We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Rural and good location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Byre

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Kilchoan, Ardnamurchan Peninsula, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ReggieSH
Pinneberg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rural and good location”
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a pleasent stay in Kilchoan. The house was leasure, well equipped and the host was very gentle and helpful. The location is quite close to the ferry harbour to Tobermory, so that you can visit Mull. Furthermore you can book a tour to Staffa and Lunga, which starts in Kilchoan. The accommodation has a nice atmosphere and a great view to the sound of Mull. Thank you very much!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Besondere Ausstattung, sehr nette Gastgeber!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasoy65
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wee gem ”
Reviewed August 21, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Just back from a week in The Byre and it's a fantastic wee gem of a cottage. Everything you need to make for a lovely chilled break. John and Jacqui were so helpful and always on hand. Will definitely go back when the batteries are needing recharged.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal”
Reviewed June 2, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Lovely location we were made very welcome by John and Jaquie they were always around for help or advice the cottage was really nice quaint the log burner was fabulous when we needed to light it but the location was ideal in close walking distance to the ferry stores the kilchoan hotel and also the ferry to Tobamorey.I would have no hesitation in recommending this cottage

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The peak roof bedroom
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Break”
Reviewed April 13, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We had a fantastic few days relaxing in The Byre which provided a backdrop to our first exploration of Ardnamurchan - we'll be back!

The Byre is comfortable and well equipped and ideal for a couple. John and Jacqui are very friendly and chatted away without being nosey or intrusive. John was very helpful in ensuing we settled in well and knew where everything was. The stove was great and logs/peat were readily available.

There is limited mobile internet signal in Ardnamurchan but The Byre has good Wifi for those of you who need to update social media on your break.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2016
Many thanks for your lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsten L
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent base for exploration :-)”
Reviewed February 19, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Though a little difficult to find (we arrived in the dark!), we were greeted by John who instantly made us welcome. We were shown to The Byre where the lit woodburner and gentle lighting invited us in.

We were in Kilchoan, Ardnamurchan to enjoy it's beauty and to photograph it! We wanted cosy, comfortable and affordable accommodation and that's exactly what we got. We didn't travel to the most westerly point in the UK to dine out and dress up so if those things or minimalistic, contemporary styling is important to you, then you'd not be happy here!

Everything we needed was available and a hard working John was very close by to advise and promote the beautiful location he is privileged to call home. (Thank you John!)

We were extremely lucky with the weather. Sanna Bay is stunning ... For us, The Byre provided a perfect base for exploration.

Loved it!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
983marion
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy hideaway in stunning location”
Reviewed November 3, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We received a warm welcome in more ways than one at The Byre as the managers, John and Jacqui, both came to meet us and John had lit the excellent Squirrel stove which was very welcome after a long and wet and windy drive. The cottage is comfortable and cosy and despite being attached to the Steading Holidays office and shop is very private and peaceful surrounded by a garden and view of the sea from the bedroom and lounge. It is ideally situated as there is a well stocked 'tardis' shop and a pub in the village where you can enjoy a bar meal if you don't feel like cooking. You can also take a short ferry journey from Kilchoan across to Tobermory on Mull but we found there was plenty to enjoy in that area of the Ardnamurchan peninsula if you enjoy walking, lovely scenery and opportunity to see a Golden or Sea Eagle, such as we did. All in all, a lovely holiday at The Byre.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Squirrel stove
Liked least: The tapered ceiling in the bedroom but you can't do anything about that!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charli198...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“A very special find and a gem of cottage and setting”
Reviewed October 21, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The Byre is a fantastic cottage. It has everything one needs for a romantic and adventurous break. We felt very at home there and enjoyed the log fire in the evenings to relax after out outdoor adventures. The garden has apple trees and I really enjoyed making apple crumble in the evenings as a wee treat :-) I would highly recommend anyone go here, especially couples. The owners are very attentive and friendly and the area in general is fantastic.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The log fire and spiral staircase up to the bedroom
Liked least: maybe a shower might be good as well as the bath?
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing