We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Richmond - the Stylish Convention Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Nonthaburi
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Since Thailand known as country of smile, this is my very 1st time in Nonthaburi, Bangkok. The hotel is super stylish from the outside, the receptionist can't understand english, they didn't take any deposit, the room card was suppose to be insert slant rather than usual straight slot (i call room service for that to help!). Breakfast was simple, i can't eat much even the chef help me out cause of their non halal kitchen, so the chef personally cook the egg and some fish for me. The lift! small and yet so many floor!! have 3 of the lift, i have to wait to let one tour group to go up and my turn. Its near to some small shopping centre. Amazingly, this hotel don't have 13 floor, or all Thailand hotel is like that? Hmmm.... hehehe

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asyidah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 31 of 76 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

I have visited this Hotel 4 times over the Last 5 years, Once a year Basically and this have progresively got worse, Last year I noticed the place and rooms were looking a bit shabby, This year it is worse again, I booked a deluxe and the room has torn wall paper all over the place and the sheets have marks on and a small tear, it cost 2500BHT a night so not really cheap and no free wifi which is a complete joke.

The service is still good but the room service is awful avoid the food if you can, I wont be coming back until they have had a refurbishment as I cant see them improving the place at all.

Room Tip: The Higher the floor the let the noise from the very and always busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matthew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The sheets and towels were often stained. Internet is expensive and the connection is inconsistent, and network log-ins expire after 24 hours. The hotel restaurant is slow and the food is hit-or-miss.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Erick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed in the Richmond for 3 nights in a Deluxe room, I dont know the cost my company paid for it I think 1800 Baht a night, The room was reasonably clean for Thai Standards and the bathroom was good, Aircon was good to. The Location is good if you are travelling, I ate room service twice and it was good although expensive.

Breakfast was ok although the choice is mainly Thai and then Toast and Egg or Pastries with super strong coffee.

The Staff were all good and no problems, I would stay again.

Room Tip: Get a Room High up the Views of Nonthaburi are good be it day or Night and it is a busy area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

It's a nice enough hotel but it does NOT cater for anybody except Thai nationals coming or training seminars.The rooms are nice enough but there are NO English TV channels, not even BBC or CNN, save for one English movie channel. The rest are Thai free to air with poor quality pictures or eg National Geographic overdubbed with Thai, and ditto Discovery and Animal Planet.

My room was a suite, really nice but would rather have a smaller room in a better hotel

Really slow check in on a Sat night, only 2 people on the reception trying to deal with crowds of people arriving on buses. Seemed really disorganized.

Plus RIP OFF internet - c'mon even the tiny 40/night hotels have free wii but the Richmond's price is 300/3hours (about $10) or 600/24 hours ($20) - c'mon that is ONE BIG RIP OFF and hence I have given only 1 star.

I think they rely on the fact that this hotel is Nonthaburi, outside of Bangkok and hence they feel no compeetition from eg Dusit Thani or Dusit Princes or Pathumwan Princess which all leave this hotel in the dust

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DRMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We have stayed here a couple of times, mainly because it is where we wanted to be. But last time we forgot one thing; it is, as it says, a convention hotel - and it was full due to.... a covention. They sent use to the Legacy not far away, perhaps the worst hotel within a 100km. Richmond is good for the money, it has everything you want. Having said that the staff are friendly but not well-trained. But no matter it does what it should; give you a reasonable room for a reasonable price. It's not a holiday hotel as the name suggests, but for a couple of nights or a business trip to Bangkok it's fine. Remember to book or you might end up sleeping some place with the flyover traffic running next to the bed like we did.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1000000Rosscoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

I put my family in this hotel last year when they were visiting me. Initially I chose this hotel for it's convenient location between my own home and the city's major attractions.
And it turned out even better than expected. Very friendly staff. Upon check in, the reserved room type was not yet cleaned, so they didn't hesitate at all to upgrade for free. The rooms are very clean and modern as well as bathrooms.
Breakfast is very comprehensive, both Western and Thai food available. Service and presentation at the restaurant were of highest standard and can easily compete with those of the large international hotels downtown.
Of course attractions are less abundant than if you would be at Sukhumvit or Silom, downtown Bangkok. However, many nice local restaurants, as well as Central Rattanatibet shopping Mall within walking distance of the hotel. Also nice to visit 'Bangkok on the water' from here. Much cheaper and much nicer canals than the ones they bring you too from the tourist piers downtown. No bars and disco's around here, but that can actually be an advantage for some travelers.
One small remark would maybe be that this hotel is a major convention hotel for local Thai companies and government offices. So during weekdays it can get quite busy at the lobby and parking area. But then again, in the tourist hotels, it is also busy with tourists. At least here you are among Thais and you get more the feeling of being in Thailand.
Price-wise it is very acceptable. Even booking direct with them is still quite cheap (2000THB for a deluxe room with BF and internet), especially if you negotiate when booking more than 1 room.
The spa is very nice, however as in most hotels, much too expensive for what you get. Better to use a spa outside somewhere.
If you want to see a different area of Bangkok, but still easily connected to downtown, this is the right choice to make. (One remark though, if you are looking for the entertainment of downtown Bangkok, this hotel is not your right choice).

Room Tip: The deluxe would be the best option as it is more spacious and more nicely decorated. Well worth the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charelke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nonthaburi
2.0 mi away
Mida Hotel Ngamwongwan
Mida Hotel Ngamwongwan
#2 of 20 in Nonthaburi
30 reviews
3.7 mi away
Maleewana Hotel & Resort
Maleewana Hotel & Resort
#3 of 20 in Nonthaburi
11 reviews
4.3 mi away
Buddy Oriental Riverside Pakkred
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Nonthaburi Palace Hotel
Nonthaburi Palace Hotel
#9 of 20 in Nonthaburi
16 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Wanda Grand Hotel
5.0 mi away
Novotel Bangkok IMPACT
Novotel Bangkok IMPACT
#1 of 10 in Pak Kret
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond - the Stylish Convention Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond - the Stylish Convention Hotel

Address: 69/783-787 Rattanathibeth Rd, Nonthaburi 11000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Nonthaburi Province > Nonthaburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Nonthaburi
Price Range: $57 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Richmond - the Stylish Convention Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 455
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Richmond - the Stylish Convention Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing