We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay if visiting Thrissur..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Pooram International
Ranked #4 of 53 Thrissur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2013

A comfortable modern hotel that is centrally located and very convenient to explore the town on foot. It's just on the Thrissur round...the heart of the town and just a short walk to the temples and sights! They also organise a tour of the off-beat sights in the area...like visit a local unit that makes the ornaments for the famous Thrissur Pooram, visit the vedic school etc. Contact Bipin at the hotel who would be only happy to help! They have buffets for lunch and dinner but the food is great! Currently no pool and is not licensed.

Room Tip: The second category rooms are better than the base category as it has more space! If you are visitin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AadiKerala-Cochin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 186 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

After finding the hotel of our choice full, we were directed to the Pooram. It's a pretty good hotel by Indian standards. Situated just 100 metres away from the Vadakkumnathan Temple in the centre of Trissur, means that it is the hotel of choice for Indians making pilgrimage to the area. Consequently at festival time it must be packed. But when we were there it felt almost empty. Our first room had a bad case of ants (even 4 floors up) and we changed rooms with no problems at all. The new room was comfortable and clean and the hot water in the shower was immediate and instantaneous (but remember the hotel was almost empty).
Our room was at the front of the hotel which meant that late night celebrations and early morning pujas at the large temple across the way was clearly audible. I enjoyed hearing the early morning ragas played at sunrise, but it depends on your tolerance for this sort of thing.
Air-con was a bit too good as it blew directly onto the bed. We made do with the fan.
The restaurant was pretty good, although the menu is only indicative of what may be available from the kitchen. There was the customary buffet lunch which is normally good value in hotels like these.
The front desk were excellent, spoke excellent English and went out of their way to arrange transport for us. The marketing manager personally took us for a visit to a school for Brahmin children in training to be priests; now that's customer service.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the from the temple are probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank eyelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I spent an overnight on my way to Cochin. Rooms are so clean, have its own ambience, staff are so courteous, delicious food. One will not feel away from home. Overall excellent and worth without a second thought. Suresh Menon, UAE.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SureshUAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I spent one day in Thrissur during my vacation in India and stayed in Poor am International. The service is impeccable. The front desk staffs are very friendly and always there for any question and help needed. The location of the hotel can't be better. It's right in the center of the city and the hotel room overviews the Big Temple. If you come here for the Pooram festival, you will have the best view to see it from high up. Also, the restaurant inside the hotel serves very good south India food. One thing I really miss is the Coconut Souffle, which is so delicious. The hotel manager, Bipin, is very knowledgeable on local events and culture. He recommended us for the historical Hindu priest school, which is off the usual tourist traps. We had one of the best experience by watching the young Hindu priest trainees practice their lessons. I'll strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the temple
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Junxuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I spent overnight at this hotel during my one week trip in Kerala. This hotel is right in the center of town, very convinient location. It is right across the Vadakkunnathan Temple. So if you visit during the Pooram festival in April/May, can see the ceremony right from your hotel window. My room was clean and spacious. One of the best accommodations I have stayed during my one month trip in south India. The staff at the hotel were very helpful, I tried the famous Kerala fish dish wrapped in the banana leave at the hotel restaurant, it was delicious. I also visited the Kerala Kalamandalam dance school, which is half an hour drive or so from Thrissur, the hotel give advice on how to get there etc. Definetly will stay here again if I get to see the Pooram festival next time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LM518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I am a frequent visitor to Thrissur and stayed many times in this Hotel. It is located in the heart of city, but inside hotel you dont feel that you are in the center of city, its calm and quite place and amost all the city attractions are in the vicinity.

You get traditional Kerala breakfast on top of continental and service of staff is quite outstanding, there is always a personal touch in their service. Rooms are very clean and reasonably spacious with multi-channel TV & complimentry WiFi

There is no Swimming pool, Gym/Spa and Bar available in the hotel

Overall it is one of the best place in town and value for money!

Room Tip: Select room facing the temple side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RanjithPadinjakkara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A very good hotel at a affordable cost. Complimentary Breakfast, Complimentary WiFi. The rooms were so neat and clean. Its almost in the center of the town.Close to all important business places & banks. Services were too good. Trust me, you can have a pleasant & comfortable stay over here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lenact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thrissur hotels
0.5 mi away
Joys Palace
Joys Palace
#2 of 28 in Thrissur
341 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Merlin International
Hotel Merlin International
#9 of 28 in Thrissur
48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Luciya Palace
Hotel Luciya Palace
#16 of 28 in Thrissur
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Garuda Hotel
The Garuda Hotel
#4 of 28 in Thrissur
51 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lulu International Convention Centre & Garden Hotels
2.6 mi away
Niya Regency
Niya Regency
#7 of 28 in Thrissur
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pooram International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pooram International

Address: Kuruppam Road, Thrissur 680001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thrissur District > Thrissur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Thrissur
Price Range: $37 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pooram International 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable Luxury ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Pooram International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pooram International Kerala/Thrissur, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing