

An excellent country hotel and local pub in a quiet vilaage. The accomodation was spacious, very clean with good furniture. Our room was more an apartment with large double bedroom, lounge, sittiing area and cooking facilities plus good sized bathroom. Double doors opened on to the front veranda with seats and table. We arrived very late due to weather closure of London Airport for some hours and nearly 1.5 hours after the kitchen had closed. Despite that a very good salad was produced very quickly. The standard of food we had for the rest of our stay was very good 'country' meals. Well cooked and more than adaquate quantity.
DO NOT go here if you expect large city type hotels with much bowing and scraping. You will not get it. Have at least some German as English is not spoken by all staff, including the landlord.

  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay at this establishment. Updated bathroom with shower was great. Comfortable beds and very quiet room. Actually the whole neighborhood is very quiet. Approx. four-minute walk to the lake. We watched the moon rise from a boat dock--spectacular. Highly recommended. The restaurant/biergarten in the premise serves great Bavarian meals. Friendly staff--enough English so that we can get what we needed. Free Wifi in the room had good connection. Off the street parking along the hotel was adequate. if you are in the area, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 808MikeN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We have to give this hotel a terrible rating. We had booked our room two months earlier and had an email confirmation of room and half board. However, on arrival we we told that no room was available "because of a computer problem", a commonly-heard excuse that is as plausible as "The dog ate my homework". Sure enough, we were later told by a staff member that guests in "our" room who had booked in January had decided to extend their four days to five, thus bumping us. This decision on the hotel's part is contrary to hotel ethics and practice. We were given instead a bare-bones room, rather like student accommodation, in a seminar building about a quarter mile away. The building was eerily empty. We felt unpleasantly isolated. The whole building was over- heated. We turned off the radiators in our room, but the heat penetrated from the rest of the building anyway. We slept badly because of the heat. We couldn't risk leaving the window open, because directly outside was a flat roof from which anyone of normal height could have reached in to the window handle and gain access.
This stark, concrete accommodation was a far call from the romantic, half-timbered hotel we had seen online and in fact saw on our arrival.
The evening meal, to which we had to walk in the rain, was satisfactory, but not brilliant. Breakfast next morning was good, comparable to average German hotel breakfasts.
We cannot comment on the quality of the rooms, since we never saw them.
The hotel owner (?) reduced our bill by cancelling the charges for our evening meal and the drink each of us had with it. But this in no way compensated for what was an unpleasant experience and a major disappointment. Needless to say (but we'll say it anyway!) we would not recommend this hotel, except to our worst enemy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jaxn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews