We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fish and Chips”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kilchoan House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilchoan
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great Fish and Chips”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We only ate here and at first were a little disappointed that there is a limited menu on a Friday due to it being Fish and Chip night. We didn't really fancy fish and chips until several people around us received their's. As they looked so good we just had to try some and were not disappointed. Sometimes there can be too many options on a menu!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaff_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    42
    25
    15
    8
See reviews for
27
58
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

After two trips in 2011 and 2012 when there was no food and little atmosphere we visited Kilchoan again June 23rd - 30th 2013 and were delighted to discover a greatly improved inn under new management.

The new chef had started that week and was personable as well as providing excellent food. We were happy to abandon the week's supply of food and alcohol we had brought to our cottage, and enjoyed two nights in the restaurant and another at the bar.

Highly recommended.

Looking forward to the same next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwest_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Drove through from Skye after climbing the Cuillins we had decided we would do Ben Hiant before heading to tackle Ben more on Mull. When we made it to the top of Ben Hiant we were very fortunate to come across a flyer on the pole advertising The Kilchoan Hotel. A quick phone call from the top of Kilchoan,not only confirmed us dinner but also accommodation for the night. We were greeted at the bar by the landlady who showed us to our lovely room,after a shower we enjoyed a dinner fit for a king, then had a fantastic night in the bar with a mixture of locals and tourists like us. We had a great stay and now we are back home in Liverpool we are already planning another trip up to Kilchoan before the end of summer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Regular visitors to the Ardnamurchan we always call into the Kilchoan House Hotel for a light lunch and the Friday night fish supper. The new management team have really lifted the place since our last visit in 2011 and offer a genuine warm welcome with excellent food and service. Not to be missed on any visit to the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
addingham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

this hotel has recently changed management and with it comes a new menu in the bar/restaurant . the menu is very limited and grossly overpriced , the food mediocre. we were very dissapointed as we have been using this hotel for many years and as it is only one of two at the end of the peninsula there is very limited choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elaine a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Great place to stay, can't believe the change since our visit last year. We will definitely be back for our annual trip to the lovely Ardnamurchan! Would recommend this to friends and family back home in Cardiff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

My colleague and i stayed here for one night, they were not even open and had only recently taken over the place from the previous tennants. But we were in dire need of accommodation for the night and it was either, stay at the Sonachan, or drive to Fort William at 10pm, So they were very accommodating and made a room up specially for us, very basic but great at short notice! We had a lovely dinner in the bar and a few pints while blethering to Sarah McKinnon, the bar maid, who made us very welcome, and if we are ever working there again we will certainly stay here, great place!!

Room Tip: any of the rooms are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilchoan
5.2 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
693 reviews
12.0 mi away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
11.7 mi away
Loch Shiel Hotel
Loch Shiel Hotel
#2 of 2 in Acharacle
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
17.2 mi away
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
17.2 mi away
Arisaig Hotel
Arisaig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Arisaig
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilchoan House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilchoan House Hotel

Property: Kilchoan House Hotel
Address: Acharacle, Argyll, PH36 4LH,, Kilchoan PH36 4LH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Ardnamurchan Peninsula > Kilchoan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilchoan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Kilchoan House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilchoan House Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing