We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, hospitality & facilities”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sainte Nathalene
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camping Domaine des Mathevies
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, hospitality & facilities”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Patrick & Natalie were very welcoming and hospitable - they've created a really lovely space with great facilities and a really chilled atmosphere. Although we had brought food with us, we were tempted by the Cosy Nook Cafe, which is an awesome space with heaps of outdoor tables as well as a big barn-like indoor area with cosy seating (and the all-important wi-fi connection!). The food was delicious with plenty of vegetarian choices - we had homemade quiche, salad & soup. It seemed like a great place for families too, with lots to entertain. We could have easily stayed longer!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllieMayNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    14
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
82
33
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed at this this lovely little campsite nestled in the Dordogne countryside last summer to take some photos for our Family Camping Cookbook (www.familycampingcookbook.com). We couldn't have chosen a better site! Patrick and Natalie McAlpine, the owners, gave us a very warm welcome and a lovely pitch overlooking the meadow, with the pool in the distance. The children immediately fell in love with the place, and we felt very comfortable letting them roam free and play with other children on the site. Although we cooked up our own meals from our book, to sample and photograph, we were only too happy to eat in their little cafe/restaurant, which served very good meals for all the family. With everything you need facilities-wise, and yet retaining a low-key charm, I would highly recommend this little find to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed here early June 2012 for 8 nights... Myself, my wife and our 3 year old son. What a Great little site. So friendly, loads to keep my son amused. playground, swimming pool, tree house and sand pit outside the bar, and a playroom inside, off of the bar area. nice location, out in the sticks but close enough to town for supermarkets etc ( 15 min drive )

Toilets, showers and sinks always very clean. Food was great ( best home made hummus I've ever tasted ) and all good value, except the chips... 6 euros a bowl ! they were good chips but really, everyone knows the cost of potatoes. Don't let the chips put you off though.

My 3 years old son had a great time. met some little friends, and even a nervous parent like myself was happy to let him wander off to play ( to a certain extent ) happy he was safe. Great site for younger kids.

Thank you Pat, Nat and Chris, a pleasure meeting you all. We had a great time, and hopefully return soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HertsAndyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campmathevies, Owner at Camping Domaine des Mathevies, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our campsite. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we are sorry that you found the chips expensive.

We do try to offer a selection of menu choices for our guests. The chips start at €2 for a single serving and a €4 portion serves 2 people. The €6 portion you ordered actually serves 4 people. As two people sharing, perhaps we should have recommended the €4 option.

We were delighted to read you enjoyed our campsite. It was very pleasing to read your comments, particularly your complement about our hummus. We hope you enjoyed a very memorable time in the Dordogne.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

After several weeks making our way down from the north coast of France, and a variety of indifferent camp sites it was a true pleasure to come across Patrick and Nat's property. It was also unplanned; we were checking out sites that were sign posted along the way, bit frustrating at this time of year as many were not yet open. We were therefore delighted to find that Mathevies was and that we were the first visitors of the season. We were made to feel very welcome, in a relaxed manner that as NZ'ers we really appreciated. Comfortable and casual with all the necessary amenities that you'd expect. Best shower for miles, lots of hot water and a decent sized shower head!

As the first of the season we had full choice of sites which are well spread out, with ample choice of private or more open, overlooking the pool or across into the country side- which is attractive rolling farm and woodland. It was early in the season so the grounds were still in spring mode, but we imagine that it is a charming site when everything has leaves etc. Patrick was hard at work upgrading the pool, which by now will be finished and ready for use. Too cold when we were there! Lovely farm house courtyard, old renovated buildings, and a cosy relaxed lounge/bar area. We needed wifi so stuck fairly close to the main house where reception was satisfactory. Before we left we shared a coffee with Patrick and Natalie, got some useful travel tips and set off again after a very pleasant stay.

Thoroughly recommended for those wanting a longer stay or for Antipodean travelers passing through!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NCD C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We spent 8 wonderful days in this beautiful, friendly little campsite in the Dordogne. The owners are very helpful, the views from the site are fabulous and the overall atmosphere is just perfect. You have everything on hand that you could want ...a lovely pool, clean hot showers, a little cafe area with comfy seats and wifi..and just total peace. My favourite campsite ever!

Room Tip: Spot 22 was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppy94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

As soon as we arrived we were met by a very enthusiastic and most friendly couple who own and run the site. They were a delight throughout our stay, helpful in every way. Even though we came at the end of the holiday season when most sites look "tired" Mathevies was very clean and tidy. Although we were a couple in our 50/s we just wished we had children with us as it is such a child friendly and family site but we still did not feel excluded. Certain touches really caught the eye, such as wooden blocks in front of the toilet facilites in order that the children could reach the facilities and the fresh flowers in the toilet area (I have never seen this before) in 30 odd years of caravan and camping. Other reviews have mentioned that areas are "grubby" this certainly was not in evidence on our stay. I would certainly recommend it to my friends and family as it was good value for money especially compared with other sites we have stayed on. Keep up the friendly and laid back manner Patrick and Natalie. as you are the heart and soul of Mathevies.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Domaine des Mathevies is a lovely site in a beautiful area. The owners were welcoming and made us feel at home. The camping pitches are nicely spread out so you never feel too cramped like you do in some sites. The cafe is great for essentials but perhaps a little pricey compared with the other amazing food offerings in this very foodie area.

The pool is ok - perhaps a bit too small for when the site is at capacity and yes, on a couple of occasions it did not look as clean perhaps as it should have been.

The shower block is OK, the problem is August when the site is at capacity and could probably do with being cleaned twice rather than once a day to ensure that its up to standard.

Apart from this however, we had a lovely time and for children this site is wonderful as its very safe with plenty to do.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zen533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte Nathalene
3.5 mi away
Hotel Albizia
Hotel Albizia
#15 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Le Renoir
Best Western Le Renoir
#16 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Le Mas De Castel
Le Mas De Castel
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
3.6 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
3.1 mi away
Camping Huttopia Sarlat
Camping Huttopia Sarlat
#13 of 44 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Domaine des Mathevies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Domaine des Mathevies

Property: Camping Domaine des Mathevies
Address: Lieu Dit les Mathevies, 24200 Sainte Nathalene, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda > Sainte Nathalene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Sainte Nathalene
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small is Beautiful. A relaxed alternative to the commercial camping scene Located 6km from the medieval town of Sarlat. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing