We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chez Ming Gite

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Catus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chez Ming Gite
Ranked #2 of 2 Catus B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We have just returned from a week staying at Chez Ming in early November 2011.
The Gite is very well equipped and the hosts very welcoming and obliging. There were 4 in our party (2 friends and one couple) and the gite was large enough for 4 adults even at this time of year when we could not make use of the garden which is beautiful. The gite is a very short walk to the local boulangerie and small but adequate supermarket. The L'Auberge in the village is also recommended. Catus is a perfect spot to explore the local area we visited the vineyards of the Lot Valley, sites such as St Cirque Lapopie and Rocamodour and also travelled north into the Dordogne for Sarlat and Lascaux II. We will definitely return hopefully next year.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mollie006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Placerville, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed in Catus for 5 weeks and found it to be our home away from home. We are a family of 4, 2 adults, and 2 children (10 and 7). Having the cozy insides with the wonderful garden made this a great place. We walked the area, discovering wonderful stone walls and horse stables, finally ending up at the Green Lake. The girls really enjoyed the activities of the Green Lake including skipping rocks, playing soccer, and exploring. There is a pizza place across the street and the boulangerie in town is the best! And in addition to all this, the owners, Eddie and MIchele Ming are just wonderful really making our trip wonderful. We hope to return sometime soon!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maggie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2009

A lovely gite with incredibly good hosts situated in a very interesting part of France.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2009

Chez Ming is an ideal home base for touring the LOT. We spent 3 weeks in the comfortable and well equipped apartment. However, what made our stay most memorable was the warmth and helpfulness of the Ming's. Not only did they provide suggestions for outings and meals, but introduced us to wonderful wines and cheeses.

You could not fine finer hosts.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank illini572016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2008

Chez Ming is a wonderful little gite with charm abounding. It is a two bedroom accomodation that sleeps four with a fully equipped kitchen. There is a lovely comfortable indoor sitting area but even better, an outside private dining area with lovely views of the Vert river and the owners tranquil garden.
The hosts, Eddie and Michele are probably the nicest people you could ever hope for. They are both friendly and accomodating and the best guides for the area.
The Gite itself is located in the picture perfect market town of Catus, so you are assured of fresh croissants of a morning with your coffee. It also has a central location to all the beautiful sights available in the Lot Valley.
Whatever you reason for going to this fabulous area, if you are looking for a simple, clean and relaxing place to stay....Chez Ming is the place for you.

  • Liked — The location and the hosts
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank fificello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chez Ming Gite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Ming Gite

Property: Chez Ming Gite
Address: quai du Vert, 46150 Catus, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Lot > Catus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Catus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2-bedroomed gite - self catering holiday home - for 4 in the lovely countryside of the Lot département of South West France. The gite is only 15 kms from Cahors and less than 1 hour's drive to popular tourist sites such as Sarlat, Rocamadour, St Cirq Lapopie. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chez Ming Gite France/Catus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing